Intermittent disconnects

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,012

Re: Intermittent disconnects

@rodeoknight  as long as you're winning on the cost side of this, you're doing ok.  Was the grandfathered plan subject to any yearly price increases?  I'm wondering if the current plans are, which would negate moving beyond your current grandfathered plan.  

 

Fwiw, the modem you will end up with will probably be a black, vertical standing Hitron modem.  There are a series of these modems starting with the original CGN3 modem and ending with the CGN3ACSMR.  The original CGN3 I don't believe was 802.11ac capable for the 5 Ghz wifi network.  The CGN3ACSMR should be.  Those modems have been a pain since their original introduction with the CGN3.  They are Intel Puma 6 modems, which have earned a rather infamous reputation for latency for all protocols, ICMP, UDP (gaming and web address lookups), and TCP.  Intel has released a series of updates over the last two and a half years to correct those issues, along with a Denial of Service problem.  In theory those modem should be ok now, but, no company, from Intel to the manufacturers to the ISPs have posted any test results which show that the latency and DOS issues have finally be resolved for all protocols for both IPV4 and IPV6 and for all models of the Intel Puma 6 chipset.  So, if you happen to be a gamer, this is something to consider.  

 

If you do switch plans and modems, when you pick up a newer modem at the local Rogers store it will probably be the black Hitron modem.  Ask specifically for the CGN3ASMR as that modem usually receives updates faster than the other Puma 6 modems.  The modem model should be posted on the outside box and on the back of the modem.  Inspect the model number on the back of the modem to ensure that you're getting a CGN3ACSMR.  A CGNM-3552 would also be a good choice as that's a 32 channel (downsteam) modem.  I would call ahead and ask the store staff to ensure that they had a CGN3ACSMR modem on hand.  Just as an example, if you look at the back of your current modem, you should see the model number on the product sticker.  So, same idea for the newer Hitron modems.  And last but not least, maybe the store will give you a white Hitron CODA-4582 modem if they have nothing else in stock.  Thats ok as its a newer Intel Puma 7 modem which uses DOCSIS 3.1 on the downstream side.  That either works or it doesn't, depending on where you happen to live.  There are a small group of users who experience slow data rates due to issues in the lower frequency spectrum of the cable system, but, running at 75 Mb/s on the downstream side, that shouldn't cause any problems.  

 

Any chance that you have access to Bell's fibre network in your neighbourhood?  If so, that also food for thought, given its matching download/upload rates.



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 24

Re: Intermittent disconnects

T3 Time out errors - Are these normal?

 

Hi all,

 

I had internet installed at my new house a few weeks ago and during the first week or so my internet was cutting out constantly. I called tech support and was informed that my neighbourhood was out of spec. The tech on the phone submitted a ticket for me. A day later I received a text message concerning the ticket - apparently the support team was unable to identify any issue. I found this odd considering the tech on the phone indicated there was  a problem. 

 

Anyways, the problem persisted and so I called back and another tech suggested I replace the modem. I went to my local Rogers store and picked up the new modem and plugged it in. With the new modem, however, I can see in my modem log (DOCSIS Event page) that I'm receiving 4-5 T3 Time out errors a day. The error says: "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out". I'm not sure if the internet is cutting out when this happens as I'm usually away from the house. When the event does happen when I'm at home I don't notice any cutting out. My question is though, are these T3 time outs normal or should I not be getting any at all? I'm concerned there might be a larger underlying problem with the line/CMTS that needs to be looked at. I work from home so I'm pretty reliant on my connection, so want to make sure there are not major underlying errors that might spring up one day.

 

Here are my signal levels, any issues here?

 
Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 693000000 256QAM 5.100 23 38.605
2 579000000 256QAM 6.000 5 38.983
3 585000000 256QAM 5.600 6 38.605
4 591000000 256QAM 5.500 7 38.605
5 597000000 256QAM 5.800 8 38.983
6 603000000 256QAM 6.300 9 38.605
7 609000000 256QAM 6.800 10 38.605
8 615000000 256QAM 6.800 11 38.983
9 621000000 256QAM 6.300 12 38.983
10 633000000 256QAM 5.500 13 38.605
11 639000000 256QAM 5.300 14 38.605
12 645000000 256QAM 5.100 15 38.605
13 651000000 256QAM 5.400 16 38.605
14 657000000 256QAM 6.000 17 38.605
15 663000000 256QAM 6.600 18 38.983
16 669000000 256QAM 6.900 19 38.983
17 675000000 256QAM 6.600 20 38.605
18 681000000 256QAM 5.900 21 38.605
19 687000000 256QAM 5.300 22 38.983
20 303000000 256QAM 5.000 1 38.983
21 699000000 256QAM 5.500 24 38.605
22 705000000 256QAM 5.900 25 38.605
23 711000000 256QAM 6.000 26 38.605
24 717000000 256QAM 6.700 27 38.605
 
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Bandwidth
1 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 46.250 2 6400000
2 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 46.250 3 6400000
3 13696000 ATDMA - 64QAM 46.250 1 6400000

 

I also want to add I'm getting the following error at the same time everyday: "DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option"

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 24

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Just an update, my internet cut out at 10:08AM and came back on around 10:15 or so. Here's the log from my modem (I've removed my MAC address):

 

503/06/19 14:24:1090000000warningMIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;
603/06/19 14:24:1973040100noticeTLV-11 - unrecognized OID;
703/06/19 10:08:0984000500criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;
803/06/19 10:08:1482000200criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
903/06/19 10:08:1484020200warningLost MDD Timeout;
1003/06/19 10:08:1782000200criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
1103/06/19 10:08:1784000500criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-
1203/06/19 10:08:2484020200warningLost MDD Timeout;
1303/06/19 10:08:4782000400criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;C
1403/06/19 10:11:4082000200criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
1503/06/19 15:12:3890000000warningMIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;
1603/06/19 15:12:4073040100noticeTLV-11 - unrecognized OID;
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 24

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Does anyone have any thoughts? Got another T3 error at 5:30AM today, though my WAN connection has been up for 22 continuous hours now.

