Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

I subscribeb last week for 1gb internet and so far the fastest I've seen is 320mb. My average is 80mb....need help to rectify this please. I connect directly to the modem and use Rogers speed test to get the numbers. I should only pay for 25% or less.

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,845

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

Hello, @M5driving.

 

Welcome to Rogers Community Forums!

 

Thank you for posting your concern in the Community. It's great that you are testing the speed on a wired connection. Before subscribing to 1 Gbps package, what package were you having? Can you provide a few details of your computer/laptop?

 

We can also look into analyzing the signal levels at the modem. Please log in to your modem, navigate to Status/DOCSIS WAN and post the Downstream, Upstream and OFDM sections.

 

We look forward to hearing from you. 

 

Cheers,
RogersMoin

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

Hi... I am also getting slow speeds, but better than some comments I've seen here.  I switched from Rogers Ignite 150 to ignite gigabit 2 days ago.  I've been getting wired connection speeds up to just less than 500Mbps, and wireless speeds of 450Mbps.  I will include a copy of my modem info, hopefully someone can help me out!  Thanks...

 

OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES-6.500000
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
113696000ATDMA - 64QAM31.25016400000
236996000ATDMA - 64QAM32.50046400000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM32.50036400000
423700000ATDMA - 64QAM31.25026400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,987

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

@mscottr can you post the upper signal section of that table.  That resides just under the Downstream Overview line and contains the data for the DOCSIS 3.0 channels (1 to 32).

 

What are you using for a test platform, a desktop or laptop?  Have you ever seen that desktop or laptop run over 900 Mb/s?  Typically you would see around 940/950 Mb/s on the downstream side, 32.8 / 32.9 Mb/s on the upstream side on a desktop or laptop that is capable of supporting those data rates. 



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

Morning;

 

     I am using a desktop PC;   and not sure how to ascertain it's capabilities as far as the data downstreaming speed.  Herer is a copy of the complete table.  I have tested the speeds through Ookala(both the Rogers version, and the Ookala website).  The test results came out the same.  The upload speed is in the 30 - 35Mbps range.  Thanks!

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1597000000256QAM-5.500838.605
2849000000256QAM-6.800237.356
3855000000256QAM-6.600337.636
4861000000256QAM-7.000437.356
5579000000256QAM-5.200538.605
6585000000256QAM-5.200638.605
7591000000256QAM-5.500738.605
8279000000256QAM-6.600138.983
9603000000256QAM-5.400938.605
10609000000256QAM-5.5001038.983
11615000000256QAM-5.4001138.605
12621000000256QAM-5.3001238.605
13633000000256QAM-5.3001338.983
14639000000256QAM-5.0001438.983
15645000000256QAM-5.0001538.983
16651000000256QAM-5.1001638.605
17657000000256QAM-5.2001738.605
18663000000256QAM-5.3001838.605
19669000000256QAM-5.3001938.983
20675000000256QAM-5.3002038.605
21681000000256QAM-5.8002137.636
22687000000256QAM-5.9002238.605
23693000000256QAM-5.7002338.605
24699000000256QAM-5.6002438.605
25705000000256QAM-5.7002538.605
26711000000256QAM-5.9002637.636
27717000000256QAM-5.5002738.605
28723000000256QAM-5.6002838.605
29825000000256QAM-5.9002938.605
30831000000256QAM-5.9003038.605
31837000000256QAM-6.2003137.636
32843000000256QAM-6.7003237.356
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES-6.500000
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
113696000ATDMA - 64QAM31.25016400000
236996000ATDMA - 64QAM32.50046400000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM32.50036400000
423700000ATDMA - 64QAM31.25026400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,987

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

@mscottr do you happen to have more than one type of service running, as in Home Phone and Cable TV service as well?  

 

Can you have a look at the incoming cable into your home and see if there is a splitter installed to run multiple services and if so, post the model number of the splitter.  That model number is found on the face of the splitter.  I'd also like to know, if possible, what port the modem is connected to.  It should be the -3.5 dB port.  

