Rogers Online Gaming Thread

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,202

Re: Rogers Online Gaming Thread

@lethalsniper it looks like the release notes have not been posted for 33T03, so, unfortunately we're in the dark as to its contents. 



I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Rogers Online Gaming Thread

Hi again,

I contacted rogers about the issue and asked if I could swap modem from the old CGN3 to the more recent CODA-4582. The representative said they would first need investigate on their side. I got an email this morning that the case was closed as "We’re unable to identify an issue at this time".

However, the issue is very much still present on my end.

Would any issue with the modem itself even be detectable by Rogers Support?

Here's both a 5 and separate 10 minutes  plot using PingPlotter with google.com as a target. There seems to be few spikes here and there, the ping to my own router also seems unusually high.

The 10 min one actually has some weird values, there shouldn't be any packet lost from my PC to my modem.

PingPlotter_5min
PingPlotter_10Min

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,202

Re: Rogers Online Gaming Thread

The images aren't visible yet as a moderator has to approve them for public access.

 

If you have any form of unlimited plan, that is with the current plans, then you should be able to walk into a Rogers store and swap the modem without any problems. 

 

The Hitron modems and Pingplotter don't play well together.  Its very common to see packet loss to the first hop beyond the modem, which is the Cable Modem Termination System (CMTS).  Thats a false indication.  You shouldn't have any packet loss to the modem itself, unless of course you have an internal network problem of some type.  

 

To confirm that, you can run Hrping, or fping to run a high speed ping to any target, that is to say, with ping intervals below 1 second:

 

https://www.cfos.de/en/ping/ping.htm

 

http://www.softpedia.com/get/Network-Tools/IP-Tools/Fping.shtml

 

The softpedia site has fping v3.  V4 is out but I can't seem to find a windows version of it at the moment.  Here's the github page:

 

https://github.com/schweikert/fping/releases/tag/v4.0

 

I'm not sure if fping 4 will run on windows.  

 

In any event, you can use the command line ping applications to confirm is there is any packet loss to the modem, CMTS or other target.  Personal opinion I trust the command line applications more than I trust pingplotter. 



Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Rogers Online Gaming Thread

Hi Datalink,

I got HrPing and ran it for 15min on www.google.com

Here are the results:
Packets: sent=2021, rcvd=2021, error=0, lost=0 (0.0% loss) in 1010.047487 sec
RTTs in ms: min/avg/max/dev: 35.590 / 57.959 / 323.696 / 34.546
Bandwidth in kbytes/sec: sent=0.120, rcvd=0.120

Here's the GUI result:
https://imgur.com/s6rBnkG

Seems to me there's quite a few spikes that shouldn't be there, but from your experience, do you think there's anything wrong?

Edit: I managed to get my hands on another machine with a different ISP in the area. I can now appreciate how terrible my home connection is:


Packets: sent=2012, rcvd=2011, error=0, lost=1 (0.0% loss) in 1005.529894 sec
RTTs in ms: min/avg/max/dev: 29.453 / 29.705 / 33.949 / 0.175
Bandwidth in kbytes/sec: sent=0.120, rcvd=0.119

GUI:
https://imgur.com/uCrIlDi

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Rogers Online Gaming Thread

Hi, I switched over to Rogers in November and got the gigabit deal that was offered at the time. Everything has been great except my gaming experience. I would get a consistent 25-30 ping with Bell while gaming but since switching to Rogers it is always around 50 with occasional spikes to 70-100. Using a VPN has helped bring it down to the 30s but that still results in packet loss at random times and I don't want to rely on it. I've had 2 techs come in to check out my line after I was told the signal levels were not within specifications, but even after getting that fixed, my ping remains higher than usual. I am using coda-4582 and as of two days ago I updated to software 2.0.10.33T3.  The ping issues have been occurring since november though. Am I just in a bad neighbourhood and is this the best I can get? Any help would be appreciated

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,083

Re: Rogers Online Gaming Thread


@jsbrm wrote:

Hi, I switched over to Rogers in November and got the gigabit deal that was offered at the time. Everything has been great except my gaming experience. I would get a consistent 25-30 ping with Bell while gaming but since switching to Rogers it is always around 50 with occasional spikes to 70-100. Using a VPN has helped bring it down to the 30s but that still results in packet loss at random times and I don't want to rely on it. I've had 2 techs come in to check out my line after I was told the signal levels were not within specifications, but even after getting that fixed, my ping remains higher than usual. I am using coda-4582 and as of two days ago I updated to software 2.0.10.33T3.  The ping issues have been occurring since november though. Am I just in a bad neighbourhood and is this the best I can get? Any help would be appreciated


@jsbrm

Can you log into the modem and goto the DOCSIS WAN page, then post the signal levels please. 