 

Is 3-4 T3 errors in a 24 hour period (that do not cause the connection to drop) normal?

 

Thanks again

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 637

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Hello @Corx,

 

Welcome to the Rogers Community Forums!

 

Congratulations on your first posts! We appreciate you providing us with the signal levels. I can imagine just how frustrating and disruptive it can be dealing with a recurring Intermittent connection on a daily basis.

 

The signal levels you posted are a bit high but still well within the specified signal range. With it being a new service at your new home we'd like to rule out some things first. Can you confirm if the modem is connected directly to the power socket or does it connect via an extension cord or power bar/surge protector? If possible, please plug the modem into a completely different power socket and monitor the issue to see if it is still occurring.

 

We look forward to your response!

 

RogersTony

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 24

Re: Intermittent disconnects

@RogersTonyThank you for this. I modem is connected directly to the power socket. I have had the electrician replace the socket too. I can try a different location in the house that has a coax outlet to see if that helps.

Is there anything wrong with higher signal levels? Is there anything I can do to lower these?

 

Just got home and checking my levels, I see my upstream #1 going up to 47-48dBmV.

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 24

Re: Intermittent disconnects

@RogersTony, I plugged my modem into a power outlet and coax outlet on the other side of my house. Here are my signal levels now (seem worse, except for maybe the upstream?):

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1657000000256QAM8.5001738.983
2579000000256QAM8.600538.983
3585000000256QAM8.400638.605
4591000000256QAM8.000738.605
5597000000256QAM8.300838.605
6603000000256QAM8.800938.983
7609000000256QAM9.2001038.605
8615000000256QAM9.4001138.983
9621000000256QAM9.1001238.605
10633000000256QAM8.0001338.983
11639000000256QAM7.8001438.605
12645000000256QAM7.8001538.983
13651000000256QAM8.2001638.605
14303000000256QAM7.600138.983
15663000000256QAM8.8001838.605
16669000000256QAM9.5001938.983
17675000000256QAM9.2002038.605
18681000000256QAM8.6002138.605
19687000000256QAM8.1002238.605
20693000000256QAM7.6002338.605
21699000000256QAM7.8002438.605
22705000000256QAM8.3002538.605
23711000000256QAM8.3002638.605
24717000000256QAM9.3002738.605
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM44.00026400000
230596000ATDMA - 64QAM44.00036400000
313696000ATDMA - 64QAM44.00016400000

 

Thoughts? Are T3 errors normal if they don't cause the connection to drop or should I not be getting any at all? I've swapped out the modem so this definitely isn't a modem issue. 

 

My house is brand new and I'm the only person on the node (or the grey fiber box installed at the end of my row of townhouses). Could this grey box be configured incorrectly? Just out of curiosity, what are these boxes called at the end of the townhouses by the hydrostacks where all the fiber connections go into?

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 24

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Just an update: A tech dropped by this evening and said the issue was a gold F-81 connector coming out of the wall. He insisted that gold is a bad material for these connectors and swapped it out with one that looks silver (not sure of the material). He didn't bother checking the outside box or the fiber line coming into the house. Even said it's not an area issue because the neighbors modem had been up for 3 consecutive days.  I'm a bit disappointed more in-depth trouble shooting wasn't conducted as I'm certain the T3 errors will return.

 

I'm not expert, but if an F-81 connector was the issue then I would assume the problem would be continuous, not intermittent. I'm also under the impression that T3 errors are usually line/outside box related. How can I get this escalated? Growing increasingly frustrated. 

 

Any thoughts?

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,012

Re: Intermittent disconnects

@Corx its not that gold is necessarily a bad conductor, its more likely that the dielectric material between the center conductor and the external shield doesn't support higher frequencies that are used in the cable system. I'd have to go digging to see where gold stacks up against any other material.  

 

That being said, there are a range of F-81 connectors that support different frequency ranges.  Here's what I use in my home for all wallplate F-81 connectors.  

 

https://www.lowes.ca/coax-cable-components/ideal-3-ghz-f-splice-adapter-4-pack_g1200823.html

 

I've never had any issue with these.  The old style connectors with white dielectric material have been in homes for years and years only support 0 to 750 Mhz, if that, so, that could definitely cause issues depending on which modem you have, as the DOCSIS 3.0 channels run up beyond 750 Mhz.  If your modem is using that upper DOCSIS 3.0 frequency range, I have no doubt that it would cause problems.  I'd have to scroll back up to check your modem model, don't have time at the moment.  Will do later .....



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 24

Re: Intermittent disconnects

@Datalink , thank you for this. Look forward to your response. I didn't actually post my modem model earlier, but it's a Hitron CGN3ACSMR. 

 

Just checked my modem log (an hour after the tech left) and I'm getting T3 errors again...

 

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out (removed MAC);CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

WAN hasn't cut out, but why am I getting these errors...

 

Edit: If my internet isn't actually cutting out, are these T3 errors in my modem log (with my modems mac address) of any concern? Should I be getting any at all or does it suggest there might be an underlying issue?