Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 610

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

Since the introduction of CASA my ping in online games went from high to very high, no packet loss thought.

but everyone I know as soon as they jumped on CASA network their latency is out of control.. you check the firmware thread, @RogersDave confirmed they are working a on fix for the high ping in online games.

I'm a Regular
Posts: 859

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

Is there a fix yet @RogersDave ?
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 13

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

I've been dealing with something similar for the past 2-3 weeks as well.

 

M3L area in Toronto.

 

Twitch streaming is unreliable and consistently disconnects 1-2 times per 10 minute interval.

 

Playing the Division on PC = frequent lag spikes, occasionally booted from the server entirely.

 

Phone support did a quick test, my modem/line seems fine, neighbours seem fine.  Of course a quick test isn't an accurate way to test quality of service that is topsy turvy over timed intervals.  CSR goes on to say well as long as you can surf the internet, we're not guaranteeing anything for Twitch (which is just uploading by the way) or online gaming.

 

I've duplicated this issue with the CGN3 in bridged mode to a Linksys WRT1900AC, then tried my back up Asus AC66U.  And finally with the CGN3 directly connected to my gaming PC in bridged mode, as well as after when resetting it back to default gateway mode.  

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,139

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

@scratchieepants, can you:

 

1.  Log into your modem, navigate to the STATUS....DOCSIS WAN page, copy the downstream and upstream tables and paste them into a following post.  The copy and paste process will paste in the text contents of the tables.

 

2.  Load pingplotter from www.pingplotter pro.  That will enable you to run a trace to a selected server and see what is happening along the way.  With the application running, right click on the column title bar to bring up the menu, also select the MAX and JTR fields for display, then drag those fields to the right to sit alongside the MIN field.  Also select the Focus drop down menu at the top and select all.  Let that run to a selected server for about two to three minutes, then select Edit.... Copy as Image to grab the application image, dump it into something like Microsoft paint and save it.  If you happen to be running IPV6 and therefore have an IPV6 address on the first line, wipe it out, save the image again and then post it into this thread.  That along with the signal levels should tell us something about your current situation.   Pingplotter Pro will run in Pro mode for 14 days and then switch to freebie version mode if you don't buy the intermediate or advanced licence.

 

3.  Have a look at the STATUS .... DOCSIS Events page.  Look for the following sequence in the logs:  CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:xx:xx:xx   Only the first three fields have any relevance here.  If you have that sequence, it indicates that your modem is connected to a Casa Systems CMTS, which is a recent change from the previous Cisco CMTS equipment.  This changeover has resulted in high ping times to the CMTS and beyond.  Rogers and Casa are working on this but I haven't seen anything recently regarding any changes to equipment settings or a date by which this might be resolved.  Please let us know if you happen to show that sequence in your Docsis Events log.  Here's just one pingplotter image that illustrates the issue:

 

http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/media/gallerypage/user-id/829158/image-id/3712iA4BE7806BFF77A94

 

If you click on my name and then navigate to my profile and scroll thru the images you will see more images that illustrate the issue. 



I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

Hey there.  I seem to be having the same problem as the other people here.

 

Im on the rogers ignite 250 plan.

And recently Ive been getting some really awful speeds.  The upload speed is ALWAYS spot on.  

Im getting roughly 10MB down 20+MB up.

 

One thing i noticed, When i restart my modem, or do a factory reset, everything will be perfectly fine for some time, usually 1-2 hrs.  But then it will degrade within that time.   another thing to mention, the speed seems fine late at night.

 

I dont understand The signal levels on my modem, But they seem to be completely different when things are bad, and when things are good.

 

Here are the readings when everything is running poorly.

