Rogers IPv6 Status

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
I Plan to Stick Around

Re: Rogers IPv6 Status

Commercial grade routers are often called "layer 3 switches" as much of the routing work is done in dedicated hardware, rather than software.

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot

@VivienM wrote:

@djubre wrote:

pfSense is a good idea. I might acquire an old small form factor PC to be my firewall.

I have been running PC-based devices as my main NAT router for 15 years now. Wow, do I ever feel old...

I would be very nervous about any 'older' PC as a firewall, or really any PC if you're going to be getting into gigabit world. 

Speaking of old, the last time I ran a PC as a firewall, it was a Pentium with 512M of RAM running OpenBSD 3.0.. Good times.

The performance point is well taken, and in most cases a commercial router would be cheaper to acquire and operate in the long run. Especially for those of us paying Ontario electricity rates.

But I'd rather have Hitron fix the IPv6 firewall in the modem firmware, and benefit everyone... 🙂

I've Been Here Awhile

I'll try to reach 2nd level on Monday. And yes everything was perfectly fine since service was started somewhere back in June, I don't check it every day and IPv4 runs fine so just noticed couple of days ago. I'll post an update when have it.

P.s. Thanks for the edit, completely skiiped my mind.

Thanks,

K.

Resident Expert
Resident Expert

how fast is the CPU in the Hitron? I can do very fast wired speeds on the Hitron, so I'm worried the Asus 1900P wont be able to match speed.

Resident Expert
Resident Expert