Internet Keeps Dropping

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,369

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping


@Natto wrote:

The tech didn't ask me to check anything in the house. He assessed the connections outside.  Only mentioned he believes it's a problem with the node.  I have 2 cable outlets in the house, when I had problems with internet, neither of the TV boxes were detectable by Roger support either, so more likely to be something outside?   There's a splitter where the modem connects to the incoming cable. I am going to bypass that to see if there's a diff.


I don't even want to guess as to what the problem could be.  If the tech said that your signal levels were poor outside of the home, there's not much that you can do other than to make the best of things until Rogers crews fix the problems in your area.  (I presume that the tech tried to find the best available tap for you on your local pedestal.)

 

The most important thing to know is what the signal levels are like at the point that they enter your home.  From that point, every coax cable/splitter/coupler introduces loss and another potential problem.  If I were you, I would connect the incoming Rogers feed from the street directly to the cable modem and take everything else out of the picture.

 

Your Downstream Signal strength should (ideally) be between -7 and +7 dBmV and the SNR (signal to noise ratio) should be 38 dB or higher.

Your Upstream Signal strength should be around 40 dBmV.  Over 50 dBmV is concerning and needs to be investigated.  52 dBmV is the theoretical max and is considered a failure.

 

If you get good signal levels with your modem directly connected to the incoming feed, then you have problems inside your home.

 

Since you are also feeding cable boxes through conventional splitters, you would actually want to see downstream power levels that are higher than normal.  If they are just okay, then keep in mind that everything else on the signal path to the wall outlets will degrade the signal.

 

Also, if you have any coax runs with nothing connected to them, they must be disconnected from the splitter... and ideally you should have terminator caps connected to any empty splitter ports.  Every splitter along the path will also introduce at least a 3.5 dB signal loss.  If the signal coming into your home is just barely acceptable, then you would probably also want to use a "0 gain" powered splitter to feed the coax runs to your wall outlets.



Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

@-G- 

Thank you so much for your detailed explanation!

 

just took out the splitter and looked at DOCSISWAN again, better but only marginally?  Did speed test, and not much different from previous results.  And, now I have just received a whole bunch of error messages on DOCSIS log (see further below). What do those errors mean?  And the time stamp is also off by 1 hour?

 

DOCSIS WAN

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000QAM2560.700737.636
2597000000QAM2560.200837.355
3603000000QAM2560.799937.636
4579000000QAM2560.599537.636
5585000000QAM2560.799637.636
6279000000QAM2560.099138.605
7609000000QAM2560.5991037.636
8615000000QAM2560.7001138.605
9621000000QAM2560.7001237.355
10633000000QAM2561.5991338.605
11639000000QAM2561.4001438.605
12645000000QAM2561.7001537.355
13651000000QAM2561.5991638.605
14657000000QAM2561.0001737.636
15663000000QAM2561.5001838.605
16669000000QAM2560.7991937.636
17675000000QAM2560.0992037.636
18681000000QAM2560.4002137.636
19687000000QAM256-0.0992237.636
20693000000QAM2560.2002337.636
21699000000QAM2560.5002437.636
22705000000QAM2560.2992537.636
23711000000QAM2560.4002637.355
24717000000QAM256-0.2002737.636
25723000000QAM256-0.5002837.355
26825000000QAM256-0.2992937.355
27831000000QAM256-0.7003036.609
28837000000QAM256-1.2003137.355
29843000000QAM256-1.0003237.355
30849000000QAM256-1.200236.609
31855000000QAM256-1.700336.386
32861000000QAM256-2.700436.609
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES0.400002
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
13059600064QAM46.02076400000
23699600064QAM46.02086400000
32210000064QAM44.26053200000
42530000064QAM44.51063200000
50QAM_NONE----1600000
60QAM_NONE----1600000
70QAM_NONE----1600000
80QAM_NONE----1600000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.00000.00000.00000.00000.00002K
1DISABLED0.00000.00000.00000.00000.00002K

 

EVENT LOGS:

