Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

How do we turn off telnet and ssh access to the modem?

Testing from the internet I get a login prompt for both telnet (port 23) and ssh (port 22) on my modem IP.

 

Telnet login says:

RDK (A Yacto Project based Distro) 2.0 puma7-atom

puma7-atom login:

 

SSH access lists:

SSH-2.0-dropbear_2017.75 and a bunch of ciphers.

 

I have port forwarding disabled, so these logins belong to the modem and not some ports forwarded from internal LAN. The modem firewall is set on "typical".

 

Any help on how to get the telnet and ssh blocked from internet access? That's a huge security issue to have them fully open on the public domain.

 

Thank you!

Highlighted
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Hello!

I currently have a 6 dB attenuator connected to the CODA-4582U modem and was wondering if my levels are ok. I have been experiencing "request timed out" when trying to ping google through cmd and am trying to pinpoint the issue.

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1609000000QAM2562.0001035.779
2591000000QAM2561.599736.386
3597000000QAM2562.000836.386
4849000000QAM256-2.200233.956
5855000000QAM256-2.200333.956
6861000000QAM256-2.799433.376
7579000000QAM2561.400536.386
8585000000QAM2561.400636.386
9603000000QAM2561.900935.779
10279000000QAM256-1.599135.779
11615000000QAM2562.0991136.386
12621000000QAM2562.2991236.386
13633000000QAM2563.0001336.609
14639000000QAM2563.0991436.386
15645000000QAM2563.0991536.386
16651000000QAM2563.0001636.386
17657000000QAM2562.7991736.609
18663000000QAM2562.7991836.386
19669000000QAM2562.5991936.609
20675000000QAM2562.2992036.386
21681000000QAM2562.2002136.609
22687000000QAM2561.9002236.386
23693000000QAM2561.4002336.386
24699000000QAM2561.2992436.386
25705000000QAM2561.0002536.386
26711000000QAM2561.7002636.386
27717000000QAM2561.7002736.386
28723000000QAM2562.0002836.386
29825000000QAM256-0.0992935.779
30831000000QAM256-0.4003035.779
31837000000QAM256-0.7993135.083
32843000000QAM256-1.7003234.925
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES-1.599998
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
13699600064QAM46.02046400000
22370000064QAM47.27026400000
33059600064QAM50.77036400000
40QAM_NONE----1600000
50QAM_NONE----1600000
60QAM_NONE----1600000
70QAM_NONE----1600000
80QAM_NONE----1600000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.00000.00000.00000.00000.00002K
1DISABLED0.00000.00000.00000.00000.00002K

 

Thank you!

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,047

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Hello, @djri

 

Welcome to the Rogers Community Forums!

 

Thanks so much for posting your concerns in the Community. I know how important it is to have good signal levels in order to have consistent service.

 

The signal results you've provided are within the correct operating range for optimal services. We've received your private message and look forward to discussing this matter with you further to find a solution. 

 

RogersTony

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 11

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

I'm wondering if there is any "chronic" issue with CODA modems reliability?

This is my forth modem, and I still get intermittent disconnects during the day.

I had technicians coming to my place and checked everything inside out, with no issues found.

I am lost here. Every "new" CODA modem that I get is refurbished and completely unreliable.

I am confident in my cabling, infrastructure. So how Rogers can help here?

I'm pretty much sure that I'm not the only one reporting these issues.

 

Is there a newer modem for Ignite customers that can be provided, as I'm having issues on a daily basis, and no progress has been achieved here. Please let me know.

 

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Hi Doctor80,

Do you see any ports open on the public IP?

Some bad actors can take advantage and exploit vulnerabilities on your modem.

I started this post with a question that Rogers ignored from start, and can be related to your issue as well.

Good luck!

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 11

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Thanks for your reply. Can you recommend a way to check open ports on public IP?
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 7,005

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@doctor80 go to grc.com

 

Select Services .... ShieldsUp! and follow the path to test All Service Ports. 

 

I'll have a longer response later, but, for now, I'll state that the 4582 doesn't have chronic problems.  I'd attribute any issues to external cable issues or IPV6 issues if you happen to have Dual mode selected in the Gateway Function in the modem.  



Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

I use "shieldsUP" from https://www.grc.com/default.htm most of the time.
Other way is to google for "ports scanner online" and other options will show up. It's good to check both TCP and UDP if the scanner permits.
Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 11

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Thank you.
The result is "THE EQUIPMENT AT THE TARGET IP ADDRESS
DID NOT RESPOND TO OUR UPnP PROBES!"
This is the issue, Rogers support do not see any issue on my line. They say everything is fine.
My third CODA modem was disconnecting every 6 minutes and 40 seconds ~ 5-6 packet loss , and then come back again.

So tech came to my house, checked everything and gave me his test modem. Now this modem doesn't behave the same way, luckily I do not have drops every 6 minutes and 40 seconds, but still I get 2 drops of connection every day.

So that's why I'm starting to believe that this is a modem issue.
Because please agree with me that if there was a noise on the node, that would cause me to drop connection , the noise would spike to 15 db or 20 db SNR. ( I was a Headend tech in the past)
Nothing like that happens to me.
That's why I'm lost.
My modem is in bridge mode. Should I still check IPv6 setting on the modem?
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 7,005

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@doctor80  ok, so the modem is in Bridge mode with a router behind it.  What's the router model that you're using?  

 

Are you seeing the dropouts on both ethernet and wifi connected devices?  I'm assuming at this point that you see this on ethernet connected devices.  Please let me know.

 

If you happen to have IPV6 enabled in the router, consider disabling it and then reboot the router.  I'd reboot the connected devices as well.  They should all kick over to IPV4 only, but, we've seen issues with cell phones in the past where they're slow to kick over to IPV4 in the event of an IPV6 failure, which in this case is simply caused by disabling IPV6.  Run IPV4 for a day or two to see if there is a positive effect.  If so, then you have an IPV6 issue at the CMTS.  That does happen, again and again, and getting tech support to recognize the IPV6 problem is a problem in itself.  

 

Its possible to see service dropouts with good signal data.  Those dropouts will normally be too fast for the modem's signal levels to catch them, but, if the dropouts are just long enough, you might see the results of the dropouts indicated in the Event Log.  The most likely indication is a Lost MDD Timeout and possibly a MIMO Event.  There's no guarantee that you will see those in the Event log, but, a string of those would probably indicate an external cable issue. 

 

To look for service dropouts, run a ping test to the CMTS.  To do that, first run a trace to anywhere, google for example.  Bring up a command prompt and enter:

 

tracert -4 www.google.com

 

With the modem in Bridge mode, and the router in full router mode: 

 

1. The first hop in the trace is the router, the modem will not show up in the trace. 

2.  The second hop address is the CMTS. 

 

Ping the CMTS and let that run for at least an hour.  Let it run for 24 hours if you want to collect data for an entire day.  You should only see a handful of lost packets during the course of the day, far less than 1%.  

 

For a 1 hour ping, enter:

 

ping -n 3600 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx      where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is that second hop address.  

 

For a 24 hour test, use:

 

ping -n 86400 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx    where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is that second hop address.  

 

When that test is done, copy the bottom results and post them please.  Select the result by holding down the left hand mouse button and sweeping thru the bottom results, from top to bottom.  Use Ctrl c to copy the result to the clipboard and then paste them into a post.  

 

The only problem with the command line ping test is that it only runs at 1 ping per second.  If you want to run a higher ping rate, download HrPing from http://www.cfos.de/en/ping/ping.htm

 

Thats a command line program, like the Windows/Dos ping command.  When that is unzipped to a location of your choice, navigate to that folder with an admin command prompt and enter:

 

hrping.exe -t -s500 -T -F c:\temp\hrpingtest.txt 64.71.255.204

 

If I remember this correctly, there is a licence prompt you have to acknowledge on the first run, and you need to be using an admin command prompt instead of the normal command prompt.  So, when the downloaded file is unzipped and ready to go, start a command prompt using admin rights, then navigate to the folder and run the command.  

