Questions about the Ignite Modem

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 338

Questions about the Ignite Modem

I just subscribed to the 500 mbit Internet service and wanted to know what is the latest STABLE firmware for the modem?  Mine is as follows:

 

Hardware Version 1A
Software Version

4.5.8.19

 

In terms of signal, the modem is supposed to be 32 channels, yet I only have 20 connected:

 

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 603000000 256QAM 2.800 3 36.610
2 591000000 256QAM 2.400 1 36.610
3 597000000 256QAM 3.000 2 37.356
4 609000000 256QAM 2.600 4 36.610
5 615000000 256QAM 1.700 5 36.610
6 621000000 256QAM 1.100 6 36.387
7 633000000 256QAM 0.500 7 35.780
8 639000000 256QAM 0.600 8 35.780
9 645000000 256QAM 0.900 9 36.387
10 651000000 256QAM -0.300 10 35.780
11 657000000 256QAM -0.200 11 35.780
12 663000000 256QAM 1.100 12 36.387
13 669000000 256QAM 1.500 13 36.610
14 675000000 256QAM 1.800 14 36.610
15 681000000 256QAM 2.300 15 36.610
16 687000000 256QAM 1.500 16 36.610
17 693000000 256QAM 0.900 17 36.387
18 699000000 256QAM 0.600 18 36.387
19 705000000 256QAM -0.200 19 36.610
20 711000000 256QAM -0.700 20 35.780
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID BandWidth
1 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 40.500 2 6400000
2 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 40.500 3 6400000
3 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 43.000 1

3200000

 

Is this OK and are my signal levels good?

 

Thanks

 

 

***Added Labels***

Solved! Go to Solution.
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,024

Re: Questions about the Ignite Modem

Your signal levels and signal to noise ratios are fine. 

 

In terms of the modem, given the firmware version that you indicated, you should have a CGNM-3552 which will be seen by the product sticker at the back of the modem near the top.  Note, that is the only modem currently fielded by Rogers that will support 1 Gb/s data rates.  Assuming that is correct, you should send a pm to @CommunityHelps requesting the trial firmware version 4.5.8.21 for the CGNM-3552.  Please include your HFC MAC address and modem serial number which is shown on the same modem STATUS page.  That version corrects the problem of the LAN ports dying when the modem is connected to a Casa Cable Modem Termination System.  Please have a look at the first post in this thread:

 

http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/forums/forumtopicpage/board-id/Getting_connected/thread-id/3315...

 

The Casa equipment is currently replacing the Cisco CMTS equipment.  Given that you currently have 500 Mb/s, you are probably on a Cisco CMTS at the moment.  When the Casa CMTS is installed, that modem will be able to run at 1 Gb/s.  

 

To determine what CMTS your modem is connected to, log into the modem, navigate to the STATUS ...... DOCSIS EVENT page and have a look for one of the following sequences:

a. CMTS-MAC=00:17:10 which indicates that you are connected to a Casa Systems Cable Modem Termination System (CMTS), or;


b. any of the following which indicates that you are connected to a Cisco Systems CMTS.

     1. CMTS-MAC=00:05:00
     2. CMTS-MAC=00:12:43
     3. CMTS-MAC=00:14:f1
     4. CMTS-MAC=00:1f:ca
     5. CMTS-MAC=e0:2f:6d           Note:  there may be other Cicso MAC addresses

                                                                        as well which are not on this list yet.

 

By keeping a look out for that sequence in the DOCSIS EVENTs page, you will know when the switch over has occurred.  I don't know if the bump up to 1 Gb/s is automatic or if you have to call into tech support to have the modem provisioned for 1 Gb/s.  



