Internet speeds

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Rogers Employee lockdown2341
Rogers Employee
Posts: 357

Re: Internet speeds

@hiho No need to be rude. You asked a question and I gave you an answer, and also a suggestion. I would have no idea what sort of modem you had. I also didn't insinuate at all you were the only one with a problem, and have been keeping up with this thread regarding internet issues. I also speak to customers on a daily basis who have various issues with their service for one reason or another.

 

And yes, I do realize it was recommended that you go with a bridged modem and get your own router. But that isn't what you asked.

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 245

Re: Internet speeds

as i stated in my previous message

 

 

k so after reading a whole mess of posts [statement]the only way i am going to get my wifi to reach my tablet 20 feet from my basement to my above ground patio[ and no moving the router to the main floor is not an option since my computer room is in the basement] is that i need to purchase at my own expensie a router then bridge the rogers wifi/modem so it dosnt handle the wifi anymore and use the newly purchassed $100.00 router so that i can get the connection for my wifi that rogers is charging me for and i have never really been able to use. :-(

Now that really is something,[question] why cant rogers supply the proper equipment for us peeps instead of going through all the hassels of spending more monies, and doing the bridge thing?

 
so i am not sure where you did answer my question as asked above after my statement
Rogers Employee lockdown2341
Rogers Employee
Posts: 357

Re: Internet speeds


why cant rogers supply the proper equipment for us peeps instead of going through all the hassels of spending more monies, and doing the bridge thing?


The modem is supposed to be all the equipment you need. If your home setup requires you to use something other then the modem that's not the fault of the company.
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 245

Re: Internet speeds

DANG that was the answer boy was that ever helpful and informitive and here i thought you were just passing the buck on to someone else other than rogers not being able to supply what cx need.

Guess there is no point in me trying to ask what the average range of the rogers modems are for the wifi since i can tell by mine its got to be less then 20ft.

Rogers Employee lockdown2341
Rogers Employee
Posts: 357

Re: Internet speeds

@hiho Hey I just answered part of what you were asking, that's all. I don't know much else about the technical stuff so I answered what I could. Sadly I'm not very technically savvy when it comes to hooking up internet so I wasn't able to help you with anything else you were asking. One of the resident experts should be able to though. They are a lot more knowledgable regarding this stuff then I would be.

Retired Moderator RogersHassam
Retired Moderator
Posts: 571

Re: Internet speeds

Hello @hiho,

 

I'll add my 2 cents here. I have multiple smart televisions in my home on all three levels including the basement as we do alot of gaming (multiple consoles hooked up which use internet). I have never used one router regardless of what ISP I have ever used to get WiFi throughout the house. I've always bought a second router and bridged it to get solid connections upstairs and downstairs. There are multiple things that can prevent you from getting proper Wifi signals; the type of wall and ceiling construction, objects in the room and interference from many other electronic items that could be in your home or a close neighbors. The fact that you are not getting desired wireless signals at different storeys in your home does not always mean your ISP's equipment is faulty. 

 

I thought I'd share this article with you here. Check it out, it's quite informative. 

 

Thanks, 

RogersHassam 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 245

Re: Internet speeds

thanks for the read :-)  one thing still puzzles me is after reading why does a cx who purchasses a router and bridge the rogers one that they get better wifi? than just using the rogers modem. since from most of the posts here that peeps have the problem is that the only soulution that seems to wrk is purchassing a seperate router.

 

only one level house with basement and can only get 20ft with rogers modem and that is streaching it i have tried moving the rogers modem to the main floor of my 35yr home with the same results...so the issue about location locatation dosnt really seem to make that much diffrence still cant get wifi to my backyard unlike my neighbor who took the forums advice spent $100.00 on a seperate router which is in the basement of his house and his wifi now reaches to over 75FT from the router, if i go to far in my yard with my tablet i can access his wifi but no way can i access mine with rogers hardware...o and forgot to mention there is someone else in my area that has bell wifi that i can access if i had the pwd :-) on my deck and in my basement...

 

So in a nutshell i am still puzzled as to why that a cx  has to purchase a router that most of the times is the suggestion by the forums in order to get the wifi where we want it and not to be able to just use the rogers modem?

 

o well on another mini rant still waiting for my repair which in a few days  Nov 1 ill have been waiting for 14 mnts just to get my internet to wrk anywhere close to what i am paying for  250/20

Sample of my http://www.speedtest.net  results for the last few days and this is typical of what i have seen for the last 14months so who knows maybe next month will be the month that maybe things get fixed as promised and supposedly is being wrkd on according to the Office of the pres.... as yu can see by privious posts by me this is not an inhouse issue its a tap back problem apprently 21modems pssibly 22 on the same node.

