Rogers Online Gaming Thread

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
I've Been Here Awhile

Re: Rogers Online Gaming Thread

Good Folks, I'm an absolute networking noob and was hoping to find some help here. Ive been having a lot of connectivity issues on my PS4 - Connection Lost - I have an upload speed of 2 - 4 mb on a wired connection on the ps4. I tried to do a ping and i got 100% packet loss. Also im not sure how to do the trace test that was mentioned here.

I'm Here A Lot

hmm, the high times on hop #1 is only when my modem is in bridging mode. even if i only have 1 PC connected to it with no activity present aside from the tracert.

factory resetting it to gateway mode, the tracert shows hop #1 to be 1ms 1ms 1ms.
this is weird? bridging mode normally should not cause the first hop to be so high?

tracert nb.pngtracert nb.png

Resident Expert
Resident Expert

@expodonent were those original traces done with the pc connected directly to the modem with the modem in Bridge mode?  If so then they do make sense as the modem would not be seen in the trace.  What you would see is the CMTS as IP address #1, followed by the rest of the trace.  The response time from the CMTS is typically around 8 to 13 ms, although, in high load time it would be possible to see higher response times.  If you ran Pingplotter at 1 second ping intervals over a 24 hour period you would see the lowest response times very early in the morning, around 2 to 6 am, and the highest times around 3 to 4 pm when kids return home from school, and then later in the evening, around 7 to 11 or 12 pm when families are home, gaming, streaming, etc, etc.  

So, its not a matter of the Bridge mode times being so high, it more a matter that your looking at a different response point in Hop #1.