Latency Issues with Hitron CGN3

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 15

Re: Latency Issues with Hitron CGN3

The problems are finally resolved... it took a couple of weeks and multipule phone calls / chats but things are looking up! Apparently they replaced a "Riser" on a pole somewhere yesterday (actually looks like 2am according to my ping plotter chart). The latency and packet loss are now under control.

 

Rogers fixed.png

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 7,005

Re: Latency Issues with Hitron CGN3

Interesting to see the difference, from before to after the replacement.  Can you run a plot to the third line IP address, 99.239.112.1 and post that just to see what the modem to CMTS path looks like?

 

Because your modem is connected to a Casa Systems CMTS, I would expect to see high random ping times without any packet loss.  I would be interested to see how your plot would compare to my plots which can be seen in the first two to three rows of images in my image library.

 

http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/media/gallerypage/user-id/829158

 



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 15

Re: Latency Issues with Hitron CGN3

As requested, here is a plot over the past 12 hours.

 

2016-08-24 Pinging CMTS.png

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Latency Issues with Hitron CGN3

Hey everyone, recently became very frustrated with the spat of disconnects I get while playing Blizzard games (Diablo III, Heroes of the Storm, Overwatch) and went into a diagnostics spree with Blizzard support to try and figure out what the issue was. Tracert, WinMTR, Looking-glass, everything was ran. It's been pinpointed by blizz that there's a hop at around 8-10 from my MTR and Tracert that's causing extreme latency, at about 4-6 instances reaching 300ms+. Apparently it's hosted by "Tata" communications, one of Rogers' backbone connection hosts into the American side of things, but talking to multiple support agents sported the same "It's not in Rogers network it's not our problem" script being spat at me, even by a level 2 technician. I was even told to try and contact Tata myself for the issue, as if a customer of someone renting their lines has any more say than they would.

 

In any case, is anyone else experiencing these issues frequently? Does anyone have a workaround? Is Rogers just being lazy and passing the buck to get out of doing actual engineering work like establishing a proper peer with one of the nodes their renting?

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 7,005

Re: Latency Issues with Hitron CGN3

@MKBD, there have been latency jumps in the past between the final Rogers server and Tata's network, and I have brought that up in the past.  tonight, looking at that Rogers - Tata interconnect, it actually looks pretty reasonable, running with a 1 to 2 ms gap from one to the other.  The problem tonight is on the Tata side of the house, between 64.86.33.5 and 64.86.33.26.  There is a 19 ms jump, in the last average column, from 21.6 ms on the first server to 40.5 on the second server.  This is from pingplotter.  So, that's rather interesting as previously Tata has apparently indicated to another gamer that there wasn't any problems with its internal network, ie: any problems aren't ours.  Well, tonight, it's their  problem.   The best advice I can give you is to chase down a point of contact for Tata's network in Canada and tell them to resolve the problem. 

 

Here's a trace to easo.ea.com (Electronic Arts), running from Rogers, thru Tata and finally down to Electronic Arts.  Have a look at the time for Hop 7 and 8:

 

Target Name: easo.ea.com
         IP: 159.153.234.54
  Date/Time: 10/3/2016 10:46:48 PM - 10/3/2016 10:56:48 PM

Hop  Sent  PL%    Min     Max    Avg  Host Name / [IP]
  1        18    0        0.19    0.44   0.29  10.0.0.1 [10.0.0.1]
  2        18    0        9.36   32.86  14.47  99.239.32.1 [99.239.32.1]
  3        18    0        9.43   19.30  13.12  67.231.221.77 [67.231.221.77]
  4        18    0     10.74   37.48  16.54  van58-9-231-77.dynamic.rogerstelecom.net [209.148.231.77]
  5        18    0     16.11   35.26  23.05  van58-9-229-229.dynamic.rogerstelecom.net [209.148.229.229]
  6        18    0     15.40   27.00  19.94  209.148.224.254 [209.148.224.254]
  7        18    0     15.50   32.22  21.55  ix-ae-13-0.tcore1.TNK-Toronto.as6453.net [64.86.33.5]
  8        18    0     32.47   50.37  40.48  if-ae-9-9.tcore1.TTT-Toronto.as6453.net [64.86.33.26]
  9        18    0     35.57  103.10  44.14  if-ae-10-2.tcore2.TTT-Toronto.as6453.net [64.86.32.34]
 10       18    0     35.02   64.94  41.77  64.86.85.2 [64.86.85.2]
 11       18    0     34.95   59.84  41.64  66.198.154.66 [66.198.154.66]
 12       18    0     34.13   87.04  43.78  unknown.prolexic.com [209.200.144.194]
 13       18    0     36.03   99.19  51.22  unknown.prolexic.com [209.200.144.197]
 14       18    0     36.34   48.19  41.09  unknown.prolexic.com [209.200.168.132]
 15       18    6     31.71   51.19  40.42  159.153.93.2 [159.153.93.2]
 16       18    6     35.50   51.47  39.35  159.153.225.30 [159.153.225.30]
 17       18    0     36.96   57.75  42.31  meav5-pub.pt.iad.ea.com [159.153.226.105]
 18       18    0     34.46   54.27  39.78  easo.ea.com [159.153.234.54]

 

Here's the whois for hop #8 as a starting point for Tata Communications.

