Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 665

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

Hello, @Gina4

 

Welcome to the Rogers Community Forums!

 

It sounds like you've had a really rough time trying to upload your streams to Twitch. =(

 

Signal levels on the Downstream channels on your modem are mostly too strong and out of specification although only by a little this number can fluctuate based on numerous factors. We'll need to have a technician out to address the signal issues before we can determine if there is an issue on the network.

 

Please send a Private Message to @CommunityHelps so we can arrange for a technician to visit your home. If you are not familiar with our Private Messaging system please Click Here.

 

RogersTony

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

And upstream? Where my problem is? 

Im not sure what causes my bitrate to literally drop to 0 when i stream at higher bitrates.

If it was congestions wouldnt a lower bitrate stream also drop to 0 from time to time.

Anyway replacing modem today and dropped @ message on the other forum for a technician.

 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

My new modem in action.

 

runaround.png

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

Has anybody actually had this issue resolved? 

Are we getting the run around?

*cough* throttle *cough*

Yeah im upset.

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

And to clarify Im not complaining that i dont get the 30mpbs upstream that i pay for all the time. I realize its "speeds up to".

Im complaining because it doesnt work. At all. 

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

Hello,

 

I been having problems with gaming for months now. It specially happens during the evening and night time when everyone is home and they are using the internet. I have Hitron CODA-4582 modem. We have the Hitron connected to a D-Link EasySmart 16-Port Ethernet Switch (DGS-1100-16). So we have wired connections going to every room in the house. And this wired connection is connected to my PS4. 

 

My info:

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1663000000256QAM2.8001840.946
2591000000256QAM1.200740.946
3597000000256QAM1.100840.946
4849000000256QAM3.000240.366
5855000000256QAM2.600340.366
6861000000256QAM2.000440.366
7579000000256QAM1.200540.946
8585000000256QAM1.200640.946
9603000000256QAM1.600940.946
10609000000256QAM1.7001040.366
11615000000256QAM1.9001140.366
12621000000256QAM1.9001240.946
13633000000256QAM2.4001340.366
14639000000256QAM2.5001440.366
15645000000256QAM2.7001540.946
16651000000256QAM2.7001640.946
17657000000256QAM2.7001740.366
18279000000256QAM-0.100138.983
19669000000256QAM2.8001940.946
20675000000256QAM2.8002040.366
21681000000256QAM2.9002140.946
22687000000256QAM2.8002240.946
23693000000256QAM3.1002340.946
24699000000256QAM3.1002440.946
25705000000256QAM3.3002540.366
26711000000256QAM3.2002640.946
27717000000256QAM3.0002740.366
28723000000256QAM2.9002840.366
29825000000256QAM3.1002940.366
30831000000256QAM3.3003040.366
31837000000256QAM3.4003140.366
32843000000256QAM3.2003240.946
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES1.400002
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
138596000ATDMA - 64QAM37.75063200000
230596000ATDMA - 64QAM35.75046400000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM34.00056400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K

 

 

@

 

 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 35

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

Using the Rogers Gigabit internet bundle with the Gigabit Wi-Fi Modem, and there started to be huge packet loss while I was playing League of Legends North America Server, the average packet loss is around 0.30% which is consider very huge. I tried both on wireless and wired connection, both the rogers gigabit wifi modem itself, also use it as a gateway bridge and use my own router, nothing changed. I tried both 2.4ghz and 5.0ghz internet and different computers, still the same. But the league of legends gaming server is fine, I tried it at my friends home and the connection is fine without any packet loss. I tried almost everything I can searched on google, still don't work, it has been 24 hours, the packet losses only occur when I was playing league of legends, watching video and playing other games are fine. Because of the prior history of rogers wifi modem with league of legends (couldn't connect few years back), i don't know what to do, please help Smiley Sad

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,111

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

@Shahin6470 what internet plan are you on, the 150/15, 300/20, 1 Gb/s / 30, or on a grandfathered data rate of some type?  A couple of ideas come to mind, the first is that you might be on a highly loaded Cable Modem Termination System (CMTS) which provides modem control and data services for the connected modems.  If you're noticing slow performance in the evening, the first thing I would do for test purposes is kick everyone else off of the internet.  That won't win you any favours from the rest of the family, but, it would confirm whether or not this is a CMTS loading issue, or if its an internal network issue.  To do that I'd connect the modem directly to the PS4 cable.  I'm assuming here that you're running the modem in Gateway mode.  If you use an ethernet female to female connector, at the switch location, it would be easy to connect the PS4 to the modem, and it would easily remove the switch from the PS4 network path.  Something like these:

 

https://www.google.com/search?q=ethernet+female+to+female&rlz=1C1PRFI_enCA774CA774&source=lnms&tbm=i...

 

If, with the PS4 connected straight thru to the modem, you still see slow gaming performance I'd look at the CMTS loading.  First line tech support can't help you with that, but, if you can get to a second line tech support rep, he or she has access to the load data for your CMTS.  A first line rep will give you some static and probably try to talk you thru a reboot, etc,etc.  My response would be "if you can't fix a CMTS, don't waste my time."  If you can fix a CMTS, ok, its game on, lets talk numbers ........  That test with the PS4 would only take maybe 5 to 10 minutes for you to figure out if you're seeing any improvement in gaming performance.

