Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
RyzenFX
I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 589

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@Webslinger I should've said this earlier but the 4.191 SNR value is an interface bug. I have noticed that problem occur with my modem a couple of times and rebooting the modem have always fixed the problem for me. Try rebooting the modem and the values should go up where they should be.

Webslinger
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 32

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware


@RyzenFX wrote:

@Webslinger I should've said this earlier but the 4.191 SNR value is an interface bug. I have noticed that problem occur with my modem a couple of times and rebooting the modem have always fixed the problem for me. Try rebooting the modem and the values should go up where they should be.


Perhaps, momentarily. Doesn't explain why my speeds drop to 0.02 Mbps down after about an hour after a reboot over an ethernet cable connection directly from the modem. I'm not convinced that's an interface bug for me.

 

Webslinger
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 32

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware


@gp-se wrote:

The SNR is 4 on some channels, that is a major issue! SNR should be between 32-40 db. The fact that you unscrewed and re-screwed the coax and it made a difference leads me to believe you may have some connector issues.

 


Thanks. Any difference may have been coincidental. Every time I reboot the modem now, I experience severe slowdowns about an hour after rebooting.

Datalink
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 7,237

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@Webslinger that shouldn't happen.  Call tech support, ask the CSR to run a signal check on the modem which should probably fail.  Let the CSR know what your experiencing with the data rates.  Assuming that the signal check fails as I suspect, the next conversation item should be to arrange a tech visit to resolve the problem. 



Webslinger
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 32

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Thanks. Yeah, I mentioned earlier I've got a tech coming out Monday.

If you look at this post, you'll see what my SNR looks like after an hour or so:
http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/Internet/Rogers-Hitron-CODA-4582-Hardware/m-p/404871#M48365

Right now, only because I've rebooted it looks like this:

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 603000000 256QAM -4.200 9 38.258
2 849000000 256QAM -5.700 2 36.387
3 855000000 256QAM -6.000 3 37.356
4 861000000 256QAM -5.100 4 37.356
8 597000000 256QAM -4.100 8 37.636
11 615000000 256QAM -3.800 11 37.636
12 621000000 256QAM -3.300 12 38.605
13 633000000 256QAM -4.300 13 37.636
14 639000000 256QAM -4.300 14 37.356
15 645000000 256QAM -4.300 15 37.636
16 651000000 256QAM -4.300 16 37.356
17 657000000 256QAM -4.000 17 38.983
18 663000000 256QAM -3.200 18 38.605
19 669000000 256QAM -3.100 19 38.605
20 675000000 256QAM -3.000 20 38.605
21 681000000 256QAM -2.200 21 38.983
22 687000000 256QAM -2.800 22 38.605
23 693000000 256QAM -2.600 23 38.983
24 699000000 256QAM -2.900 24 38.605
25 705000000 256QAM -3.400 25 38.605
26 711000000 256QAM -4.100 26 38.605
27 717000000 256QAM -5.100 27 37.636
28 723000000 256QAM -5.600 28 37.636
29 825000000 256QAM -4.700 29 37.356
30 831000000 256QAM -5.500 30 37.636
31 837000000 256QAM -5.700 31 37.356
32 843000000 256QAM -5.300 32 37.093
OFDM Downstream Overview
Receiver FFT type Subcarr 0 Frequency(MHz) PLC locked NCP locked MDC1 locked PLC power(dBmv)
0 NA NA NO NO NO NA
1 4K 275600000 YES YES YES -1.599998
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Bandwidth
1 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 39.500 6 3200000
2 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 36.250 4 6400000
3 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 35.750 5 6400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel Index State lin Digital Att Digital Att BW (sc's*fft) Report Power Report Power1_6 FFT Size
0 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K
1 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K
Webslinger
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 32

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

So, I requested to have production firmware put on my modem, and I performed a factory reset:

 

Hardware Version1A
Software Version2.0.10.28T2

 

I'm now noticing this:

 10/08/2017 15:20:5684000700warningRCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:93:ac:ae;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

 

I'm missing Port IDs 5,6,7,9, and 10. However, I'm not noticing the 0.02 Mbps downstream issue at the moment, as I did when I was on

Software Version

2.0.10.32

 

