New CGN3ACSMR Modem, not compatible with League of Legends?

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Retired Moderator RogersAsif
Retired Moderator
Posts: 700

Re: New CGN3ACSMR Modem, not compatible with League of Legends?

Hello @blitz986

 

The firmware will typically get updated within 48 hours from the time it came online. If you notice the firmware is not updated even after 72 hours, please let us know or message CommunityHelps so that we can follow up for you.

 

Thank you for your patience.

 

RogersAsif

 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 8

Re: New CGN3ACSMR Modem, not compatible with League of Legends?

I just got the firmware update and I'm getting occasional ping increases in game and I can't move for a second. This happens a few times per game

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,052

Re: New CGN3ACSMR Modem, not compatible with League of Legends?

Thats very unusual.  Normally Firmware version 4.5.8.16 for the CGN3ACSMR has positive effects on gaming, VOIP devices, VPNs and other latency intolerant applications.  Are you gaming via wired or wireless connection?  If you are using wireless, is it via 2.4 Ghz or 5 Ghz network? 

 

When you have time can you:

 

1.  Bring up a command prompt and ping the router.  Type in: 

 

ping 192.168.0.1         if you have a direct connection to the modem,

 

ping 192.168.100.1    if you have the modem in Bridge mode and router connected, or if you have a direct connection to the

                                       modem

 

Please copy the results and paste them into this thread.  To copy the ping results, right click at the top bar of the command prompt, Select Edit....Select all.  Then right click again, Select Edit.....Copy.  Then you can paste the results into this thread. 

 

 

2.  Can you log into the modem and navigate to STATUS.... DOCSIS WAN.  Copy the downstream and upstream tables and paste them into this thread.  Those are the cable signal levels and signal to noise ratios which might be worth looking at.

 

With that data, hopefully we can determine where the problem might be.



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 8

Re: New CGN3ACSMR Modem, not compatible with League of Legends?

Pinging 192.168.100.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=63

Ping statistics for 192.168.100.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 5ms, Average = 2ms

 

ownstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1597000000256QAM5.6007440.366
2591000000256QAM5.5007340.366
3603000000256QAM5.3007540.366
4609000000256QAM5.8007640.366
5615000000256QAM5.6007740.366
6621000000256QAM5.5007840.366
7633000000256QAM5.3007940.366
8639000000256QAM5.2008040.366
9645000000256QAM6.1008140.366
10651000000256QAM6.0008240.946
11657000000256QAM5.9008340.946
12663000000256QAM6.3008440.366
13669000000256QAM6.3008540.366
14675000000256QAM6.2008640.366
15681000000256QAM3.7008738.983
16687000000256QAM3.1008838.983
17693000000256QAM2.1008938.983
18699000000256QAM2.0009038.983
19705000000256QAM1.3009138.605
20711000000256QAM1.0009237.636
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandWidth
130596000ATDMA - 16QAM34.50026400000
223700000ATDMA - 16QAM34.75036400000
338596000ATDMA - 16QAM34.75013200000

 

 I'm wired through a router and I get slower speeds then when I plug directly into the modem, could the speed issue be my router?

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 8

Re: New CGN3ACSMR Modem, not compatible with League of Legends?

Oh and the ping increase isn't much, usually from 72 to around 81 but it causes my actions to freeze. According to logsoflag.com I'm getting a lot of packet loss: http://logsoflag.com/#xfmxfNd4bXu

 

 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,052

Re: New CGN3ACSMR Modem, not compatible with League of Legends?

What router do you have?  It may be a case of the router configuration.  If you're on a plan that is over 100 Mb/s, you won't be able to use functions such as QOS, Traffic Monitoring and a few others, unless you are running a high end router.  Those functions use up processor time as they process the data for the selected functions.  The end result is that the time that it takes to process the data causes the througput to drop.  I would suggest kicking modem back into Gateway mode, connecting directly to it and then run an experiment to see how the game performes.  You can do that, or you can just connect directly to the modem with the pc or laptop.  The modem, in bridge mode should issue a second IP address to that device.  Just remember that you are relying on the firewall of the pc or laptop to protect it.  That configuration might be fine for a quick test but I don't recommend running it for any length of time without a modem or router firewall, personal perference.   You can log into the modem through the router by using the 192.168.100.1 address.  That will allow you to set the modem back into Gateway mode if that is what you would like to do.  Once in Gateway mode, connect directly to the modem, run a test, and then return to Bridge mode if you prefer.  The only thing that you have to is temporarly turn off the router to avoid any IP conflicts and connect the pc or laptop to the modem. When complete, start the change back to bridge mode for the modem by logging into 182.168.0.1, disconnect the pc or laptop and connect it back to the router and turn the router back one.