No.TimeTypePriorityEvent
108/20/2020 19:34:3074010100NoticeCM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 7; Chan ID: 5; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: N/A.;CM- [deleted rest]
208/20/2020 19:34:3082000200CriticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-[deleted MAC address] QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
308/20/2020 19:34:3182000300CriticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-....[deleted MAC address]
408/20/2020 19:34:3182000600CriticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
508/20/2020 19:34:3282000200Critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM

CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

608/20/2020 19:34:3382000300CriticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;
708/20/2020 19:34:3382000600CriticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted
808/20/2020 19:34:3482000200CriticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
908/20/2020 19:34:3474010100NoticeCM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 7; Chan ID: 5; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: N/A.;CM-
1008/20/2020 19:34:3582000200CriticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
1108/20/2020 19:34:3582000300CriticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;
1208/20/2020 19:34:3582000600CriticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;
1308/20/2020 19:34:3674010100NoticeCM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 7; Chan ID: 5; DSID: N/A;
1408/20/2020 19:34:4882000200CriticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
1508/20/2020 19:35:0090000000WarningMIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-
1608/20/2020 19:35:0966030111AlertCM Certificate Error;
1708/20/2020 19:35:1282001200WarningRNG-RSP CCAP Commanded Power in Excess of 6 dB Below the Value Corresponding to the Top of the DRW;CM
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,369

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

@Natto  Actually, that is kinda better.  At least now, your downstream and upstream signal strength is back in the normal range.  Thanks also for posting the Events log.

 

The cable plant in your area could still have a ton of noise, which could explain why your SNR is less than great.  Your modem also doesn't display error stats, and I wouldn't be surprised if you were getting a HUGE number of uncorrectable codeword errors.

 

If I were you, I would leave the modem where it is now and call into Rogers Tech Support.  Have them check the signal levels to your modem, the error stats on your modem and on the CMTS, background noise in your area, and check to see whether any other alerts are showing up for your area.  You'll probably need to get your call escalated to a Level 2 support tech.  With any luck, they too will see that there is a problem affecting your area and will send out a senior tech or expedite a maintenance crew to get things fixed.



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

Hello everyone, sorry to hijack the thread.

 

I am also experiencing similar issues that was mentioned in the original post where I would experience intermittent disconnections throughout the day. These disconnections would resolve itself in about a minute or two. It has been happening the past month or two and is very disruptive since I also work remotely and these disconnections mean that I would be disconnected to my work VPN and I would have to reconnect again. Just as an example, I've had been disconnected approximately ~10 times today so far.

 

I had called Rogers tech support earlier on in the day and asked if there was any ongoing maintenance/issues in my area, so that I can rule out that possibility. The rep mentioned there are no ongoing issues. In addition, they mentioned that there are no signal issues connecting to my modem.

 

I currently have a Hitron CODA-4582 running in Bridge mode. I tried navigating to 192.168.100.1, but it just loaded for a while without prompting for a username/password. I had then restarted the modem (unplugged, waited for 10 seconds, and then plugged it back in) and was able to connect and login to the modem. Here's the info under Status > DOCSIS WAN:

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000QAM2564.599736.609
2855000000QAM2564.599336.386
3861000000QAM2563.799435.779
4579000000QAM2565.000537.355
5585000000QAM2564.699636.386
6849000000QAM2565.000236.386
7597000000QAM2564.900837.355
8603000000QAM2564.800937.355
9609000000QAM2564.5991036.386
10615000000QAM2564.9001136.609
11621000000QAM2565.4001236.386
12633000000QAM2566.0001337.355
13639000000QAM2566.0001436.609
14645000000QAM2566.0001536.609
15651000000QAM2566.0991636.386
16657000000QAM2566.0991736.609
17663000000QAM2566.1991836.609
18669000000QAM2566.5001936.386
19675000000QAM2566.9002037.355
20681000000QAM2566.9002136.609
21687000000QAM2566.5002237.355
22693000000QAM2566.0002336.609
23699000000QAM2566.3002437.355
24705000000QAM2566.1992536.386
25711000000QAM2566.1992636.609
26717000000QAM2566.0002736.609
27723000000QAM2566.0002836.609
28825000000QAM2565.8002936.386
29831000000QAM2565.8003036.609
30837000000QAM2565.5993136.609
31843000000QAM2565.5003236.386
32279000000QAM2562.500137.355
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
04K275600000YESYESYES2.900002
1NANANONONONA
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
12530000064QAM46.26023200000
23699600064QAM47.27046400000
33059600064QAM47.27036400000
42210000064QAM45.01013200000
50QAM_NONE----1600000
60QAM_NONE----1600000
70QAM_NONE----1600000
80QAM_NONE----1600000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.00000.00000.00000.00000.00002K
1DISABLED0.00000.00000.00000.00000.00002K