 

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 591000000 256QAM 7.000 31 40.946
3 369000000 256QAM 5.300 11 40.366
4 375000000 256QAM 5.600 12 40.366
5 381000000 256QAM 5.700 13 40.366
6 387000000 256QAM 5.800 14 40.366
7 393000000 256QAM 6.200 15 40.366
8 399000000 256QAM 6.300 16 40.366
9 405000000 256QAM 6.500 17 40.366
10 411000000 256QAM 6.700 18 40.366
11 417000000 256QAM 6.600 19 40.366
12 423000000 256QAM 7.100 20 40.366
13 429000000 256QAM 7.100 21 40.366
14 435000000 256QAM 7.200 22 40.366
15 441000000 256QAM 7.100 23 40.366
16 447000000 256QAM 7.400 24 40.366
17 555000000 256QAM 6.900 25 38.983
18 561000000 256QAM 6.900 26 38.983
19 567000000 256QAM 6.700 27 40.366
20 573000000 256QAM 6.900 28 38.983
21 579000000 256QAM 7.000 29 40.366
22 585000000 256QAM 7.200 30 40.946
23 357000000 256QAM 5.500 9 37.636
24 597000000 256QAM 7.000 32 40.366
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID BandWidth
1 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 37.250 2 6400000
2 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 37.750 3 3200000
3 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 37.250 1 6400000

 

And when things are fine.

 

Downstream Overview

Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 693000000 256QAM 6.900 47 37.636
2 609000000 256QAM 6.700 34 38.983
3 615000000 256QAM 7.300 35 38.983
4 621000000 256QAM 7.100 36 38.983
5 633000000 256QAM 7.200 37 40.366
6 639000000 256QAM 7.500 38 38.983
7 645000000 256QAM 7.200 39 38.983
8 651000000 256QAM 7.600 40 38.983
9 657000000 256QAM 7.200 41 38.983
10 663000000 256QAM 7.500 42 38.605
11 669000000 256QAM 7.100 43 38.983
12 675000000 256QAM 7.400 44 38.605
13 681000000 256QAM 6.800 45 38.605
14 687000000 256QAM 7.200 46 38.605
15 603000000 256QAM 6.800 33 38.983
16 699000000 256QAM 7.300 48 38.605
17 705000000 256QAM 7.200 49 37.636
18 711000000 256QAM 7.600 50 38.605
19 717000000 256QAM 7.500 51 38.605
20 723000000 256QAM 7.500 52 38.605
21 825000000 256QAM 8.400 53 37.636
22 831000000 256QAM 8.400 54 37.636
23 837000000 256QAM 8.200 55 37.636
24 843000000 256QAM 8.200 56 37.356
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID BandWidth
1 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 37.250 2 6400000
2 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 37.500 3 3200000
3 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 37.250 1 6400000

 

 

Here is some other information that may be relevant.

 

Hardware Version 1A
Software Version

4.5.8.21

 
  

 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 21

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

I have been having minor Internet issues (inconsistent speeds for short periods of time) for the last month or so and after reading this forms have been tracking my DOCSIS WAN results for the last week.. 

 

When my Internet is working great my results look like this

Modem DOCSIS WAN results 7/30/2016

http://i.imgur.com/wn6ZZ0V.jpg

 

When my Internet is being inconsistent my results look like this

Modem DOCSIS WAN results 8/4/2016

http://i.imgur.com/V4zKxr6.jpg

Modem DOCSIS WAN results 8/5/2016

http://i.imgur.com/o6MvsiB.jpg

 

Port ID 22, 23 and 24 seem to very so much whenever my Internet isn't 100% what would cause this? 

 

Also my DOSIS event log always shows errors whether my Internet is working 100% or being inconsistent my DOCSIS event log looks like this

 

http://i.imgur.com/5YDE8ti.jpg

 

Is it normal to always have errors in your DOCSIS event log? or should it just be empty if everything is working correctly.