 

https://whois.arin.net/rest/net/NET-64-86-33-0-1/pft?s=64.86.33.26

 



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Latency Issues with Hitron CGN3

You repate the same idea of a solution to everyone,even myself. I did the test and your reply was, "The speeds seem to look okay and the Pings are running ok, so I think the problem is ion your system". Well guesws what,the problem was nnot in my system but it was the modem was malfunctioning and had a short in it that it was sendin power back to the plug and it burnt itself out on the inside.So maybe you might get the people to preform a power test on the modems power cable first.

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Latency Issues with Hitron CGN3

So after two weeks of trying to get something to fix this issue with no success, neither Rogers nor Tata replying or being of ANY assistance what-so-ever other than the patented Rogers "It's not our network its your problem", I guess I'm left with only two options to try and resolve this. Either use a VPN to see if transferring via another node will resolve the disconnects, or quit rogers. What do you think?

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Latency Issues with Hitron CGN3

Hi all,

 

I'm currently on the old 350GB Hybrid Fibre 150 plan using the Hitron CGN3 (firmware v4.2.4.7) modem. For the past few months, I've noticed some severe latency spikes as it becomes really apparent during my online gaming sessions (especially during evening peak hours).

 

Things suggested by Rogers tech support so far and have done:

 

-Multiple on-site techs diagnosing the problem (even a senior tech was sent one time)

-Replaced splitters and jacks in the house

-Replaced multiple modems from a Rogers store

 

None of the above has fixed the issue. I've lost count how many times I've contacted Rogers support and everytime they tell me to do the same routine of restarting the modem and telling me they don't see any signal issues from their end.

 

I've done some digging around this community board and there seem to be some similar issues, but it wasn't very clear how the Rogers customer service reps were convinced to further investigate the issue. What proof / evidence do I need to provide for them to take me seriously instead of just telling me they'll write a note in my account?

 

As seen in other posts on this board, here's the ping plotter screen shot collected over a 10 minute duration (if this even matters at all at this point ...)

 

Highlighted
I'm an Enthusiast
Posts: 954

Re: Latency Issues with Hitron CGN3

Still getting high pings and packet loss when pinging easo.ea.com it's been over a year with this same issue with nothing being resolved what I'm confused is when friends on bell when doing a pingplotter test they get less latency and no packet loss so why only Rogers ? Is it the route Rogers takes to easo.ea.com ?
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 7,005

Re: Latency Issues with Hitron CGN3

Ok, in a nutshell, there is nothing that tech support or the field techs can do.  Trust me, this is being taken seriously, and has been for many months.  The engineering staff, specifically @RogersDave have been working on this since mid-2016, following my complaints of the exact same issue.  The cause of the latency is the packet processing thru a software based CPU process instead of hardware processor based which the chipset can do. This problem is common to all Intel Puma 6 and Puma 6 Media Gateway (6MG) modems used worldwide.  The Hitron CGN3xxxx and CGNM-3552 modems are all Puma 6MG modems.  Progress was made on this issue for the CGN3ACSMR modems last year to resolve the IPV4 ICMP (ping) processing.  To read more on this see the following post:

 

http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/forums/forumtopicpage/board-id/Getting_connected/message-id/369...

 

At the present time, the Puma 6/6MG modem world is waiting for Intel and Arris to resolve the remaining protocols:  IPV6 ICMP, IPV4 & IPV6 TCP/IP and UDP.  If and when that is done, then the change files that come out of that endeavour can be forwarded to all of the other manufacturers.  At the present time, publicly, Intel and Arris are silent on this issue.  

 

For additional reading on the subject I refer you to the following threads.  The last thread is the current discussion thread:

 

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r31079834-ALL-SB6190-is-a-terrible-modem-Intel-Puma-6-MaxLinear-mist...

 

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r31122204-SB6190-Puma6-TCP-UDP-Network-Latency-Issue-Discussion

 

So, what can you do at the present time.  If you're on an unlimited plan, you could move up to the CODA-4582 which is a new Puma 7 modem.  Its not perfect as you can see if you peruse the forum, but, in terms of the latency that you see with a Puma 6 modem, that doesn't exist on this new modem.  Its not perfect, but it is improved in terms of latency thru the modem.  I'm sure there will be more discussions on this when I start posting a few ping plots for comparison purposes.  

 

You could also consider moving up to the CGN3ACSMR and firmware version 4.5.8.27, it just depends on your current internet plan.  That firmware version does reduce the IPV4 ICMP, but does nothing for any other protocol such as UDP which is used for gaming and DNS lookups.  

 

To get a better view of this problem, don't use google.  Use the second IP address in the trace which is the CMTS address, 2607:f798:804:179::1 as your target address and reduce the interval to 0.5 seconds.  Also, right click on the column title bar, select MAX to display the MAX ping column, and drag that column to the right to place it somewhere near the MIN column so that you can see the MAX times at a glance. 

 

Can you also delete your image as it contains your modem's IPV6 IP address.  I would prefer that modem MAC and IP addresses remain out of public forums for the users online protection.  IPV4 plots aren't an issue as they only show the LAN internal address which is not accessible from the outside, IPV6 plots are an issue as it shows the modem's IPV6 IP address.