Intermittent disconnects

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 20

Re: Intermittent disconnects

@Datalink it happens regardless whether its wireless or wired. I can observe the no ranging timeout and maintenance request entries in the logs whenever therere is a drop out.  Tech CSR are really annoying they all think we dont know even the basic things. Will ask them for OFDN signal next time.

 

the ipv6 test score is 17/20.  Thanks Will try the pingplotter test and report

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 20

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Managed to get a tech who connected modem in the basement to the main drop line. Modem has been working flawlessly since then. Its interesting that there have been No T3 timeout logs now in the event log and the event log is completely empty!! Here are the signals.

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1615000000256QAM4.6001140.946
2561000000256QAM4.400240.366
3567000000256QAM4.000340.946
4573000000256QAM4.100440.946
5579000000256QAM4.000540.366
6585000000256QAM4.600640.366
7591000000256QAM4.500740.366
8597000000256QAM4.200840.366
9603000000256QAM4.400940.366
10609000000256QAM4.3001040.366
11555000000256QAM4.400140.946
12621000000256QAM4.5001240.946
13633000000256QAM5.4001340.946
14639000000256QAM5.3001440.946
15645000000256QAM5.5001540.946
16651000000256QAM5.6001640.946
17657000000256QAM5.5001740.366
18663000000256QAM5.8001840.946
19669000000256QAM5.6001940.946
20675000000256QAM5.5002040.946
21681000000256QAM5.3002140.366
22687000000256QAM5.1002240.946
23693000000256QAM5.4002340.366
24699000000256QAM5.1002440.366
25705000000256QAM4.9002540.366
26711000000256QAM4.7002640.366
27717000000256QAM4.6002740.366
28723000000256QAM4.6002840.946
29825000000256QAM4.4002940.366
30831000000256QAM4.0003040.366
31837000000256QAM3.5003140.366
32843000000256QAM3.0003238.983
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES2.099998
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
138595824ATDMA - 64QAM37.75033200000
230596000ATDMA - 64QAM33.75016400000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM34.50026400000

 

I was getting many t3 timeouts and intermittent disconnects before when the modem was was placed upstairs where the coax output was connected to the amplifiers downstairs. I think I need a Docsis 3.1 compatible amplifier if I want to place the modem upstairs and after researching on google I dont think there are any out there. 

 

However, I want to place the modem upstairs in the future. Can rogers bring a second line considering amplifiers are causing disconnects ?

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 5,813

Re: Intermittent disconnects

@roy86 is there an amplifier in place now?  Those levels look pretty good.  Was the modem upstairs before, and if so, maybe all you have to do is replace the cable that runs upstairs, or, replace the connectors at both ends.  That cable run upstairs should be an RG-6 cable, preferably quad shielded.  Depending on the layout of the house, and whether or not your basement is finished, you might be able to run that yourself.  If not, you would have to call in someone to fish a line upstairs.  



I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Unable to Stream Video and have intermittent disconnects

 

I am very frustrated. I am a long time Rogers customer for over 25 years and pay approximately $340 a month for internet, phone and cable. Thats fine and I have accepted the fees. What is not acceptable is the customer service that I have received about my current internet issue. I call in to the customer service line and tell them that my 

internet is disconnected intermittently and not able to stream video for work and its costing me money. They see a definate problem on their end and send in a technician. I have had 4 technicians In since Oct 2016 and it is still not resolved. The last tech put in a cable booster because my signal is very weak. I thought that would fix the problem and it has done nothing. I have moved my modem and router into all levels of house and used all sources of cable inside my home with no luck. Last call they said they would monitor my internet from their call centre and log anything that appeared to be wrong and call me back. I get a call back from a computer that says to me that nothing was discovered and if I still have problems to call them back. I love how they close the call from their end and leave it up to the customer to continue the communication with the company, extremely unprofessional and not the way I would conduct business. I am seriously considering other options and will gladly take my business somewhere else. I don't want to but Rogers has left me with no reliable internet and it is costing me money on top of the current fees that I am paying. What can I do? I am currently running my modem in bridge mode to my Asus router which was looked over by the tech and was confirmed that my setup was appropriate. 

The problem is the signal strength and not the setup. I get 325Mb/sec down and 20Mb/sec in speed test but it is the latency that is the problem. I would be considered good at computers and help family and friends with their computer issues so its not anything stupid like resetting my modem or anything.

The ticket number is C123996961 for the last call.

 

Thanks,

 

Oliver

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 5,813

Re: Intermittent disconnects

@fastloader, there are probably a few items to consider to resolve this:

 

1.  What modem do you currently have?  If its a black vertical standing modem, the product sticker at the back of the modem will indicate which model it is.  It will be a CGN3xxxxx model.  If you have the newer white modem, also vertical standing, its the CODA-4582.