 

Any help and/or advice as to what I should do next is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 3,624

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

My Internet and Home Phone have also been experiencing intermittent outages for the past week.  Last Monday (August 17) it was down for about 2 hours. Since then the disconnections have been random and last a few minutes once or twice a day. I'm not on the internet or phone all day, so there could have been more outages.  TV has been working fine. I don't believe this is signal related. I checked my levels.

 

I PM'd the mods here and they confirmed that there was an interruption in my area, but it wasn't actually at the same time I was having issues. I'm wondering if some work in/near my area is causing these outages.  Some sort of switchover or something. I don't recall anything like this in many years of having Rogers Internet and Home Phone.  Perhaps once or twice a year there would be a brief interruption. I'll keep trying to keep track and will raise a ticket if this issue continues or gets worse. At this time I can live with an occasional outage of a few minutes, so I'm not going to start banging my head agains that Rogers wall yet. 😉  I'm sure you know what I mean.



Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,986

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

@ClassyCanadian, your downstream DOCSIS 3.0 signal levels (channel 1 to 32) are a little high, but that shouldn't be a problem.  The signal to noise ratios are ok. 

 

The upstream DOCSIS 3.0 signal levels are higher than I would like to see, but, that also depends on the possibility of a splitter installed on the inbound cable from the external demarcation point.  It would be worth looking at the cable, where it connects with the internal cable system just to see if there is a splitter installed.  If there is, can you post the model number which is printed on the front of the splitter and let me know the port markings for the output port that the modem cable is connected to.  It will probably be -3.5 or -7.

 

The DOCSIS 3.1 OFDM channel is probably higher than normal, but, that might not be an issue.  The OFDM channel is used by the modem for its downstream data, so the upper DOCSIS 3.0 channels are not in use unless the modem bails out of the OFDM channel due to poor OFDM performance.  There isn't enough data to determine the health of that channel, so, a call to tech support would be necessary to determine the signal levels, signal to noise ratios and most importantly, the QAM levels that are shown across the OFDM channel.  That QAM level should be at 4096 for this modem.  Anything less than that results in reduced performance.  There is an additional data section that the users can't access for the OFDM channel which is unfortunate.  

 

Ok, having said that, the signal levels as shown are within spec, but you're seeing disconnects, which can happen despite having acceptable signal levels.  

 

For now, the question is, what are you seeing for packet loss, which is a good indicator of the health of the external cabling.  

 

Run a trace to anywhere using a command prompt;

 

tracert www.google.ca

 

The second IP address in the trace is the Cable Modem Termination System.  Ping that address:

 

ping xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx      where this is the second IP address from the trace.  

 

to stop the test, use:    Ctrl c

 

To copy the bottom results, right click on the top title bar of the Command box.  Select .... Edit .... Select All.  Then right click again and select .... Edit .... Copy.   Then paste that into something like notepad so that you can copy the bottom results and paste that into a post.  Knowing the packet loss will allow you to indicate to tech support that despite the decent signal levels, you have a disconnect problem with x % packet loss. 

 

Let that test run for at least an hour, and you can run that for much longer.     



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

Here are the results:

 

Pinging 99.231.192.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 99.231.192.1: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=63
Reply from 99.231.192.1: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=63
Reply from 99.231.192.1: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=63
Reply from 99.231.192.1: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=63

 

Ping statistics for 99.231.192.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 36ms, Average = 20ms

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,986

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

@ClassyCanadian my aplogies, I forgot to add the -t to the ping command.  It should have read:

 

ping -t xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx      where this is the second IP address from the trace.  

