Internet Keeps Dropping

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

Hi RogersTony,

 

Thanks very much for the response! I have run a WiFi scan using a couple of different applications. I'm not an expert, but I'm not seeing anything that makes me think there's congestion happening.

 

It's a weird situation, as we have maybe 5-7 devices on our home wifi at any given time, but only a couple have the issue where wifi gets dropped. The main concern is with our desktop computer. Both the computer and the modem / router are in our basement, about ~20 feet from each other. So I can't imagine there would be a lot of interference. But numerous times a day, the wifi will simply drop (sometimes the computer is in use, sometimes not) and I have to manually disconnect. I recently tried splitting our 2.4 and 5.0 networks and connecting different devices to each as appropriate, as opposed to letting the router figure it out. It seems better - maybe? - but I've still seen drops on the desktop since then. The weirdest part is, we have 3 other laptops that are constantly connected - our work computers - and they never have any issues. But the desktop constantly does. Therefore, I'm assuming the issue is on the computer rather than on the router or network, but I'm not sure what I can do to investigate or fix it.

 

Any help appreciated, thanks!
Craig

 
 
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,788

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

Hello, @Crwills.

 

I appreciate running the WiFi scan; what was the signal strength where the devices are dropping the connection?

 

What's the model of the modem you have? For optimal WiFi performance, the modem should be in standing/vertical position at least one meter above the floor and should have enough clearance around it.  

 

Is the desktop computer connecting to the 5G network? Are you using an external WiFi adapter? Is there any firmware update pending on it? You can also try switching it to the 2.4GHz network or vice-versa to see if the connection remains stable. 

 

Cheers,
RogersMoin

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,829

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

@dlee1919 I haven't forgotten about you.  I was chatting with @RogersAndy last night regarding the OFDM data, but I need to consult with @RogersIan about some of the data.  

 

Regarding your wife's laptop, does it have an ethernet port that would allow a direct connection to the modem?



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 10

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

Hi,

Yes, my wife's laptop does have have an ethernet port so I can wrestle it away from her if need be.

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,829

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

@dlee1919 here's what you can do, assuming that you win the wrestling match 🙂

 

At bed time, connect the laptop to the modem and bring up a command prompt.  Run a trace to anywhere, it doesn't matter where:

 

tracert www.google.ca        (for example)

 

When that is complete, run a ping test to the Cable Modem Termination System (CMTS).  With the modem in Gateway mode, the first IP address in the trace is the modem, the second IP address is the CMTS.  Ping the CMTS (hop #2).  

 

ping -t xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx        (where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is that 2nd hop IP address) 

 

ping -t will run a ping test until you terminate it.  So, let that run overnight.  To terminate the test, use Ctrl +c ( simultaneous Ctrl c) keys.  That will terminate the test and display the results.  Copy the command box data so that you can post the results.  To do that, right click on the command box title bar at the top.  Select Edit .... Select All.  Right click again, select Edit .... Copy.  Paste that into a text editor and then copy the bottom results and paste that into a post.  

 

That will quantify the packet losses to the CMTS.  

 

The path to the CMTS is as follows:

 

1.  Modem to cable ingress splitter or amp  (a splitter or amp  will be present if you have more than one Rogers service running)

 

2.  Splitter to external demarcation point (something like this which shows fibre instead of cable:  https://www.gomultilink.com/categories/demarcation-enclosures/custom-enclosure)

 

3.  Demarcation point to local tap (pedestal or utility pole)

 

4.  Local tap to neighbourhood node

 

5.  Neighbourhood node to CMTS 

 

From modem to local tap, this is RG-6 cable.

From local tap to neighbourhood node, this is hard cable

From neighbourhood node to CMTS is fibre optic.

 

Normally if there is an issue, that issue is with the external cable run from the external demarcation point to the local tap.  This is usually resolved by replacing the external cable and/or its connectors.  The external cable and its connectors don't last forever and have to be replaced every few years.  That might be a couple of year, it might be 15 years or more, don't know what the real average happens to be.  So, replacing that cable and its connectors is fairly routine.  There is always the possibility of problems further upstream, starting at the local tap (pedestal or utility pole) or further beyond.  If for example the external cable was replaced completely and the issues persisted, that points to issues further upstream.  

