Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

just ran speed tests again, upload is at 14.4 on speedtest.net and 10.3 on rogers, and while those numbers are terrible they should be enough to stream at 3000 bitrate, i am still dropping to 0 every few seconds. 

 

 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

Called tech support again today. 

Was told someone was at the node looking into my  problem.

Just got a text "Rogers Msg: We've fixed the Rogers Internet Service problem you told us about. If you have an issue in the future, please contact us (www.support.rogers.com)"

Super, lets fire up a stream.

 

Untitled.png

 

 6unstable events in 6 minutes.

That makes 637 times since friday afternoon.

Back on with tech support.

 

 

 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

Another tech visit, another day of being unable to stream.

Nothing wrong with connection. Tech agrees its the modem.

Cant switch to technicolor modem as for some reason its only offered to ignite tv customers.

Super. 

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

I'm on the 300/20 plan. 

 

Here what it looks like in the evening. I think that Upstream signal are a bit weak. This random disconnect only happens in the evening. Never happens during the day. I ran into this exact issue 4 years ago with Rogers in my other house. But it got solved thanks to this forum @Datalink 

 https://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/Internet/Rocket-amp-amp-advanced-wi-fi-Hitrons-has-PROBLEMS/td...

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1663000000256QAM2.3001840.946
2591000000256QAM0.700740.366
3597000000256QAM0.600840.946
4849000000256QAM2.200240.366
5855000000256QAM1.800340.366
6861000000256QAM1.200440.366
7579000000256QAM0.700540.366
8585000000256QAM0.700640.366
9603000000256QAM1.100940.946
10609000000256QAM1.2001040.366
11615000000256QAM1.4001140.366
12621000000256QAM1.4001240.366
13633000000256QAM1.7001340.366
14639000000256QAM2.0001440.366
15645000000256QAM2.1001540.366
16651000000256QAM2.1001640.366
17657000000256QAM2.2001740.946
18279000000256QAM-1.100138.983
19669000000256QAM2.2001940.946
20675000000256QAM2.2002040.366
21681000000256QAM2.3002140.366
22687000000256QAM2.3002240.366
23693000000256QAM2.5002340.366
24699000000256QAM2.6002440.366
25705000000256QAM2.7002540.366
26711000000256QAM2.7002640.946
27717000000256QAM2.5002740.366
28723000000256QAM2.3002840.366
29825000000256QAM2.4002940.366
30831000000256QAM2.5003040.366
31837000000256QAM2.6003140.946
32843000000256QAM2.4003240.366
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES1.099998
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
138596000ATDMA - 64QAM38.00063200000
230596000ATDMA - 64QAM36.00046400000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM34.50056400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K

 

 

 

 

Plus in my Event log I have so many errors like these:

 

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO

DHCP RENEW WARNING

DHCP FAILED 

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 202

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

Hey @Shahin6470!

 

Your upstream channels appear ok, and as for the T3 time outs unless there's a significant number of them per day it's nothing to worry about. 
For the disconnects that you're experiencing though can you confirm for me if the modem is rebooting when it occurs, or if the @ light goes out?

Also on the Status page within the modem can you share with us the LAN and WAN uptimes after the disconnect occurs? I'll ask that the modem not be rebooted during this time. 

 

Thanks!

@RogersAndy

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

Update

 

Untitled.png

0 fps, 324 kbps

 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 35

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

Hi there, I need some advice for my current internet setup (Gaming mainly plus video streaming). Would you recommend use the Rogers CODA-4582 modem as BRIDGE and then connect my own router Asus GT-AC5300?

Or using the coda-4582 directly? Thank you.

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,111

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

@alan4160 run the modem in Bridge mode with your GT-AC5300 in full router mode.  You'll be much happier with the overall modem & router performance in that configuration. 

 

Fwiw, I run the modem in Bridge mode with an RT-AC86U in full router mode behind the modem.  I'm very satisfied with the overall performance of that configuration. 



I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

Random 1-5 second lag spikes while gaming online.

For the past month and a half or so, I have had random huge spikes to my ping/latency while playing any online games. This has crossed through all my devices and happens whether I'm connected through Ethernet or WiFi. 

I've spoken to 5 support reps who have done things ranging from opening tickets (that get closed within a day after Rogers claims there is no issue) to having a technician come to my house (He did basically nothing and said there was no issue) to swapping my modem three times to different models (This has done nothing). 

I'm really at my wits end and it's really frustrating because Rogers is the only good choice for Internet in my area. I want to swap to something else because they aren't doing anything to help me but I would be dropping from a 1 gigabit modem to something that would give me download speeds around 10mbps, a huge downgrade. 

The Internet was flawless until around the middle of July. Nothing changed, I didn't add any devices and I only live with my wife who works while I'm sleeping and vice versa (she works days and I work nights) so I know it's not other people "hogging the bandwidth" as it were. 

 

Does anyone have any idea what I could possibly do to fix this? I'm willing to try basically anything at this point.

If it helps, I'm in a detached house using my PC generally to play Final Fantasy XIV (though the spikes happen if I play online on my Switch or in other games as well).

 

This is an example of me doing a ping test to the FF14 servers:

Pinging 204.2.229.10 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=106ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=104ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=106ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=104ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=106ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=103ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=111ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=104ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=106ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=107ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=112ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=107ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=107ms TTL=51
Request timed out.
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=2129ms TTL=51
Request timed out.
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=1574ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=108ms TTL=51
Reply from 204.2.229.10: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=51

That was less than a minute but you can see the ping spike in there. That happens over and over again without fail regardless of the time of day or whether I'm connected Wireless or Wired. Sometimes it won't happen for 5-10 minutes and sometimes it happens twice in 30 seconds but it always shows up eventually. 

 

EDIT: Based on other similar posts from this forum I decided to to a ping test on the second hop on a trace route (which leads to my CMTS I believe? Basically the cabling to the utility pole and out to the neighbourhood node I think?) and I'm getting very similar results from that FF14 ping I posted above. 

9ms or so over and over until suddenly it either times out or hits 2000+ ms.  Does this mean there's a wiring issue? I downloaded PingPlotter and did a test on the same IP and am getting about 5.2% packet loss after about a 20 minute test.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 202

Re: Rogers Gaming & Streaming Lab

Hey @MikeTavish!

 

As a long time Final Fantasy fanboy I feel your pain. Seeing any level of gameplay impact due to connectivity can be a real detriment, be it from running end game raids or just doing daily roulette's.

 

Seeing the ping spike is certainly indicative of an issue somewhere so let's dig a little deeper and see if we can isolate where that latency is coming from. Can you complete a traceroute for me to your FFXIV ingest server using command prompt? Several may need to be run in succession given the intermittency, and will need to be run while the game is running.

 

Be sure to remove any personal information (personal IP/MAC) before posting. Once we can see which hop the latency is occurring on we'll have a much better idea of how to help!

 

@RogersAndy