 

2.  In terms of latency, the black Hitron CGN3xxx modems are Intel Puma 6 modems.  Those modems have a latency problem due to the firmware design.  The latest trial version firmware for the CGN3ACSMR should take care of that latency issue.  Just to note, the latency problem with Intel Puma 6 modems is a world wide issue, not one that is restricted to Rogers or Hitron.  Rogers engineering staff have been working on this for a year now with previous incremental firmware updates released since last fall, but, this time around the trial firmware will hopefully resolve the TCP/IP, UDP and ICMP latency for both IPV4 and IPV6.

 

3.  The Hitron CODA-4582 is a new generation Puma 7 modem which Rogers, Hitron and Intel have been working at since its release in mid December 2016.  This modem does not have any of the latency that is observed with the Puma 6 modems and with the latest firmware production version firmware loaded, has much better latency performance compared to its previous firmware versions.  That is due to changes in the packet scheduling algorithm aimed at improving latency thru the modem with simultaneous incoming and outgoing data streams.  If you are running an unlimited account you would be eligible for this modem. 

 

4.  In terms of disconnects, I would have to see the modem power levels, taken from the incoming cable itself, before any amplifier or splitter.  Its possible, that even with adequate signal levels, one can have very fast dropouts occurring.  The one way to detect this is to run Pingplotter, pinging the CMTS which is the first server that the modem connects to.  By monitoring that modem to CMTS path, one can detect packet loss and latency issues that can arise due to congestion at the CMTS itself.  Here is a link that describes how to do that:

 

http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/Internet/Intermittent-disconnects/m-p/364602#M35528

 

5.  If you have an amplifier, and that has been in place for several years, its possible that the amp should be replaced.  The older style amps which amplify everything can cause packet loss.  The newer style amps have a VOIP path thru the amp which is not amplified.  That port is also used for internet modems.  As this port is essentially one port of a two way internal port, it only results in a signal drop thru the amp, without any packet loss.  If you look at the amplifier, and it happens to have a VOIP port marked on it, that is the port that should be used for the internet modem.  That will depend on the age of the amplifier.  My personal opinion is that using an amplifier only results in terrible amplified signals in the system.  The real solution is to take care of the signal losses that occur enroute to the home, and that might require a maintenance crew to do it.  If so, then thats the route to take as it will probably solve the same problem for your neighbors as well.  

 

Ok, can you can post the modem model and signal level data at some point?  The next steps will depend on that info. 



I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Random intermittent disconnections even after factory reset

 

Hello Forum!

 

I am a tenant at a house that has Rogers high speed internet. The service we have is 130 mbps down and 10 mbps up. The modem is CGNM-3552-ROG Router by Hitron Technologies. I have full access to the administrator at 192.168.0.1.

 

There are only two people in this house who use this internet and I am one of them. I have been experiencing random disconnections on my desktop connected to the router via ethernet cable as well as phone via 5G wifi. (regardless of whether the other person is using the internet or not). These disconnections happen for a couple of seconds each up to I'd say 20 seconds, and when they happen, I just straight up have no internet connection as indicated in the system tray, and no internet connection on phone even though the wifi signal  shows it's constantly at full signal.

 

I have contacted technical support team, and they said they did not see any service interruptions on their end. They have suggested me to do a factory reset on the wireless modem and reboot the device which I did, and yet the problem is still here.

 

Today is the second day after factory reset, and under DOCSIS events, I've noticed the following messages:

 

No. Time type Priority Event
1 01/01/70 01:01:44 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2 07/07/17 05:37:23 90000000 warning MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
3 07/07/17 05:37:26 73040100 notice TLV-11 - unrecognized OID;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
4 07/08/17 00:58:23 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

And under DOCSIS WAN I have the following:

 

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 693000000 256QAM 6.000 23 38.605
2 579000000 256QAM 6.200 5 38.983
3 585000000 256QAM 6.600 6 40.366
4 591000000 256QAM 6.700 7 38.983
5 597000000 256QAM 6.600 8 38.983
6 603000000 256QAM 6.200 9 38.605
7 609000000 256QAM 5.800 10 38.605
8 615000000 256QAM 5.200 11 38.983
9 621000000 256QAM 4.800 12 38.983
10 633000000 256QAM 4.100 13 38.983
11 639000000 256QAM 3.800 14 38.605
12 645000000 256QAM 4.400 15 38.983
13 651000000 256QAM 5.000 16 38.605
14 657000000 256QAM 5.600 17 38.605
15 663000000 256QAM 5.900 18 38.605
16 669000000 256QAM 6.600 19 38.983
17 675000000 256QAM 7.200 20 38.983
18 681000000 256QAM 6.700 21 38.983
19 687000000 256QAM 6.200 22 38.983
20 303000000 256QAM 4.300 1 38.983
21 699000000 256QAM 5.700 24 38.983
22 705000000 256QAM 4.800 25 38.605
23 711000000 256QAM 5.200 26 38.605
24 717000000 256QAM 5.000 27 38.605
25 723000000 256QAM 4.500 28 38.900
26 825000000 256QAM 3.500 29 38.600
27 831000000 256QAM 3.500 30 38.600
28 837000000 256QAM 3.200 31 38.200
29 843000000 256QAM 3.000 32 38.600
30 849000000 256QAM 3.000 2 38.200
31 855000000 256QAM 3.900 3 38.600
32 861000000 256QAM 4.000 4 38.600
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID BandWidth
1 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 38.000 5 6400000
2 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 38.750 6 3200000
3 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 37.750 4 6400000