 

Now, if you see an immediate improvement in the gaming performance, and you haven't done a modem reboot, then my impression is that the bandwidth control of the switch isn't doing you any favours for gaming purposes.  Or, you have a bandwidth hog on your network.  We've had issues come up in the past like kids running servers without their parents knowledge, so, anything is possible.  Running multiple TV on High Def HDR by any chance?  And, do you currently have gaming traffic or the PS4 switch port as the highest priority traffic?  Beyond any CMTS traffic slowdowns, or neighbourhood node traffic issues, the bandwidth setting of the switch is the first place that I'd be looking for performance issues.  

 

One last idea is to have a look at the modem's signal data when you're seeing slow traffic conditions.  Essentially do a comparison between times when the performance is good, and when its bad.  Look for any drop in signal levels, or signal to noise ratios and any drops from 256 QAM to a lower value.  Any drops in those values could result in slow downstream data rates.  On the upstream levels, look for any marked increase in the Signal Strength.  Now, for the record the modem is using DOCSIS 3.1 on the downstream side, as seen by the active OFDM channel.  The front downstream LED should be a light blue colour, officially Hitron calls it magenta.  The problem in this case is that there isn't enough data presented to determine the overall health of that OFDM channel.  Tech support has access to additional info, so, if you called them, the Customer Service Rep can run a signal check on the modem and you can ask for the OFDM channel data.  The tech might have a hard time finding it.  Its either at the bottom of their display or on a second page.  Of note, the QAM level of the OFDM channel should be 1024.  Anything less than that would indicate a signal issue or a noise issue.  64 QAM is the lowest operating QAM level for the OFDM channel.  If the modem can't run 64 QAM, then it will bail out of the OFDM channel and use the DOCSIS 3.0 channels (1-32).  I don't think that you're anywhere near that.  

 

Ok, hopefully that should give you some items to consider.  Please let us know what you find.  



Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,111

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

@alan4160 have you tried running League of Legends over an ethernet connection and if so, were you seeing the same packet loss?  

 

If you're playing via wifi, fwiw, every user will see different results in terms of data rates and packet loss.  That's simply a result of the wifi environment, which is different for everyone.  Its the result of your own home construction, modem location and the other users in your neighbourhood who happen to be running 2.4 and/or 5 Ghz networks.  Even if you optimize the wifi settings for your modem or router, at the end of the day, you're still at the mercy of all of those elements.  Ideally, with the wifi settings optimized, a direct line of sight to the modem or router, and no wifi bandwidth hog neighbours, you can see reasonable wifi performance, but, I'd still recommend an ethernet connection for any gaming.  Fwiw, have a look at the following post, specifically the wifi settings and applications for checking your wifi environment.  See if there are any changes that you can make to your wifi settings and see who else in your neighbourhood is competing for the same wifi channels.  Even if you have competition for channels 149 and above in the 5 Ghz band, there's probably a very good chance that you will still see higher data rates than any channel in the lower ranges.  The problem however will be the shared nature of wifi ..... everyone gets a turn, which could result in gaming delays.  Packet loss over wifi could be indicative of wifi interference from other modems and routers.  

 

https://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/Internet/slow-wifi/m-p/429489#M54216

 

 

The other consideration here is whether or not you have access to ethernet cabling where your gaming pc/laptop is located.  Check behind the nearest wallplate that has a telephone and/or cable port on it.  Look for an additional RG-6 cable that is used for cable/satellite/modem purposes and see if there happens to be an ethernet cable there as well.  If that group of cables is present then your home has structured wiring installed, which can be used to run data around the home via the ethernet cable, bypassing wifi altogether.  

 

Now, beyond all of this, if your friend is on Rogers internet, then it would be an idea to look at traceroutes for yourself and your friend to see if either route has common components, and more importantly, where the two routes differ, in order to look for bottlenecks in the routing.  At this point it would be time to get @RogersAndy involved.  If you look at the first page of this thread, you can see the instructions for the data collection that you would be asked to provide.  



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

Tracing route to ingest-proxy-edge-80f084.ord02.justin.tv [192.16.66.56]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms CODA4582 [192.168.0.1]
2 9 ms 10 ms 9 ms 99.234.204.1
3 8 ms 8 ms 7 ms 8081-dgw01.hnsn.rmgt.net.rogers.com [69.63.254.121]
4 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms 0-9-0-7-dgw02.hnsn.rmgt.net.rogers.com [209.148.235.86]
5 10 ms 4 ms 3 ms 209.148.235.69
6 24 ms 25 ms 23 ms 209.148.230.26
7 reserved.justin.tv [192.16.68.65] reports: Destination net unreachable.

 

 

 

C:\Users\Gina>ping www.google.ca -n 30

Pinging www.google.ca [2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003] with 32 bytes
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=12ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=8ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=10ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=9ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=8ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=8ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=11ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=9ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=9ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=9ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=10ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=8ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=9ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=10ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=8ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=21ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=10ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=10ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=11ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=9ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=8ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=13ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=10ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=14ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=9ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=10ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=9ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=10ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=9ms
Reply from 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003: time=12ms

Ping statistics for 2607:f8b0:400b:802::2003:
Packets: Sent = 30, Received = 30, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 8ms, Maximum = 21ms, Average = 10ms

 

ookla speed.pngrogersspeed.png

 

as requested by RogersMoin

ive replaced my modem and had my signals "corrected" they are and i quote "impeccable"