Intermittent disconnects

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Wipeouthm
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Intermittent disconnects

@Datalink Thanks for the response.  I assumed the levels were too high.  Could it possibly be solved by splitting the incoming line? Also, not on FTTH.

Here is the other info.

OFDM/OFDMA Overview

Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0OPERATE0.22709.97199.600046.781539.00002K
1DISABLED0.00000.00000.00000.00000.00002K
Wipeouthm
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Intermittent disconnects

So, I took matters into my own hands and put 2 x 6db attenuators on my incoming line, and this is how it looks now.

 

@Datalink better?

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1645000000QAM2561.7991537.636
2591000000QAM2561.000738.605
3597000000QAM2560.900838.983
4849000000QAM2560.299237.636
5855000000QAM256-0.400336.609
6861000000QAM256-1.200436.609
7579000000QAM2561.599538.605
8585000000QAM2561.200638.983
9603000000QAM2561.000938.605
10609000000QAM2561.2991038.605
11615000000QAM2561.9001138.605
12621000000QAM2562.4001238.605
13633000000QAM2562.0001338.605
14639000000QAM2561.9001438.605
15279000000QAM256-3.299138.983
16651000000QAM2561.5991637.636
17657000000QAM2561.4001738.605
18663000000QAM2561.2991837.636
19669000000QAM2561.5001937.636
20675000000QAM2561.2992037.636
21681000000QAM2561.2002137.636
22687000000QAM2561.0992237.636
23693000000QAM2561.2002337.355
24699000000QAM2561.5992437.636
25705000000QAM2561.9002537.636
26711000000QAM2561.7002637.355
27717000000QAM2561.2992737.636
28723000000QAM2560.9002837.636
29825000000QAM2561.5002937.636
30831000000QAM2561.5993037.636
31837000000QAM2561.5003137.636
32843000000QAM2560.9003237.355
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES-1.099998
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
13870000064QAM52.27086400000
22110000064QAM50.51053200000
33230000064QAM52.27076400000
42590000064QAM51.02066400000
50QAM_NONE----1600000
60QAM_NONE----1600000
70QAM_NONE----1600000
80QAM_NONE----1600000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0OPERATE0.24839.19199.600058.031550.25002K
1DISABLED0.00000.00000.00000.00000.00002K
Datalink
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 7,187

Re: Intermittent disconnects

@Wipeouthm the DOCSIS 3.0 signal levels (channels 1 to 32 don't look too bad with two attenuators in place, but, the problem with attenuators is that they work in both directions.  They drop the outbound signal level to the neighbourhood node as well.  As a result, the Cable Modem Termination System (CMTS) which controls the connected modems and provides data services to the modems will command the modem to increase its output levels.  The maximum DOCSIS 3.0 output level for three or four channel operation is 51 dBmV.  Rogers uses 52 dBmV for some reason.  There are power level extensions that are now included in the DOCSIS spec, but I don't believe that Rogers uses them.  So, at the present time you have one DOCSIS 3.0 upstream channel running at 51 dBmV and two that are above 52 dBmV.  Thats not good, and I would expect you to see problems with upstream data, either in the form of disconnects or slow upstream performance. 

 

Having said that, you have a DOCSIS 3.1 upstream channel running.  I don't know if the modem uses that as its sole upstream channel or if the modem is running in a hybrid mode, using both DOCSIS 3.0 and 3.1 upstream paths.  I would expect you to see upstream problems in either case.  But, hey, maybe not ??

 

What you really need is to have Rogers adjust the downstream path signal levels to where they should be.  That might take a while, so, your chosen path isn't too far off the mark.  

 

Plan B is to install two 6 db Forward Path Attenuators which look like this:

 

https://www.amazon.ca/line-Signal-Forward-Attenuator-FPA6-54/dp/B07882H96R

 

The forward path attenuator only drops the downstream signal levels and doesn't do anything to the upstream signal levels.  Two of these, in place of the current attenuators should do the job.  Personal opinion, you shouldn't have to buy anything to resolve a problem such as this, but, its probably the quickest way to resolve the issue, although, I'd keep pushing Rogers to adjust the line levels to where they should be.  

