Intermittent disconnects

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 39

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Your situation sounds incredibly similar to the same problem I had a year+ ago. You can read about it here:

http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/Internet/Internet-goes-down-for-5-minutes-once-to-twice-a-day/m...

 

Basically my internet would randomly go down each day for a few minutes and come back. Rogers tried everything to fix it: new modem (I was not using a router), beta firmware, brand new lines run to the house etc etc.

 

I am sad to say nothing ever fixed it. However I then moved to a new house, and using the same exact modem as before I never experienced the problem again. So I am 100% sure the issue is with their infrastructure in certain areas, although I doubt they will ever admit it or fix it.

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 9

Re: Intermittent disconnects

I'm getting the same disconnect problems here, and the modem log shows the "no ranging response received" messages.  It's been ongoing for maybe about 5-6 weeks.  Sometimes the disconnect lasts a minute or two, sometimes a half an hour or even over an hour.  A new modem (the CGN3ACSMR) made no difference, and phone support wasn't much help.  I'm switching to Bell.

I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Indeed. I am in the same pickle here and Rogers has yet to actually find anything. They won't even give credits anymore. Why should I pay the full amount for internet that is half baked?

I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Hi all.

 

Just adding to the pile.  I've been experiencing random disconnects for quite some time now.  I'm a twitch streamer, gamer, using IPTV and VoIP.  This has been extremely disruptive and frustrating for me. 

 

My symptoms specifically:

I experience huge spikes in games and in voice comms (Discord) where I completely lose control and cannot be heard, but continue to see the game in realtime and can continue to hear others in call.  I also drop > 50% frames while streaming to twitch, in frequent spikes.  In both of these cases it seems like my download continues to function but upload completely fails - and shortly afterwards I lose internet connection entirely (throughout the house).

 

I'm on a 500/20 plan.  Currently, I'm using the CODA-4582U as my router/AP.  Only an unmanaged switch between the CODA and other wired clients.  I've just recently ordered a Mikrotik RB3011 and Ubiquiti UAP-AC-Lite and will be installing these and putting the CODA in bridge mode probably by the end of this week.   I don't believe this will solve the issues I'm experiencing now but I thought it was worth mentioning.

 

In my DOCSIS event logs, I see many "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" errors.  Maybe irrelevant but I also see the modem attempted and failed to do a software update recently.  See docsis event logs below:

 

Spoiler
No. Time Type Priority Event
1 06/07/2018 14:43:00 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
2 06/07/2018 16:17:27 68010300 error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
3 06/08/2018 16:15:52 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
4 06/08/2018 16:17:27 68010300 error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
5 06/09/2018 02:39:37 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
6 06/09/2018 16:17:27 68010300 error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
7 06/10/2018 14:18:31 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
8 06/10/2018 16:17:27 68010300 error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
9 06/10/2018 20:46:37 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
10 06/11/2018 16:17:27 68010300 error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
11 06/11/2018 23:30:46 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
12 06/12/2018 10:25:25 69010100 notice SW Download INIT - Via NMS
13 06/12/2018 10:25:25 69010400 error SW Upgrade Failed Before Download - Server not Present
14 06/12/2018 10:25:25 69010600 error SW upgrade Failed before download - TFTP Max Retry Exceeded
15 06/12/2018 13:52:41 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
16 06/12/2018 16:17:27 68010300 error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
17 06/13/2018 06:40:31 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
18 06/13/2018 06:58:40 69010100 notice SW Download INIT - Via NMS
19 06/13/2018 06:59:25 69011100 notice SW download Successful - Via NMS
20 06/13/2018 07:02:17 90000000 warning MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:90:cb:ac;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1; 

 I've had 3 techs come out to the house over the last month and a half or so, but this was before I was aware of the no ranging response errors.  It wasn't checked or brought up by the techs or the phone reps.  All I could say was that I would frequently disconnect and rebooting the modem would solve it.  I was told by one tech that some of my signal levels were out of spec and have been corrected.  The other two techs came by, checked the signal levels, shrugged and left.  Here are my signal levels now:

 