 

So, the first step is to quantify the losses that might be occurring, which should be done via ethernet cable to the modem.  



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 10

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

Hi,

 

The tracert is no problem, but I don't understand what IP address I'm then supposed to be pinging. I get this result:

 

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
(c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Amberly>tracert www.tsn.ca

Tracing route to e17165.dsca.akamaiedge.net [2600:140a:0:594::430d]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms hitronhub.home [2607:fea8:2960:52:6677:7dff:fe61
:aef2]
2 28 ms 12 ms 11 ms 2607:f798:804:196::1
3 19 ms 7 ms 21 ms 2607:f798:10:3087:0:661:8508:9117
4 13 ms 13 ms 12 ms 2607:f798:10:2a2:0:2091:4823:169
5 11 ms 21 ms 12 ms 2607:f798:10:35c:0:2091:4823:5222
6 14 ms 22 ms 12 ms 2607:f798:14:8::1
7 83 ms 125 ms 38 ms ae2.torix-yto.netarch.akamai.com [2600:1488:b000
:103::b]
8 13 ms 16 ms 12 ms g2600-140a-0000-0594-0000-0000-0000-430d.deploy.
static.akamaitechnologies.com [2600:140a:0:594::430d]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Amberly>

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,829

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

@dlee1919 sorry to get back to you so late.  

 

You can ping the CMTS using the IPV6 address as indicated on the 2nd hop of the trace.  The command would be:

 

ping -n 3600 2607:f798:804:196::1

 

A simpler way to do this would be to run an IPV4 trace first which would look like this:

 

tracert -4 www.google.ca

 

That will produce the traditional IPV4 addresses which is easier to enter.  Same idea here, the first hop is the modems internal address, the second hop is the CMTS, which is the target for the ping command:

 

ping -n 3600 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx     where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is the IP address from the 2nd hop.



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

Thornhill woods area, internet is broken since Dec 31st. 

Called Rogers 2 times and changed modem but still BROKEN.

From tier 1 to 2 technologist just didnt help. We have to reboot the modem 20 times a day if we are home, if it is an unfixable issue please just tell me this time then I can change my internet to bell, there is no point that endure trash internet service and still pay the bill every month.

 

 

 

***Edited Labels***

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,829

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

@YbTL unfortunately this is a user to user forum.  From your description and previous posts, you need further assistance, well beyond this forum.  Although one shouldn't have to complain to the Office of the President to see any action on a technical problem, let me refer you to the following thread:

 

https://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/Internet/Intermittent-disconnects-CODA-4582U/m-p/463419#M61718

 

You could, if you have the time and patience, send a message to the moderators requesting assistance.  They can arrange for Senior Techs (real Rogers techs) to look into the issues.  To do that, follow this link @CommunityHelps to their public page.  Follow the link to "Send this user a private message" to navigate to the message composition page.  Fill in the subject title, the details of the issue and your account number so that the moderators can find the account and home location.  You should see an email message when a response has been sent thru the forum message system.  To see the message, when you're logged into the forum, look for a number overlaying the avatar at the upper right hand corner of the page.  Follow that avatar, it serves as a link to your profile and message boxes.  Follow the links down to your message inbox for the response.  

 

Out of curiosity, what modem are you using, a black Hitron modem, where the CGN3xxxxx model is seen on the product sticker on the back of the modem, or the white Hitron CODA-4582?  There is only one white modem in use at the present time by Rogers.  If you're running the new Ignite TV system, you would have one of the XB6 modems.  The model can be found on the bottom of the modem.  It will either be an ARRIS TG-3482ER or a Technicolor CGM-4140COM. 



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 8

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

Im sure this has been answered somewhere but figured this would be easier for me.
Not knowing networks very well your advice is greatly appreciated. I currently have the 300u pkg using the hitron gig modem.. i would have thought the wifi would work well but find i can not even use zoom video and audio at the same time.. or even whatsapp video freezes and is choppy. Question is.. would it be recommended to connect a NETGEAR Nighthawk Wireless AC2100 Dual-Band Gigabit Wi-Fi 5 Router (R7200-100CNS) to the hitron and connect wirelessly to the new router for stability? Seems when i have the flakey wireless i go do the home test and it appears fine. But really is it?
Thanks in advance for you response.