Problem with wifi connection

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Problem with wifi connection

yes i restarted my laptop many time and laptop is also updated.

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,106

Re: Problem with wifi connection

Give me more info about your Laptop, What Laptop model is it, do you know what WiFi card is installed? You can goto: Control Panel -> Network and Sharing Center -> Adaptors. It should show the modem of WiFi card installed. Next What Operating System is installed? 

 

Do you other devices have issues with loosing the WiFi signal after they sleep, or only this one Laptop?

 



Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Problem with wifi connection

Hello!

I got a Ignite 100 mbit connection that is being kinda unstable.

I have my landlord living in the same house (top floor) and we have separate accounts/bills, what i notice on my internet is that for example when my landlord comes home im guessing his cellphone and all his devices log into the internet and my internet starts crashing.

If me and my wife are both watching videos on youtube, one of us wont get the buffering done, its like we have to intercalate to watch videos.

Im using wifi connection, the modem is on a division a bit far from the living room and i cant just run wires around.

Any idea what could be causing this?

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,106

Re: Problem with wifi connection

@Yahikoo


@Yahikoo wrote:

Hello!

I got a Ignite 100 mbit connection that is being kinda unstable.

I have my landlord living in the same house (top floor) and we have separate accounts/bills, what i notice on my internet is that for example when my landlord comes home im guessing his cellphone and all his devices log into the internet and my internet starts crashing.

If me and my wife are both watching videos on youtube, one of us wont get the buffering done, its like we have to intercalate to watch videos.

Im using wifi connection, the modem is on a division a bit far from the living room and i cant just run wires around.

Any idea what could be causing this?


Does your landlord use a seperate modem/gateway or is he joining yours? If he joins yours then that would explain why it slows down. If he is using a seperate gateway then it shouldn't slow down. When it slows down you should log in to the gateway and view all the connected devices, make sure only your devices are listed. 

 

Another issue could be you two are using the same wifi channels which could also cause slow downs. I suggest using 5Ghz channel as much as posible and the higher channels (149+)

 



Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Problem with wifi connection


@gp-se wrote:

@Yahikoo


@Yahikoo wrote:

Hello!

I got a Ignite 100 mbit connection that is being kinda unstable.

I have my landlord living in the same house (top floor) and we have separate accounts/bills, what i notice on my internet is that for example when my landlord comes home im guessing his cellphone and all his devices log into the internet and my internet starts crashing.

If me and my wife are both watching videos on youtube, one of us wont get the buffering done, its like we have to intercalate to watch videos.

Im using wifi connection, the modem is on a division a bit far from the living room and i cant just run wires around.

Any idea what could be causing this?


Does your landlord use a seperate modem/gateway or is he joining yours? If he joins yours then that would explain why it slows down. If he is using a seperate gateway then it shouldn't slow down. When it slows down you should log in to the gateway and view all the connected devices, make sure only your devices are listed. 

 

Another issue could be you two are using the same wifi channels which could also cause slow downs. I suggest using 5Ghz channel as much as posible and the higher channels (149+)

 


My landlord has a totally different modem and connection, thats why it doesnt make sense for it to happen.

I logged into my gateway and checked all my wireless clients and theres only a whole bunch of MAC Addresses that i dont know who does it belong to, i dont think anybody is using my internet, i changed password about 2 weeks ago.

I do use the 5Ghz channel on all devices that can capture it, i would also like to boost my 2.4Ghz connection a little bit more, i dont know if theres much to do about it.

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Problem with wifi connection

Poor connection to router

 

I've been having an extremely erratic connection to my router over WiFi. My PingPlotter to 192.168.0.1 (which I think should remain negligible always) fluctuates to over 2,000 ms with periods of packet loss. The saved image below is a relatively good period - I've had long stretches where the graph is primarily black and red.

 

It seems inconsistent and it can go for an hour without incident and the next hour is just impossible - whether it's gaming or streaming video on Twitch or YouTube or even just browsing the internet.

 

Not sure if I'm missing something.

 

test 1.png

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,751

Re: Problem with wifi connection

@Iridis the image isn't accessible until one of the mods approves it for general release.  Even without seeing the plot, are you using a 2.4 or 5 Ghz network?  Just to note, there are a number of items that conflict with 2.4 Ghz wifi including wireless telephones which use a home base station, baby monitors, microwave ovens and others.  Does the plot show the laptop to the modem via the modem's wifi network, or is it from the laptop to a router, with the modem in Bridge mode?

 

Have you looked at your wifi environment with any type of wifi network monitor to see who else you're competing with in terms of channels?  If not consider using one of the following, although my personal choice is inSSIDer as the graphics are easy to understand:

 


http://www.techspot.com/downloads/5936-inssider.html

 

https://www.acrylicwifi.com/en/wlan-software/wlan-scanner-acrylic-wifi-free/

 

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html

 

Or,

 

For IOS

 

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/network-analyzer-lite-wifi/id562315041?mt=8

 

For Android

 

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.farproc.wifi.analyzer&hl=en


That's the last freebie version of inSSIDer and at this point in time is getting a little old. Its fine for 2.4 Ghz application and does work for 802.11n 5 Ghz networks. It does display 802.11ac networks but not as well as it should. This has become a licenced application now for $20 US and works very well for both frequency bands, 2.4 and 5 Ghz.