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM-3.900738.605
2855000000256QAM-5.800337.356
3861000000256QAM-5.000437.356
4579000000256QAM-3.300538.605
8603000000256QAM-4.100937.636
11621000000256QAM-3.4001237.636
12633000000256QAM-4.4001337.356
13639000000256QAM-4.4001437.356
14645000000256QAM-4.5001537.636
15651000000256QAM-4.4001637.636
16657000000256QAM-4.1001737.636
17663000000256QAM-3.4001838.605
18669000000256QAM-3.2001938.605
19675000000256QAM-3.0002038.605
20681000000256QAM-2.2002138.983
21687000000256QAM-2.9002238.605
22693000000256QAM-2.5002338.983
23699000000256QAM-2.9002438.983
24705000000256QAM-3.3002538.983
25711000000256QAM-4.0002638.605
26717000000256QAM-5.0002737.636
27723000000256QAM-5.4002837.636
28825000000256QAM-4.6002937.356
29831000000256QAM-5.5003037.356
30837000000256QAM-5.8003137.356
31843000000256QAM-5.1003236.610
32303000000256QAM-1.000138.983
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
04K275600000YESYESYES-1.500000
1NANANONONONA
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
130596000ATDMA - 64QAM35.75046400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM39.25063200000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM34.25056400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
Webslinger
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 32

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Another reboot and all port IDs are showing. Ever since being on 2.0.1028T2, the severe download speed (0.02 Mbps) issue has disappeared. Can't say that I'm a fan of 2.0.10.32.

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM-4.500737.636
2855000000256QAM-6.800336.387
3861000000256QAM-6.100436.610
4579000000256QAM-4.200538.605
5585000000256QAM-4.600638.983
6849000000256QAM-6.500236.387
7597000000256QAM-4.900837.636
8603000000256QAM-4.900937.356
9609000000256QAM-4.6001037.356
10615000000256QAM-4.6001137.356
11621000000256QAM-4.3001237.636
12633000000256QAM-5.4001337.636
13639000000256QAM-5.3001437.356
14645000000256QAM-5.3001537.356
15651000000256QAM-5.4001637.636
16657000000256QAM-5.1001737.636
17663000000256QAM-4.3001837.636
18669000000256QAM-4.1001937.636
19675000000256QAM-4.0002038.605
20681000000256QAM-3.2002138.605
21687000000256QAM-3.6002238.605
22693000000256QAM-3.5002338.983
23699000000256QAM-3.8002438.605
24705000000256QAM-4.2002538.605
25711000000256QAM-4.8002638.983
26717000000256QAM-5.9002737.356
27723000000256QAM-6.2002837.356
28825000000256QAM-5.4002936.610
29831000000256QAM-6.3003037.636
30837000000256QAM-6.4003136.610
31843000000256QAM-6.0003236.610
32303000000256QAM-1.700138.605
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
04K275600000YESYESYES-2.200001
1NANANONONONA
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
130596000ATDMA - 64QAM35.75046400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM39.25063200000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM34.25056400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
Webslinger
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 32

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Hi,

 

Does anyone know if the the latest CODA-4582 modems being given to techs for modem swaps have no black dots on the back? A tech came by on Monday and swore up and down that the modem he was swapping is newer than the one I had with one black dot on the back. This new one had no black dots on the back.

 

I know there were modems with two black dots. I 'm not sure what the second black dot meant. I know the first black dot meant the modem had shielding in it to protect from interference.

 

TIA

ed1234
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Woke up this morning and my computer had no internet connection. Checked the back of the CODA-4582 modem and the lights were off on port 4. I tried:

 

1) Re-seating cable

 

2) Plugging the cable for my NAS into port 4 instead

 

3) checking the Advanced section of the modem admin to confirm port is enabled (admin indicates it is "Unlinked")

 

4) rebooting the modem

 

I am on 2.0.10.28T2.

 

Anyone know of any way to fix this? Thanks.

 

gp-se
I'm an Advisor
Posts: 1,143

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware


@Webslinger wrote:

Hi,

 

Does anyone know if the the latest CODA-4582 modems being given to techs for modem swaps have no black dots on the back? A tech came by on Monday and swore up and down that the modem he was swapping is newer than the one I had with one black dot on the back. This new one had no black dots on the back.

 

I know there were modems with two black dots. I 'm not sure what the second black dot meant. I know the first black dot meant the modem had shielding in it to protect from interference.

 

TIA


On the back of the modem can you post the model number, does it say CODA 4582U? or when you log in to the modem it should show the model number, CODA 4582U is newer than the CODA 4582.

Either way if it really bothers you, you can goto the Rogers store and swap the modem.