 

So, the questions so far:

 

1.  What plan are you on:  30/5, 60/10, 100/10, 250/20  Mb/s  Down / Up ?

2.  What router do you have?

3.  Are you using any functions such as QOS, Traffic Monitoring, or others that could potentially chew through processor time.

     If so, try turning those off and see if there is any difference.

4.  Can you run another slightly longer ping test with the current configuration using the following:   ping 192.168.100.1 -n 20

5.  If you try a direct connection to the modem, can you run the same ping test just to see the diffference:  ping 192.168.100.1 -n 20

6.  With a direct connection, can you run a speedtest at http://speedcheck.rogers.com/en.html or www.speedtest.net using

     the Toronto Telus Server and post the results?  Your downstream signal levels are higher than normal, so I would like to

     see if there is any effect on the data rates.

7.  Are you in a house, condo, apartment, highrise, etc.?



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 8

Re: New CGN3ACSMR Modem, not compatible with League of Legends?

I've had it plugged into the modem directly before while playing and the packet loss is the same.

 

1. 100/10

2. Belkin F5D8233-4, it's pretty old

3. I don't think so, I can't find those in the settings.

4. 

Pinging 192.168.100.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=63

Ping statistics for 192.168.100.1:
Packets: Sent = 20, Received = 20, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 7ms, Average = 1ms

 

5.

Pinging 192.168.100.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=63

Ping statistics for 192.168.100.1:
Packets: Sent = 20, Received = 20, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 11ms, Average = 1ms

 

6. I get 130/10 through modem and 65/10 through router

7. House

 

 

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 8

Re: New CGN3ACSMR Modem, not compatible with League of Legends?

Hmm was my post deleted?

 

1. 100/10

2. Belkin F5D8233-4

3. I don't think so, can't find those settings

4. 

Pinging 192.168.100.1 with 32 bytes of data
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63

Ping statistics for 192.168.100.1:
Packets: Sent = 20, Received = 20, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 10ms, Average = 1ms

 

5. When I tested it was mostly 1ms and one 11ms

6. 130/10 through modem and 65/10 through router

7. House

 

I've played with it directly connected to the modem and the packet loss is still bad

Retired Moderator RogersAsif
Retired Moderator
Posts: 700

Re: New CGN3ACSMR Modem, not compatible with League of Legends?

Hi @gail1

 

I don't see any of your posts being removed by the moderation team. You can view all your posts under "Latest Posts" by visiting your profile. To do so, select your profile icon in the top right corner and select profile.

 

RogersAsif

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,052

Re: New CGN3ACSMR Modem, not compatible with League of Legends?

Hi @gail1  The router that you are using is a fairly old router.  Personal opinion I'd say that its time to look for a newer router.  There is a review out for it, dated March 2008, which puts the design and manufacture back to the 2007 timeframe.  The specs for it indicate that it has "Ports 4-10/100Base-T auto-sensing and auto-uplink RJ45 ports, LAN 1-10/100Base-T RJ45 port, WAN".  All of those ports are either 10 Mb/s or 100 Mb/s.  The Hitron has 10/100/1000 Mb/s ports, so running up to 1000 Mb/s.  You can see from your speedtest results that the router is throttling your wired throughput.  You're seeing 65/10 through the router versus 130/10 through the modem on its own.  That might also be a matter of how the router is connected and set to run.  Are you using the router as a wifi access point only, or using it as your main router?  Along with that, how is the modem set to operate, as a modem/router (Gateway mode), or as a modem only (Bridge mode)?  There are different configurations to use depending on what you want to do.  I have an old D-Link DIR-655 that I used as a wifi access point not so very long ago, connected through one of the LAN ports not the WAN port, but testing via one of the other ports would give me 328 Mb/s down, 22 Mb/s up on a 250/20 plan.  It would only do something like 50 Mb/s wifi, but the wired speeds were good. 

Your router is listed as an 802.11 Draft N wifi product.  That spec was out in 2003 and lasted until Sept of 2009 when the 802.11n was finally approved.  Even with a firmware update, the question is, was the firmware updated beyond Draft N?  Thats a question to ask Belkin.  It might be worth checking to see if there is an update for your router, not only for the Draft N / versus full N spec issue, but also due to security issues that have arisen over the last two years that have caused router companies to revisit their products and produce security updates.  My personal opinion is that the router is long in the tooth so to speak, and its time to look for a replacement.

Your ping test to the modem looks normal for an updated CGN3ACSMR.  Good but not perfect as is seen by the occasional double digit ping time.  

The packet loss can be a difficult issue to determine.  The question is, is this a local problem, in Canada, or is this something that is related to routing through the U.S. and seeing the trace and ping tests fail enroute.  What game are you playing and do you have port forwarding set up in the modem or router for that game?  This relates back to the issue of how the modem and router are connected and set to run.  If you can provide an outline of your network and what game you are playing, we can hopefully connect some of the dots.  Can you also include some detail on what you are playing on, desktop, laptop, console?