 

If the signal looks good then most likely you live in a high congestion area and will have to wait until Rogers does upgrades in your area. 



I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Rogers Online Gaming Thread

@gp-se yeah sure

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1603000000256QAM4.500938.983
2849000000256QAM3.200236.387
3855000000256QAM2.300336.387
4861000000256QAM0.500436.387
5579000000256QAM3.000538.605
6585000000256QAM1.600638.605
7591000000256QAM3.300738.605
8597000000256QAM5.100838.983
9303000000256QAM7.500138.983
10609000000256QAM4.2001038.983
11615000000256QAM5.8001138.983
12621000000256QAM6.1001238.983
13633000000256QAM4.8001338.983
14639000000256QAM5.9001438.983
15645000000256QAM4.9001538.605
16651000000256QAM3.1001638.605
17657000000256QAM3.1001738.605
18663000000256QAM3.7001838.983
19669000000256QAM4.0001938.605
20675000000256QAM4.5002038.605
21681000000256QAM4.9002138.605
22687000000256QAM5.8002238.605
23693000000256QAM6.7002338.983
24699000000256QAM6.6002438.983
25705000000256QAM6.2002538.605
26711000000256QAM6.6002638.605
27717000000256QAM6.3002738.605
28723000000256QAM4.2002838.605
29825000000256QAM2.7002936.610
30831000000256QAM4.6003037.636
31837000000256QAM4.3003137.356
32843000000256QAM2.7003236.387
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES6.099998
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
130596000ATDMA - 64QAM34.50016400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM38.50033200000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM34.50026400000
 
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,083

Re: Rogers Online Gaming Thread

@jsbrm

the signal levels look fine, I suspect the issue is congestion on your Node



I'm a Regular
Posts: 866

Re: Rogers Online Gaming Thread

we have been noticing when playing nhl 18 on the xbox one when playing on 6v6 eashl game feels slow and sluggish so I did a outrace provided by ea.com and another thing would a 3rd party router be better when it comes to multiple consoles in 1 home playing the same together online I find the coda modem cant handle it and when I message EA sports they keep on saying its rogers fault for poor online gaming

 

Host Name IP Address Hop Ping Time Ping Avg % Loss Pkts r/s    Ping      best/worst
                                hitronhub.home 192.168.0.1 1 0ms 0ms 0% 115 / 115 0ms / 1ms
                           * Unknown Host * 173.xx.xxxx 2 11ms 12ms 0% 115 / 115 7ms / 82ms
   8078-dgw01.ym.rmgt.net.rogers.com66.185.89.33 3 7ms 8ms 0% 115 / 115 6ms / 22ms
                                         * Unknown Host * 209.148.233.205 4 9ms 100% 0 / 115
                                            * Unknown Host * 209.148.235.22 5 9ms 100% 0 / 115
           ix-ae-13-0.tcore1.TNK-Toronto.as664.86.33.5 6 31ms 31ms 0% 115 / 115 28ms / 51ms
                                     * Unknown Host * 64.86.33.74 7 66ms 31ms 0% 114 / 114 26ms / 66ms
                                    * Unknown Host * 4.69.203.105 8 37ms 35ms 0% 114 / 114 34ms / 43ms
* Unknown Host * 0.0.0.0 9 0ms
* Unknown Host * 0.0.0.0 10 0ms
* Unknown Host * 0.0.0.0 11 0ms
* Unknown Host * 0.0.0.0 12 0ms
                                         * Unknown Host * 159.153.92.98 13 36ms 30ms 0% 113 / 114 25ms / 46ms
                                                       * Unknown Host * 159.153.93.6 14 30ms 100% 0 / 114
                               * Unknown Host * 159.153.225.67 15 42ms 29ms 0% 114 / 114 24ms / 47ms
                                   meav5-pub.pt.iad.ea.com 159.153.226.105 16 31ms 100% 0 / 114

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,202

Re: Rogers Online Gaming Thread

@lethalsniper, for multiple consoles you should consider running a router that will handle that type of configuration.  Note that Xbox included a secondary port selection in their November update to enable users to run at least two consoles.  Don't know how many port selections there are and how many consoles that might allow a modem to run.