 

Where this is going is that all of your downstream DOCSIS 3.0 (channels 1 to 32) are low.  Survivable but low.  However the modem isn't using those channels.  Its using the OFDM channel for its downstream data, which should still be ok.  

 

The upstream channels are ok.  They're where I would expect them to be.  

 

So, just looking for a little more data.  

 

When and if you have time can you call tech support and ask the Customer Service Rep (CSR) for the following data:

 

1.  the OFDM channel signal power level

2.  the OFDM channel signal to noise ratio

3.  the OFDM channel QAM level

 

That data isn't presented in the user interface, but, they will indicate whether or not the modem is running at its highest data rate.  The QAM level should be 1024, in order run the max data rate.  Anything less than that will indicate a problem in the lower 500 Mhz range of your cable system.  If the CSR treats this like a national secret and won't tell you, please let me know.  That either means that the CSR doesn't know where that data is in their display system, or that he or she is just blowing off your request.  

 

Without that info, the majority of the data in the data table in the modem is meaningless, unfortunately.  

 

Can you also have a look at the following Microsoft doc:

 

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-ca/windows-server/networking/technologies/network-subsystem/net-sub-pe...

 

Bring up a command prompt and type in:

 

netsh interface tcp show global

 

Within the data, you should see this:

 

Receive Window Auto-Tuning Level : normal

 

If that is off, it should be set to normal or experimental.  

 

Using a command prompt with Admin rights, type in:

 

netsh interface tcp set global autotuninglevel=normal

 

Reboot the pc if you had to change the autotuninglevel.  

 

With the autotuning level at normal or experimental, and the OFDM channel QAM running at 1024, you should be good to go.  If you still see slow data rates, that implies that your one of hundreds if not thousands of users who are seeing slow data rates, latency and packet loss with their service.  Thats been seen in the Rogers network since January and Rogers is radio silent as to the cause.  This also affects TPIA customers as well.  This is mainly around th GTA and surrounding areas.  

 

To run a speedtest, use the www.speedtest.net Toronto, Montreal or Moncton Rogers servers, whichever is closer.  Change the test server and when the entry window comes up, enter Rogers, to see the various Rogers test servers.   You can also use:  https://www.rogers.com/customer/support/article/internet-speedtest

 

 

 

 



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

Hi, I do have a splitter supplying cable to the Modem, with the other supplying TV.  Model info:  Antronix 2-way splitter 5-1218MHz CMC4002H both outputs read -3.5db OUT.   My modem does not appear in the device manager on the pc, which I find odd!(so I don't know what port it is connected to) Running windows 10, latest version.  I will contact the helpline today, and ask after the information you suggested.  I currently am booked for an onsite visit on Saturday, but I'm not putting much faith in that, as they are not actually entering any homes now, as covid protocol, and can only run testing external to the building.  They may leave me new equipment to install.  I have also checked the system on the PC, and it is gigabit compatable.  

 

Thanks,

Scott

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,987

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

@mscottr please read thru my post above as I've added some additional instructions.



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

Well, the "Receive Window Auto-Tuning Level : normal" in command prompt was set properly, not requiring change.

 

  The Ookala speed test is what I normally use; the rogers server gave a result of 600Mbps, while the Bell server returned 400Mbps;  The Rogers server failed on the uplaod test; citing either firewall issues, or server problems.  The Bell server had no trouble bringing back an upload result of 32Mbps.  It looks as though I am in that group that you mentioned, which are simply not receiving the speeds that they are paying for. 

 

I will call Rogers cust. service later on, and try and obtain the other information that you suggested.  Thanks again for your help, much appreciated from someone who is much less than tech savvy. 

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

I am definitely one of the thousands with bad gigabit service since January. My speedtests have never gone above 126mb/s and the upload is an awful 3mbit/s so I am getting a 10th the speed Im supposed to on upload and download. And if I use the speed test on roger's site I get 55mbit download... it's just awful.