 

Plan C would be to replace one attenuator with a 3 dB attenuator.  That would result in a 3 db rise in the downstream levels and a 3 dB drop in the upstream levels.  That still doesn't give you much room to play with in terms of the upstream signal levels.  

 

If you're running into upstream issues now, simply remove one of the attenuators for now and reboot/restart the modem.  That should return the signal levels to a range where they can operate as intended, not necessarily great levels, but they should allow the modem to operate as intended.  

 

One last item that can't be overlooked is the signal rise in the downstream OFDM channel, which runs in the Port 15 to Port 7 frequency range.  There is a possibility that the signal rise is above the allowed signal rise specs.  The Tier One techs that you speak with over the phone probably won't be able to tell you that.  Send a message to @CommunityHelps asking @RogersAndy to have a look at your downstream and upstream OFDM signal levels.  he has access to a better display that shows the sub-bands in the OFDM channel.  I don't know if that display does any analysis of the signal rise, from the bottom of the OFDM channel to the top of the OFDM channel or if it only looks at the signal level within each sub-band on its own.  

 

Follow that link to the @CommunityHelps page when you're logged into the forum.  Follow the link to "Send this user a private message" to the message composition page.  Fill in the subject matter and add the details as necessary, asking Andy to specifically look at the OFDM and OFDMA channels.  Copy the HFC MAC address from the STATUS page of the modem and paste that into the message.  That will allow Andy to locate your modem.  When you're logged into the forum, watch for a number overlaying the avatar in the upper right hand corner.  That avatar serves as a link to your profile page and message inbox and outbox.  Follow the links to the message inbox.  

 

If the maximum signal slope has been exceeded in the OFDM downstream or OFDMA upstream channels, there's nothing that you can to about it.  This falls into the responsibility of a Senior Tech (Rogers Tech) or a Maintenance Crew.  

 

Edit:  At the end of the day, if you can get the signal levels into the correct ranges, and you still suffer from disconnects, then you're part of the group of customers who have been affected by the enabling of the upstream OFDMA channel.  There are a good number of customers who are having problems with this and Rogers has been completely silent about this issue.  A number of customers have also left Rogers as a result of this issue. 



Wipeouthm
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Thanks for the advice @Datalink it is certainly appreciated. I will monitor the connection of a few days and might tinker some more, but so far so good!

cenedro
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Internet has been dropping for a month and a half. Rogers says everything is fine. they monitored the line for 2 periods of 5 days totalling 10 days and have said the internet didnt drop once even though i lost connectivity several times. the modem doesn't restart when the internet is down and all the lights on the front appear normal. every single device on my network cannot communicate with the internet however they can communicate locally fine (LAN). My modem was bridged but now i have removed my router totally and turned it off and factory reset the modem to take it out of bridge mode and still i have the issue. any help would be greatly appreciate. thank you.

 

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000QAM256-3.500738.983
2597000000QAM256-3.099838.983
3603000000QAM256-3.299940.366
4579000000QAM256-2.900538.983
5585000000QAM256-3.400638.983
6279000000QAM256-2.799140.366
7609000000QAM256-3.0001040.366
8615000000QAM256-3.0001140.366
9621000000QAM256-3.0991240.366
10633000000QAM256-3.5991340.366
11639000000QAM256-3.5991438.605
12645000000QAM256-3.0001538.983
13651000000QAM256-2.5001638.983
14657000000QAM256-2.4001738.983
15663000000QAM256-2.7991838.983
16669000000QAM256-3.2001938.605
17675000000QAM256-3.2002038.983
18681000000QAM256-3.0992138.983
19687000000QAM256-2.5992238.605
20693000000QAM256-2.4002338.983
21699000000QAM256-2.4002438.605
22705000000QAM256-2.9002538.605
23711000000QAM256-3.4002638.605
24717000000QAM256-3.9002738.605
25723000000QAM256-3.7992838.983
26825000000QAM256-4.5992938.605
27831000000QAM256-5.4003037.636
28837000000QAM256-5.9003137.355
29843000000QAM256-6.0003237.636
30849000000QAM256-5.400237.636
31855000000QAM256-5.099337.636
32861000000QAM256-4.700438.983
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
04K275600000YESYESYES-3.599998
1NANANONONONA
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
13870000064QAM44.02046400000
22110000064QAM42.76013200000
33230000064QAM44.02036400000
42590000064QAM43.52026400000
50QAM_NONE----1600000
60QAM_NONE----1600000
70QAM_NONE----1600000
80QAM_NONE----1600000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0OPERATE0.218010.32209.600049.781542.00002K
1DISABLED0.00000.00000.00000.00000.00002K
PizzaBear
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 105