Spoiler
Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 633000000 256QAM 1.600 13 37.356
2 849000000 256QAM -3.100 2 37.356
3 855000000 256QAM -3.400 3 37.636
4 861000000 256QAM -2.900 4 37.636
5 579000000 256QAM 1.800 5 36.610
6 585000000 256QAM 1.400 6 36.610
7 591000000 256QAM 1.300 7 36.387
8 597000000 256QAM 1.300 8 36.387
9 603000000 256QAM 1.400 9 36.610
10 609000000 256QAM 1.400 10 36.610
11 615000000 256QAM 1.700 11 36.387
12 621000000 256QAM 2.000 12 37.636
13 303000000 256QAM 5.400 1 37.356
14 639000000 256QAM 1.100 14 36.610
15 645000000 256QAM 1.400 15 37.356
16 651000000 256QAM 0.900 16 36.610
17 657000000 256QAM 1.000 17 37.356
18 663000000 256QAM 0.600 18 36.610
19 669000000 256QAM 0.800 19 36.610
20 675000000 256QAM 0.400 20 36.610
21 681000000 256QAM 0.600 21 37.636
22 687000000 256QAM -0.100 22 36.610
23 693000000 256QAM 0.200 23 37.356
24 699000000 256QAM -0.600 24 36.387
25 705000000 256QAM -0.300 25 36.610
26 711000000 256QAM -1.000 26 36.387
27 717000000 256QAM -0.800 27 36.610
28 723000000 256QAM -1.800 28 35.780
29 825000000 256QAM -2.800 29 37.356
30 831000000 256QAM -2.700 30 37.356
31 837000000 256QAM -3.100 31 37.636
32 843000000 256QAM -2.700 32 37.356
OFDM Downstream Overview
Receiver FFT type Subcarr 0 Frequency(MHz) PLC locked NCP locked MDC1 locked PLC power(dBmv)
0 NA NA NO NO NO NA
1 4K 275600000 YES YES YES 3.900002
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Bandwidth
1 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 29.750 5 6400000
2 38595824 ATDMA - 64QAM 33.250 6 3200000
3 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 30.000 4 6400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel Index State lin Digital Att Digital Att BW (sc's*fft) Report Power Report Power1_6 FFT Size
0 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K
1 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K

Now that I am aware of the no ranging response errors, hopefully my next call to Rogers will be more productive.  I thought I would post here first in case anything else stood out or if anyone could offer any other advice.  The only other information I can think to provide is that I live in a detached house in Brampton and the coax comes in through the basement by my electrical panel - I'm not certain where it actually comes from but I am assuming underground?  The house was built about 7-8 years ago.


Apologies for the massive wall of text but I wanted to be thorough.  Huge thank you to you all for the information and for continuing to work at this.  Sincerely hoping there is a solution and that this isn't simply a result of poor infrastructure.  I personally do not have the luxury of having multiple ISPs to choose from.

 

 
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Intermittent disconnects

I'll be writing a letter to the Ombudsman in regards to how incompetent Rogers' employees are, and that despite being in contact with who knows how many so-called service managers / presidents etc. don't seem to have any logs of my complaints in proper detail.

 

YOU know the problem is on your end, fix it and stop side-stepping the issue.

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Intermittent disconnects

As a follow-up, the senior technician arrived and discovered that my cable was connected to a third-party amplifier of some kind. So my particular intermittent disconnects were not due to infrastructure issues on Rogers' end, but someone added this amplifier/splitter in-between the Rogers box and my modem (which was interfering with the signal). I was also informed the house itself was causing some interference, but that he was going to shield it as best he could. It seems to have solved the issue. 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 9

Re: Intermittent disconnects

I too have been getting several disconnects a day for over a week now. Before that I was experience periodic slow speeds, but it got very bad about a week ago with the internet completely crashing several times a day since then

 

I have Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

 

At one point I was told by technical support it was a software issue with the modem and an update would be provided, not sure what happened with that.

 

Hitron CODA-4582 modem

 

A bunch of technical support calls last week, two service visits over the weekend and modem swapped, no improvement. This morning woke up, internet down, reboot modem. Rinse and repeat several times a day!

 

The last service visit was yesterday, technician ordered maintenance on the external box on street in front of my home. He thinks that might resolve the issue since apparently two other homes in my vicinity are experiencing internet disruptions. He could not do the maintenance himself, needed to request a maintenance crew. Not sure what this maintenance crew will do, but I do not need to be home

 

Not sure when this maintenance will be done, some time soon and I hope it fixes this!

 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 20

Re: Intermittent disconnects

same problem. Have given up. I do not have the luxury of choosing bell as well as they do not serve my area. The funny thing is my brothers house 5 mins away also gets these t3 timeouts but his disconnects are fewer than mine.

 

Right now i am averaging 3 disconnects a day and they happen in the morning, afternoon and at night.  The frontline techs and CSR's do not understand this issue at all. Called a tech once and he said everything is fine.

 

As usual he blamed my equipment.

 

It would be nice if the CSR's and techs would be briefed on these T3 timeouts better. I think one day when I have some time off will escalate this to the omsbudsman. 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 9

Re: Intermittent disconnects

 

 

 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,026

Re: Intermittent disconnects

In you're willing to switch to DSL/VDSL, then yes, switching to a TPIA is another route.  If you plan to go to a TPIA and still use cable service, then you end up in a worse situation due to all of the hoops and loops that the major ISPs force upon the TPIAs when it comes to troubleshooting a bad connection.  If you're planning to switch to a TPIA cable service, your best bet is to sort out all of the cable issues before you make the change.