Rogers Modem NAT problems / gaming ?

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Modem NAT problems / gaming ?

Hello I recently changed my Moderate NAT to open by putting my Modem into bridge mode. This may help you also but you cannot use any WiFi and to put it back to normal you must factory reset it.

 

Here is the link on how to do it.

 

http://www.rogers.com/web/support/internet/home-networking/246?setLanguage=en

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,140

Re: Rogers Modem NAT problems / gaming ?

If you are connecting two devices to the modem where the modem is running in Bridge mode you will probably run into problems at some point.   Prior to the day where IPV6 was enabled, you could run two devices off of a modem as the modem can support two IPV4 addresses.  Now, with IPV6 enabled, you will only see one address properly supplied.  At some point, there may be confusion at the Rogers server as to which device is which.  So, if you do intend to run the modem in Bridge mode and connect an Xbox to it, then the XBox should be the only device attached. 

 

Now with IPV6 enabled, the XBox has a choice or paths to take for matchmaking and gaming.  Those are IPV6, IPV4 and Teredo.  The XBox will select which ever path presents the best connection possibility and reliability.  I don't believe there is a way for the end user to know which is in use.  That means that you could be showing a restricted NAT, which is IPV4 and the XBox won't care as there may be a better IPV6 or Teredo path to use.  A Restricted NAT in that case would be meaningless.  You should be able to run the XBox thru the modem, with a restricted NAT and have no issues if the XBox is using IPV6 or Teredo. 

 

One thing to note, the XBox game system will not crossover from IPV6 to IPV4 and vice versa. So, wherever you start, is will you will continue to play for that session.

 

One other item to note, if you connect a pc to the modem, where the modem is running in Bridge mode, the modem offers no firewall protection for the pc.  You will have to rely on the pc's firewall capabilities to protect it. 



I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Rogers Modem NAT problems / gaming ?

I am in the exact same boat and my problem is with 2 Xbox ones, I can only get online gaming with one system(1 nat is moderate and the other is strick) when my boys try to join each other it tells them the session is expired or the lobby is full("lobby is full" they are playing 2 feet from each other with no one else in their game)rogers solution to this is to always reset the modem and hope that helps or to go to any electronics store and buy a gaming modem(the tech support guys told me this) $100 doller a month internet and these guys want me to supply my own equipment?what a joke, time to switch to bell
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 41

Re: Rogers Modem NAT problems / gaming ?

You won't have any luck with Bell either. It's how multiple XBOX's work (or don't work) on one network. Some home consumer routers will allow to configre NAT open on the WAN port. Some of the Netgear routers do that. Not sure about others.  UPNP alone won't work, as both XBOX's are looking to open the same ports, and that's where the problem starts.. Check to see if the Hitron has an option on the WAN config to set NAT to OPEN. If it does, try that. Or, you can try a combination of  UPNP and ports forwarding to one XBOX. 

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Rogers Modem NAT problems / gaming ?

My buddy is with bell, and him and his brother have Xbox ones that they play together and they both get a moderate nat type, he's says they rarely get a strict nat, but the do say they wish bell had the same speeds as rogers but what's the use having the same speed if you can't get to play half the time together
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 21

Re: Rogers Modem NAT problems / gaming ?

HOLY MOLY

ok I have been with rogers for a long time ,2 years ago I got feed up with 4th world modems and service I bought  ASUS RT-N66U combo router , I moved  a bit then in this new house I had the rogers tech pull a new wire from the box to pole then to my house wire it up hooked up my network ,and it was great for like 5 months, about a week ago my internet has gone from 250mbps down 25 mbps up  and 20ms lats  to 6.98mbps down 5.24mbps up and 94 ms lats.after 3 days calling back n forth not been able to live stream and missing going on 4th day now 3 mondem swaps them telling me my modem is garbage (the asau rt-n66u) witch its not i tested it at my friends place on bell an dit work perfectly ,rogers tells me to bad i have to wait till monday for a tech to come check....customer support is as bout as good as talking to a wall,most of the techs i talked to were horrible csr ,so im loosing 4 to 5 days of pay cause they cant fix there internet ....ive tryed using all the tips to get a open nat on my xbox one to atleast be online and have a friend broadcast from his palce but i cant join party chat cant stay in a game for more than like 5 min with out me get kicked offline ...AND NO its not my xbox or my pc or that its been check ..HELP

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,077

Re: Rogers Modem NAT problems / gaming ?

Login to the Modem and goto the DOCSIS WAN page, then post the signal levels from that page please.

 



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 21

Re: Rogers Modem NAT problems / gaming ?

@gp-se

DOCSIS WAN

This menu displays both upstream and downstream signal parameters

DOCSIS Overview
Network AccessPermitted
IP Address 
Subnet Mask 
Gateway IP Address 
DHCP Lease Time😧 07 H: 00 M: 00 S: 00
Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM2.5003136.387
2363000000256QAM2.0001035.595
3369000000256QAM2.0001134.926
4375000000256QAM2.5001235.595
5381000000256QAM2.6001335.780
6387000000256QAM2.5001435.595
7393000000256QAM2.9001535.780
8399000000256QAM2.7001635.595
9405000000256QAM2.8001735.780
10411000000256QAM2.9001835.595
11417000000256QAM3.1001936.387
12423000000256QAM3.3002035.780
13429000000256QAM2.9002136.610
14435000000256QAM3.0002236.387
15441000000256QAM3.0002336.387
16447000000256QAM2.8002435.780
17555000000256QAM2.5002536.610
18561000000256QAM2.3002635.780
19567000000256QAM2.3002735.780
20573000000256QAM2.2002835.595
21579000000256QAM2.5002935.780
22585000000256QAM2.5003036.387
23357000000256QAM1.900935.595
24597000000256QAM2.7003236.610
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
130596000ATDMA - 16QAM45.75016400000
238596000ATDMA - 16QAM45.75033200000
323700000ATDMA - 16QAM45.75026400000
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 21

Re: Rogers Modem NAT problems / gaming ?

my docsis events is full of warnings and critical ,errors est
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 21

Re: Rogers Modem NAT problems / gaming ?

my speeds are as follow according to Okla

 

                                                    down           up                 lat

 2/18/2017 8:17 AM GMT  46.87 Mb/s 15.13 Mb/s 23 ms Kanata, ON < 50 mi 
2/18/2017 8:08 AM GMT   48.12 Mb/s 15.05 Mb/s 25 ms Kanata, ON < 50 mi 
2/18/2017 7:29 AM GMT   51.80 Mb/s 16.94 Mb/s 21 ms Kanata, ON < 50 mi 
2/18/2017 6:44 AM GMT   51.20 Mb/s 15.88 Mb/s 26 ms Kanata, ON < 50 mi
2/18/2017 6:40 AM GMT   53.90 Mb/s 15.98 Mb/s 26 ms Kanata, ON < 50 mi 
2/18/2017 6:20 AM GMT   62.30 Mb/s 14.16 Mb/s 23 ms Kanata, ON < 50 mi