SMTP Authentication

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
karl_kennedy
I Plan to Stick Around

SMTP Authentication

Hello everyone,

I have a unique situation here. I have a Rogers account with a personal Rogers email. I also have two other, 3rd party emails that I use for business. I use Outlook for Mac 2011 for my Rogers email and I use MAcMAil for the two others.

I've been using these emails with no issues for about 2 years. I recently switch web hosts with one email. Set up was easy and I have been using it for about 2 months now with no problems.

Suddenly, out of no where, my email for that account will not send. I got an error stating that the Rogers SMTP needed authentication. I could screen capture the exact wording but it definitely was telling me ROgers didn't like this and wanted SMTP Authentication. So, as I entered my password. Nothing. Keeps telling me it needs for me to check my settings. So, I contact my web host and they tell me it's fine. To call my ISP.

So I went online and started a Tech Chat with Rogers. As I was doing so, I signed in to my email and suddenly...it is now working BUT my other email address is now having the same issue.

For whatever reason, Rogers is blocking my ports or something along those lines. Calling them on the phone now, I was led through steps to have these addreses verified via Yahoo webmail. I did this and it still didn't work. I tried doing a TechVpert session which frustrated me to no end because they have NO idea how to navigate a MAc system. I ended up doing most of it for them and their only answer was for me to have these "put on Rogers Servers"?? First, that sound so wrong and secind I can't do that as it's my business emails through other providers.