Rogers IPv6 Status

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile

Re: Rogers IPv6 Status

I am new to Rogers. One of the reasons I moved was IPV6. I have my modem (a CODA-4582) in bridge mode and a Google Wifi/Onhub Mesh behind it. I am only getting a /64 (and not a /56), no matter how many times I reset either modem or router, wait for the DHCP lease (Roger's side) to expire. Calling tech support was of no help.

Google Wifi is not pfSense and there is no means for setting a prefix length hint. Is using pfSense the only way to get a /56 prefix? Is there something that has to be enabled at Rogers' for me to get a /56?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

I Plan to Stick Around

You need to have someway to specify and use other prefixes.  For example, in pfSense, once /56 is enabled, it's necessary to actually configure a network or VLAN to use the other /64s.

I've Been Here Awhile

That is true. I do need a way to delegate the /64s within the /56 and I doubt Google Wifi can do it. I do know that pfSense can do it. 

Are there *any* consumer/"prosumer" sub $200 router that anyone is aware of which can do the following:

1. Send a prefix hint to Rogers' DHCPv6 server requesting for a /56 prefix. AND

2. Act as a DHCPv6 server in turn to sub delegate /60s or /64s to other routers requesting prefix delegation on the LAN side.

Routers like ERL (Edgerouter Lite) can have /64s delegated to its LAN interfaces but cannot sub delegate prefixes to downstream routers (at least that is what I am aware of). Are there any router appliance that can do this ?  

Resident Expert
Resident Expert

Depending on your data rate, perhaps the smallest PfSense router might do - SG-1000 - direct price is $149 US.

https://www.pfsense.org/products/