 

The other applications are fine for 802.11ac. Acrylic is graphical, WifiInfoView is text only.


What you want to do is determine what channels in the 2.4 Ghz range, and what channels in the 5 Ghz upper channel (149 to 165) range are occupied and if so, which offers the least competition in terms of signal level for any given channel. If you can find a channel or channel range in that group that is not occupied, that will be the best choice.

 

After you have had a chance to have a look at both 2.4 and 5 Ghz upper channel range, log into the modem or router and set those channels for your networks. 

 

If you are using the modem's wifi, and even if you are using a router, check/set the following 2.4 Ghz wifi parameters:

 

Wireless Mode: 802.11 n
Channel Bandwidth: 20/40 Mhz, although, for test puposes you could set this to 20 Mhz. In a crowded wifi environment, I would set this for 20 Mhz.
Wireless channel: AUTO or, to an open channel if one existed, or to the channel that offers the least interference from neighboring routers and modems
WPS Enabled: OFF
Security Mode: WPA-Personal
Auth Mode: WPA2-PSK
Encrypt Mode: AES only

 

Save the setting and ensure that the Encrypt Mode stays on AES only. If it changes on its own to TKIP/AES, change it back to AES only and save the setting again. TKIP is no longer secure and from what I remember will cause the wifi data rates to cap at 50 Mb/s. I'll have to look this up again.

 

 

Check/set the following 5 Ghz wifi parameters:

 

Wireless Mode: 802.11 a/n/ac mixed
Channel Bandwidth: 80 Mhz, although, for test purposes you could set this to 40 Mhz
Wireless channel: 149 to 165
WPS Enabled: OFF
Security Mode: WPA-Personal
Auth Mode: WPA2-PSK
Encrypt Mode: AES only

 

Once again, save the setting and ensure that the Encrypt Mode stays on AES only. If it changes on its own to TKIP/AES, change it back to AES only and save the setting again.

 

Reboot the modem if you had to make any changes, ADMIN ..... DEVICE RESET .... Reboot.

 

 

Edit:  Ok, the image has been approved, and, yup, that looks a little ugly in places.  Are you able to run the same test via ethernet to see if there are any issues with the modem/router itself?



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Problem with wifi connection

Thanks very much for the prompt reply.

 

I can probably check the channels later this evening, but as for changing to a less crowded one, I've been having issues logging into the modem - trying to access 192.168.0.1 makes the page time out.

 

Unfortunately I'm not able to do a wired test. The modem is a bit too far away and I don't have a laptop with an ethernet port. I've also got limited access to the modem itself (which is why I haven't provided the model etc.), though I could probably ask to have it restarted every so often.

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,751

Re: Problem with wifi connection

If you look at the back of the modem there is a product sticker which shows the modem model.  If its a black upright modem, it will be a Hitron CGN3xxxx model.  If the modem is the new white upright modem, its a Hitron CODA-4582. 

 

When you are able to log into the modem, can you navigate to the STATUS .... DOCSIS WAN page.  Copy the downstream and upstream tables and paste them into a post.  Those are the cable signal levels which might be of interest as well at this time.  The copy and paste process is just like copying from one document to another and will paste in the text contents of the tables into a post. 

 

To access the modem or any other ethernet network via a laptop that has no ethernet ports, one of these comes in handy, a gigabit to USB3 adapter.   With that you would also need a Cat 5e or Cat 6 ethernet cable.  

 

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=1051&item_id=096486

 

When connected, you could then plug into the ethernet ports of any network. 



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Problem with wifi connection

Managed to get into the router after power cycling it. I haven't managed to try a wired connection (and may not be able to do so in the near future).

 

It is indeed an upright black modem - the model name on the back simply says "CGN3". The requested table is below.

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Signal noise ratio (dB)Channel ID
1615000000256QAM-9.80037.63611
2579000000256QAM-9.40037.6365
3585000000256QAM-9.20038.6056
4591000000256QAM-9.40038.6057
5597000000256QAM-9.80038.6058
6603000000256QAM-9.50037.6369
7609000000256QAM-9.70038.60510
8303000000256QAM-9.90035.7801
9621000000256QAM-10.00037.63612
10633000000256QAM-9.80032.58513
11639000000256QAM-10.20036.61014
12645000000256QAM-9.90038.60515
13651000000256QAM-10.00036.38716
14657000000256QAM-9.90037.35617
15663000000256QAM-9.70037.35618
16669000000256QAM-10.20035.78019
17675000000256QAM-10.30036.61020
18681000000256QAM-9.80038.60521
19687000000256QAM-10.20037.63622
20693000000256QAM-10.30037.63623
21699000000256QAM-10.00037.63624
22705000000256QAM-9.70038.60525
23711000000256QAM-10.30037.35626
24717000000256QAM-10.30035.08427
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)BandWidthModulation TypeSignal Strength (dBmV)Channel ID
1237000006400000ATDMA41.5002
2385960003200000ATDMA43.7503
3305960006400000ATDMA42.5001