 

As indicated at the download page:

 

-t is an continuous test that will only stop when you use Ctrl c

 

-s500 is a 500 milli-second interval.  The default is 500 milli-seconds, but, you can shorten that if you prefer.  Two pings per second isn't a terribly high  rate, but it will suffice for the time being

 

-T adds a timestamp to the results line

 

-F c:\temp\hrpingtest.txt causes the program to write the results to a file, located at C:\temp\, in this case titled hrpingtest.txt   You need the .txt at the end of the file name to result in a text file that will simply open with a text editor.  You can change the file location to another folder if you don't have a C:\temp folder on your pc.  It might be worth creating a folder on the C drive, something like C:\test, or something along those lines that you can use to hold the program and results, and which will be simple to navigate to by using the command line "change folder commands", up and down C drive's folder structure.  

 

64.71.255.204 in this case is Rogers primary IPV4 DNS, which use for test purposes at various times.  In this specific case, you would replace that with the CMTS IP address. 

 

The lowest ping interval that you can probably use to the CMTS is about 17 milli-seconds (-s17).  Below that you risk intentional packet loss if you run below the average of the return time.  You could fine tune that and after one run, take the average and add 1 milli-second to that time.  Then rerun the test.

 

Note that if you run a high rate (low interval) ping test to any target and let that run for a length of time, the results file will grow rather large, to several tens of Mb or possibly hundreds of Mb if you let it run long enough.  Windows Notepad will choke on a large file size, so, I recommend something like Notepad++ https://notepad-plus-plus.org/

 

If you run a high rate (low interval) ping test to the CMTS, you will see groups of high time ping results that repeat.  That's due to a firmware change that was adopted in Version 2.0.10.27, many months ago.  That change appears to have been carried thru to the newer Version 7.x.  The firmware change was mode to improve mixed protocol performance, but, one side effect was the introduction of high ping times from the CMTS.  Ping times to any target beyond the CMTS are not affected.  So, ignore the ping times, look for packet loss only. 

 

Ok, that should just about do it.  If you let a test run overnight, using something like a 500 milli-second interval, that should result in a good indication of the drop outs during the day.  

 

Here's a few questions to work on:

 

1.  What's the router model that you're using and is the firmware up to date?  What's the date of the current router firmware?  

 

2.  Are you seeing the dropouts on both ethernet and wifi connected devices? The real test here is the ethernet devices, but the question has to be asked just to be sure of what's going on. 

 

3.  Do you have IPV6 enabled in the router?

 

4.  Are you using a VPN of any type at the same time that there is other traffic thru the router, ie:  gaming, streaming, etc, etc.

 

5.  Can you log into the modem, thru the router and copy the signal data which is located in the STATUS .... DOCSIS WAN tab.  Navigate to that tab, and select the entire table, from the Downstream Overview line all the way to the very bottom right hand corner of the OFDM/OFDMA Overview.  Park your curser at the front of the Overview line, hold the shift key down and scroll down to the bottom of the table, or use the arrow keys to select the table, both right and downwards.  When thats done, right click .... Copy.  Then paste that into a post, right click .... Paste.  The end result should look like the table from the modem's User Interface.  If the modem's login page won't respond, that's most likely due to the presence of Firmware Version 7.x   In that case, unplug the modem from the wall socket, wait for 10 to 15 seconds and plug it back in.  After the modem restarts, you should be able to log into the modem, thru the router, using 192.168.100.1 to access the login page.  From there, the modem should behave and allow you to copy the signal data.  Despite your past tech visits, I'd like to see the data myself, at least, the data that the modem's UI actually shows.  

 

6.  When you have a dropout with the Hitron modem, do you see dropouts occurring with any other service such as cable tv service (Nextboxes) or with a Home Phone service which uses its own cable modem?

 

Just as a comment, the modem's are far more reliable than is assumed and presented by tech support and the field techs.  The actual failure rate doesn't warrant their regular replacement.  If you're getting service dropouts, then there's something that's driving it, either a cable issue somewhere between the modem and the neighbourhood node, or, possibly a mixed protocol issue, ergo my question about VPN usage.  So, with a little information, hopefully we can sort out the cause of the problem.