 

to stop the test, use:    Ctrl c

 

If you want to run the test for a fixed period of time you can set the number of pings to run.  Windows will run 1 ping per second, so an hour's worth of ping testing would look like the following:

 

ping -n 3600 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx      where this is the second IP address from the trace.  

 

to stop the test, use:    Ctrl c

 

That test will run for one hour and then terminate automatically.  To extend the test, simply use a number that happens to be larger than 3600.  Fwiw, I run higher rate ping tests for 24 hours.  In your case, I'd run a ping test for 24 hours so that you can determine the packet loss, or possibly the number of instances that you might end up with disconnects that are long enough to suffer from a VOIP failure.  



Highlighted
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

Hello,

I have been a longtime Rogers customer for 15+ years. For most of this time I have experienced intermittent disconnects. I have been in contact with Rogers support more times than I can count on one hand over the years. I've had technicians troubleshoot inside and outside and had temporary fixes but the disconnects always seem to come back.

To begin, Internet disconnects have been so regular that I have begun to ignore/wait then out. I've attempted to contact Rogers with support so many times over the years that it doesn't seem worth the time.

There has always been some kind of issue. In the past ive had several routers replaced across several generations of devices.

I've had technicians add splitters, redo cables leading into the house, and even show up and say they fixed something but leave without any aparent changes or fixes.

About a year ago I had a technician that came in and troubleshooted the cabling outside and inside my house. He got rid of the splitters, and some sort of extender that had been previously installed. He said they had been causing the issues. Things seemed to improve but eventually there were still disconnects.

Bell ended up cutting the Rogers line twice when they ran fiber cable under my lawn. Had a temporary cable installed twice. More recently I went almost a year with this cable before a permanent one was installed. I am a cable technician myself, and I checked the cables outside and saw that the technician stupidly crimped/bent the cable where he zip tied it to a conduit. Still have issue throughout this whole process.

Point is that I have been paying for Rogers service for years and have never gotten the service I've paid for. I could go on more about monitoring my network, watching router logs, and so on, but support chat never seems to understand what I'm talking about.

Currently my internet is disconnecting intermittently all day long. My router logs show "no ranging response, retries exhausted, TLV-11 unrecognized OID" and a few other error messages. The no ranging response error message has been showing everytime.theres a disconnect for years

I'm fed up and would like to know if there's anything I can do before I finally switch to another provide. I always want to know how to recieved a refund or compensation as I have been paying for a service that does not work for years.

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,986

Re: Internet Keeps Dropping

@J_Pet since you've already had techs out to your home, seemingly without success so far, you should be able to request a senior tech (real Rogers tech).  You should be able to do that by speaking with tech support, requesting a senior tech to check your cable services given the disconnect situation.  If tech support won't support that request, don't bother with yet another contractor tech visit.  If this is the case, where tech support won't dispatch a senior tech, send a message to the moderators @CommunityHelps.  When you're logged into the forum, follow that link to their public page.  Follow the link to "Send this user a private message", to the message composition page.  Fill in the subject line, and details including your account number and modem's MAC address off the modem's status page so that the mods can look up the account and track down the modem to look at the modem signal stats.  When you're logged into the forum, look for a number overlaying your avatar at the top right hand corner of the page.  Follow that avatar, which serves as a link down to the message inbox to see the response from the moderators.  

 

In a case like this, you need to be persistent, pushing this from contractor techs to senior techs to a maintenance crew, with as many site visits as required to solve the problem.  Its possible that there's more than one problem afoot here, locally and beyond the local tap.  The key is to be persistent, not let tech support swap modems again and again, and keep elevating the issue until the problems are resolved.  Fwiw, the modems are pretty reliable, far better than users think, so, swapping a modem doesn't accomplish much other than annoy the end user.  Not to say that they can't become unserviceable, but their actually pretty reliable.

 

Out of curiosity, what modem are you currently running?  If you have the time and patience, can you copy the signal stats and post them?  The signal data can be selected within the modem's user interface, just like any other document, right click .... Copy.  Then in a new post, right click .... Paste.  I'm curious at this point to see what if anything, the signal data might show. 

 

As for credits for poor service, maybe the mods can arrange that, don't know.  What you should be able to do is call customer service and request credit for poor past performance and a reduced rate going forward until the problems are fully resolved.