 

Thanks for any advice/answers 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,139

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

@jsaraiva     Ok, there's something a little strange going on.  You're connected to a Casa Systems CMTS which by now means that you should be using a IPV6 address instead of IPV4.  Unless you're running a router, I would say that a factory reset is in order to get the modem running properly.  If you log into the modem and look at the IP Address in the upper right hand corner of the Status page that comes up when you log in, you should see two IP addresses, one IPV4, followed by an IPV6.  Assuming that you don't see that, you need to run a factory reset.  That should also resolve slow modem speed issues.  Unfortunately, it will also require you to reset the modem parameters.  After the reset, you should see both IPV4 and IPV6 addresses in that address field, and your connected devices will all be using IPV6 and IPV4 addresses (dual stack).  From what I've seen, without a full factory reset, a CGN3ACSMR can end up in a state where it has an IPV6 address, but IPV6 is not usable and the modem data rates are not consistent.  You can run a test for IPV6 by using http://ipv6-test.com/ to check for IPV6 and IPV4 connectivity.  You should end up with 19/20 as Rogers doesn't provide a reverse DNS address, and thats ok.  If you only have IPV4, with Windows 8 or lower, I think you will see 4/20.  With Windows 10 and running IPV4 only it will show 11/20 by using Teredo Tunneling.

 

You're downstream signal levels are a little higher than what I would like to see, but they are still in spec.  In theory that shouldn't cause any issues.  The signal to noise ratios are good and your upstream signal levels are good. 

 

Can you delete your Docsis log portion or delete the data field after "CM-MAC=", which is your modem MAC address.  That shouldn't be left out in the open. 

 

You're connected to a Casa Systems CMTS which is a recent development.  These have replaced the previous Cisco CMTS equipment and it appears that an unintended consequence is a random high ping to the next network stop beyond the modem.  That is the CMTS.  If you look at the following images, that is what the ping situation looks like in my neighborhood.  That is just to the CMTS, which is what the modem connects to, and thats before going anywhere.

 

http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/media/gallerypage/user-id/829158

 

This is the first image of that series:

 

http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/media/gallerypage/user-id/829158/image-id/3712iA4BE7806BFF77A94

 

Roges and Casa are working on this but I haven't heard anything recently regarding the issue.

 

Can you run a speedtest using the www.speedtest.net Toronto Telus server and let me know what the results are, for both good and bad times.

 

Can you also load pingplotterpro from www.pingplotter.com    That will enable you to run a trace to a selected server and see what is happening along the way, www.google.ca for example.  With the application running, right click on the column title bar to bring up the menu, also select the MAX and JTR fields for display, then drag those fields to the right to sit alongside the MIN field.  Also select the Focus drop down menu at the top and select all.  Let that run to a selected server for about two to three minutes, then select Edit.... Copy as Image to grab the application image, dump it into something like Microsoft paint and save it.  If you happen to be running IPV6 and therefore have an IPV6 address on the first line, wipe it out, save the image again and then post it into this thread.  That along with the signal levels should tell us something about your current situation.   Pingplotter Pro will run in Pro mode for 14 days and then switch to freebie version mode if you don't buy the intermediate or advanced licence.

 

That  plot will tell you and I if you have issues getting to the CMTS and anywhere beyond. 

 

 

Ok, so try that:

 

1.  Modem factory reset

2.  IPV6 test at http://ipv6-test.com/

3.  Speedtest at www.speedtest.net Toronto Telus server

4.  Pingplot from pingplotterpro. 

 



I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 610

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

I am on 250 with a new ACMR modem, on .22 firmware

 

Since the introduction of casa networks, I get disconnected daily and I have the exact same error as you.

I am pretty sure it's linked to the CASA network, it's pretty unstable disconnects, and high jitter and latency until they figure it out. I don't believe the issue is isolated to you.

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

Definitely same issue here. I posted earlier in this thread with my info documenting the same issue of awful download speed and full upload speed, poor streaming and high ping. See my earlier post if you need more info.

I'm connected to a Casa CMTS, have IPv6 working and am on .22 firmware. After nearly 2 months of this issue I'm throwing in the towel. Tired of 5mbps on a 250 plan. Just canceled my service and ordered Bell's FTTH.
I'm a Regular
Posts: 859

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

Yea I'm just waiting for Bell to be avail in my area and I'm leaving Rogers been with them over 10 years had enough of them.