 

 

6:29 PM EDT 256.07 Mb/s 9.62 Mb/s 9 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi
10:54 AM EDT 89.87 Mb/s 21.47 Mb/s 39 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi
8:26 AM EDT 6.23 Mb/s 0.74 Mb/s 52 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi
10:20 PM EDT 3.49 Mb/s 1.67 Mb/s 135 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi
4:44 PM EDT 24.15 Mb/s 4.72 Mb/s 66 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi
4:43 PM EDT 2.02 Mb/s 0.71 Mb/s 41 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi
1:51 PM EDT 34.13 Mb/s 14.37 Mb/s 86 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi
1:19 PM EDT 8.90 Mb/s 0.83 Mb/s 129 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi
1:01 PM EDT 17.38 Mb/s 15.21 Mb/s 113 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi
9:39 AM EDT 47.43 Mb/s 21.64 Mb/s 48 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi
7:31 AM EDT 34.96 Mb/s 7.45 Mb/s 45 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi
7:26 AM EDT 4.85 Mb/s 1.04 Mb/s 43 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi
1:04 AM EDT 17.69 Mb/s 9.30 Mb/s 129 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi
3:40 PM EDT 3.07 Mb/s 0.46 Mb/s 50 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi
3:34 PM EDT 0.35 Mb/s 0.33 Mb/s 38 ms Toronto, ON ~ 50 mi

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 245

Re: Internet speeds

 had some wrk done that i have been waiting a yr for and been told all that can be done has been done, so what i am wondering is do i need to start the whole in house tech thing again because i didnt notice that anything was fixed supposedly a week or so ago and still seem to  have the same problems ?
 
 

 

1. dirict to modem

 

2.  

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Signal noise ratio (dB) Channel ID
1 621000000 256QAM 2.000 36.387 6
2 591000000 256QAM 3.500 37.636 1
3 597000000 256QAM 3.100 37.356 2
4 603000000 256QAM 6.200 37.356 3
5 609000000 256QAM 8.300 38.605 4
6 615000000 256QAM 7.300 38.605 5
7 633000000 256QAM -3.800 35.780 7
8 639000000 256QAM -3.600 35.780 8
9 645000000 256QAM -3.600 35.780 9
10 651000000 256QAM -5.300 34.926 10
11 657000000 256QAM -4.600 34.926 11
12 663000000 256QAM -1.700 36.610 12
13 669000000 256QAM 2.500 36.387 37
14 675000000 256QAM 6.900 38.605 38
15 681000000 256QAM 6.100 38.605 39
16 687000000 256QAM 4.400 37.636 40
17 693000000 256QAM 2.100 37.356 41
18 699000000 256QAM 2.700 37.636 42
19 705000000 256QAM 2.400 37.356 43
20 711000000 256QAM 0.000 36.610 44
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) BandWidth Modulation Type Signal Strength (dBmV) Channel ID
1 38596000 3200000 ATDMA 42.750 1
2 23700000 6400000 ATDMA 41.250 3
3 30596000 6400000 ATDMA 42.750 2
 
NOV 6 2015  AFTER THE REPAIR WAS FINALY DONE SUPPOSEDLY OCTOBER 23 2015
 
Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 597000000 256QAM 3.300 2 38.605
2 591000000 256QAM 3.100 1 38.605
3 603000000 256QAM 3.100 3 38.605
4 609000000 256QAM 3.500 4 38.605
5 615000000 256QAM 2.100 5 37.636
6 621000000 256QAM -0.600 6 37.356
7 633000000 256QAM -6.000 7 35.595
8 639000000 256QAM -6.100 8 35.084
9 645000000 256QAM -5.500 9 35.595
10 651000000 256QAM -5.300 10 35.595
11 657000000 256QAM -4.300 11 35.595
12 663000000 256QAM -3.400 12 35.780
13 669000000 256QAM -1.900 37 35.780
14 675000000 256QAM -0.400 38 36.610
15 681000000 256QAM -1.000 39 36.387
16 687000000 256QAM -1.700 40 35.595
17 693000000 256QAM -2.800 41 35.780
18 699000000 256QAM -3.700 42 35.595
19 705000000 256QAM -4.500 43 35.595
20 711000000 256QAM -5.400 44 34.926
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID BandWidth
1 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 36.000 1 3200000
2 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 32.500 3 6400000
3 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 34.500 2 6400000
 
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,049

Re: Internet speeds

Ugg, still looking ugly.  There's a 9.6 dBmV spread in the downstream channels.  Normally you should see two, maybe three dBmV spread, top to bottom.  The upstream levels are low as well.  Did the tech check the levels at the modem, or where the cable enters the home?  I'd be interested in what those levels are like right at the cable entry point to either rule out any issues with the house cabling, or determine that you might have cabling issues in the home.  Can you indicate how the cable gets from the entry point to where the modem is sitting?  Is that house RG-6 cabling or was the cable installed by an ISP tech at some point?



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 245

Re: Internet speeds

:-)

i will refer you to the org posts that i have done here andnow that has supposedly been fixed should answer all  your questions as to what has hasnt been done tried and the time frame for it all

http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/forums/forumtopicpage/board-id/Getting_connected/thread-id/2428...

 

i have started this new one..since the maintence crew had completed the wrk oct 23/15 which i just found out today after getting you all involved to light a fire under ofp to give me an update..

 

i am assuming now that this wrk has been done i need to schdule an in house visit since one wasnt preformed yet since this reapair..which i thought they would have contacted me back in oct to do ..