Re: Intermittent disconnects

My internet had drops at around 2:45pm today.

ViRichmondHill
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 18

Re: Intermittent disconnects

About 1-3 times per day I lose internet connection for about 3-5min. All modem lights are working as normal.

I also noticed that if I am in WhatsApp video call at the time of intermittent disconnect - even there appears to be no internet, I can still see and hear EVERYTHING without a drop of the frame, but they cannot see/hear me.

For me, it started in Oct 2020. My Rogers modem CODA-4582U is set in bridge mode. In  November the modem was replaced, but that did not help. In December I replaced my router with Ausus RT-AX86U and that did not help. This week technician came to check the connection, replaced some connectors, and told me that all looks perfect, but that did not help - I lost the connection for 5min the next day. When I call Rogers support they tell me that from their side they do not see any problems. Clearly, there are multiple people affected, by the way - I am located in Richmond Hill, ON. My main computer is connected to the router by network wire, so this is not wireless issue.

I called support today and requested to escalate the tickets - but based on other users' experience, I am losing any hope for stable internet. I am on 1000Mbps plan and somebody told me that maybe reducing plan to 500Mbps might help, but I have not tested yet.

expodonent
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 10

Re: Intermittent disconnects

reducing plan to 500mbps will not help as i've also been having the exact same issue in richmond hill since last october.

one of the forum mods told me my area has triggered their "congestion threshold" months ago and there are plans for node segmentation.

what ever they keep telling you to try most likely will not fix it as this is all on roger's infrastructure and until they fix it we are gonna continue to suffer.

i get an average of 4 disconnects a day now of being locked out for about 6 minutes every time it happens.

so fed up with this.

ViCommander
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Last time the internet randomly disconnected for me was between 1:00 am to 1:30 am EST on 02/01/2021 

 

Here are the requirements I could find (the ones with (?) is info that I couldn't find on the admin page because we got a new modem and I am unfamiliar with how to find it):

  • I have the TG3482G (I don't think the modem is the issue though since we were having this same issue with an older model (CODA 4582) that we had replaced multiple times to try and fix the issue)
  • Bridge Mode is disabled (so I believe I am on Gateway mode)
  • I believe I am on Software Version 7.2.3.0.62.ER2_RC
  • LAN Up Time and WAN Up Time (?)
  • Downstream, Upstream, OFDM, OFDMA tables (?)
  • The disconnects happen on both wired and wireless products
  • From what I can tell, the modem doesn't reboot itself because the lights are still on when it happens, and the system uptime doesn't change on the admin page
  • What is band steering (?)

How would I find the rest of the information that you listed? Would love to fix this issue ASAP because it is interfering with work and ruining online games.

MrJames
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 9

Re: Intermittent disconnects

I'm having the same issue in Ottawa.

I have the modem in bridge mode and my laptop is hardwired and I can see through my apple airport that there is a disconnect.

Called for tech support this morning and got the upsell to Gigabit (I'm on 500MB) because too many devices being connected might be causing the modem to disconnect.

He claimed that my service WILL NOT support more than 16 devices connected.

I have about 20 devices connected but most are very low bandwidth.

So is there a real cap on devices or was that for the upsell?

 

I read the device guidance as just that, the service works well for those with 12-16 devices. Trying to see what reality is. 

Hitron CODA 4582U  H/W: 2A

 

Any advice?