 

Under System information I have:

 

Hardware Version 1A
Software Version 4.5.8.21
Gateway Serial Number  
HFC MAC Address  
System Time Sat, 08 Jul 2017 00:03:18
Time Zone UTC+00:00 Greenwich Mean Time: Dublin, London, Lisbon
LAN Up Time 000 days 19h:27m:54s
WAN IP Address  
WAN Receiving 2.37G Bytes
WAN Sending 208.10M Bytes
Private LAN IP Address 192.168.0.1/24
LAN Receiving 210.48M Bytes
LAN Sending 2.10G Bytes
WAN Up Time 000 days 19h:24m:36s

 

serial # IP, and MAC addresses are left out. 

 

If anyone could help me with this problem, it'd be much appreciated! Thank you very much in advance, feel free to ask anything and for anything if you need more information.

 

 
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,058

Re: Intermittent disconnects


Runshan wrote:

Random intermittent disconnections even after factory reset

 

Hello Forum!

 

I am a tenant at a house that has Rogers high speed internet. The service we have is 130 mbps down and 10 mbps up. The modem is CGNM-3552-ROG Router by Hitron Technologies. I have full access to the administrator at 192.168.0.1.

 

There are only two people in this house who use this internet and I am one of them. I have been experiencing random disconnections on my desktop connected to the router via ethernet cable as well as phone via 5G wifi. (regardless of whether the other person is using the internet or not). These disconnections happen for a couple of seconds each up to I'd say 20 seconds, and when they happen, I just straight up have no internet connection as indicated in the system tray, and no internet connection on phone even though the wifi signal  shows it's constantly at full signal.

 

I have contacted technical support team, and they said they did not see any service interruptions on their end. They have suggested me to do a factory reset on the wireless modem and reboot the device which I did, and yet the problem is still here.

 

Today is the second day after factory reset, and under DOCSIS events, I've noticed the following messages:

 

No. Time type Priority Event
1 01/01/70 01:01:44 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2 07/07/17 05:37:23 90000000 warning MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
3 07/07/17 05:37:26 73040100 notice TLV-11 - unrecognized OID;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
4 07/08/17 00:58:23 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

 

 

 

serial # IP, and MAC addresses are left out. 

 

If anyone could help me with this problem, it'd be much appreciated! Thank you very much in advance, feel free to ask anything and for anything if you need more information.

 

 

Your signal levels looks good, I would suggest going to your local Rogers store and swapping your modem for the new white CODA 4582 Gateway. 

Since you're on an unlimited usage plan you can swap to the new modem without issue.

 



I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Hello gp-se,

 

Thanks for replying!

 

Are you saying that the swap is free? What do I need to provide besides the old modem for the new CODA 4582 Gateway? 

 

Would the account holder need to be here?

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,058

Re: Intermittent disconnects

@Runshan

It is free, just bring your old gateway with you to the store, the account holder or people who have permission on the account need to be preset.

 

 



I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Good morning all,

 

I was having issues with my CGN3 (the original) and had it swapped for the new CODA-4582 (running 2.0.10.27). I'm on the 100/10 package, but keep having latency spikes and disconnects that cause interrupts/stutter during super important business meetings (ie - Xbox) Smiley Happy

 

After reading through here I've gathered the following to help diagnose: 

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM-1.400733.957
2855000000256QAM-5.200331.915
3861000000256QAM-5.300432.237
4579000000256QAM-1.700533.957
5585000000256QAM-1.500633.957
6849000000256QAM-4.700232.237
7597000000256QAM-1.200833.957
8603000000256QAM-1.300933.957
9609000000256QAM-1.3001033.957
10615000000256QAM-1.0001133.834
11621000000256QAM-0.9001233.957
12633000000256QAM-0.2001333.957
13639000000256QAM0.1001434.484
14645000000256QAM0.1001533.957
15651000000256QAM0.2001633.957
16657000000256QAM0.4001733.834
17663000000256QAM0.5001833.957
18669000000256QAM0.6001933.957
19675000000256QAM0.8002034.484
20681000000256QAM0.6002134.346
21687000000256QAM0.4002233.957
22693000000256QAM0.4002333.957
23699000000256QAM0.1002433.834
24705000000256QAM-0.1002533.834
25711000000256QAM-0.8002633.063
26717000000256QAM-1.3002732.963
27723000000256QAM-1.5002832.676
28825000000256QAM-3.9002932.237
29831000000256QAM-4.2003032.237
30837000000256QAM-4.4003131.994
31843000000256QAM-4.8003231.915
32303000000256QAM-1.600135.084
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
04K290600000YESYESYES-1.799999
1NANANONONONA
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
130596000ATDMA - 64QAM39.25016400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM42.50033200000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM39.25026400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K

 

And this photo while using PingPlotter:

hitronping.jpg

 

Any thoughts? The spikes seem awfully regular.