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 47

Re: Questions about the Ignite Modem

 

4	06/06/16 22:47:29	73040100	notice	TLV-11 - unrecognized OID;CM-MAC=****<snip>****;CMTS-MAC=****<snip>****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
5	06/06/16 22:48:06	82000200	critical	No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=****<snip>****;CMTS-MAC=****<snip>****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
6	06/06/16 22:48:06	82000300	critical	Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=****<snip>****;CMTS-MAC=****<snip>****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
7	06/06/16 22:48:06	82000600	critical	Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=****<snip>****;CMTS-MAC=****<snip>****;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

critical error in my modem log connecting to CMTS-MAC=00:17:10.

 

I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 338

Re: Questions about the Ignite Modem

Thank you for the prompt info.

 

As for the firmware update, I am a bit nervous upgrading to a BETA firmware as what things are working now may stop and cause issues.

 

What benefits do I get with the new firmware?  The link mentioned some features but I am not sure if those features are what I will see given with the current firmware I have.  I just want the BEST wifi range and rock solid stability without having to reboot the router often.

 

What would you suggest?  

 

Thanks

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,024

Re: Questions about the Ignite Modem

For best range, buy a good third party router with external antenna and gigabit WAN and LAN port. 

 

Stability I don't believe will be an issue.  If your previous modem was stable, then I would expect the same for the CGNM-3552.  The only time that my modem is down is during a router firmware update (Asus RT-AC68U), or, if there is ever an external cable problem.  Other than that, its running 24 hours a day, day in, day out and I never think about it, which is the way that it should be.  

 

I'm running the trial version 4.5.8.21 which resolved the issue of the LAN ports on the modem dying when as the modem is connected to a Casa CMTS.  As with my previous CGN3ACSMR, the modem is solid, no problems seen, although, it is running in Bridge mode.  I would expect the same from Gateway mode.  

 

That, for the most part is what it will do for you when your CMTS is switched from a Cisco unit to a Casa unit.  That might occur any day, and without the firmware update, if you weren't watching for the switch, the first clue would be dead LAN ports.  @RogersDave would have to expand on the additions and corrections to the firmware as I don't have access to the technical documentation that details the firmware builds.



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 97

Re: Questions about the Ignite Modem

 Am currently on the 100u and am not overly impressed with the WI FI range. Where on Rogers site can I find out what equipment comes with the various internet packages?

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 13,853

Re: Questions about the Ignite Modem

Would help if we knew what modem you currently have? Smiley Happy 
As there are a number compatable with the 100u service.

I would assume, its one of the CGN3 varients?

For no additional charge, you can get one of the newer CODA modems.  (white, big tall square one)

 

Technically is slightly better in the wireless aspect on it.. has a larger antenna set in it.. so SHOULD give slightly better performance.

Other than that.. your best bet would be to go with a 3rd party modem.
Overall, with any of the units with internal antennas, there will always be some limitation... as well as these all in ones are not the HIGHEST in terms of wireless... if they were it would be more $$ and raise our costs even more.
A good 3rd party modem, with external antennas, will usually give much better range.



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 97

Re: Questions about the Ignite Modem

I have the CGN3ACSMR, Hardware Version 2A, Firmware 4.5.8.27

 

As indicated WI FI range not impressive. Right now I'm 5 feet away from the modem and getting -62 db on channel 161. The only other signal on 5G is my Asus on channel 149 at -65 db and it is 50 feet away. The Hitron is line of sight,  the Asus is obstructed (two closed doors). 

 

The unit itself has become flaky (doesn't like to save changes to FW and at times getting no signal from either 2.4 or 5.) 

 

Just wanted to know my options before making a swap.

 

Thanks

 

 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 13,853

Re: Questions about the Ignite Modem

Yeah, really the only other one, would be to go up to the CODA modem.

Different firmware.. but very similar interface, etc.

The wireless is 'suposed' to be much better on it.

(not positive myself. I do have it, but connected to a 3rd party)



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 97

Re: Questions about the Ignite Modem

Thanks for your help. The Asus RT-68U covers most of the house adequately. Given that the CGN3ACSMR was giving me trouble thought I should get whatever the best modem available for my plan.