Intermittent disconnects

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Constant packet losses and internet hiccups

 

Just wondering if anyone else has managed to solve any of the problems with Rogers internet. I recently moved into a new place and switched over to Rogers when their 150u deal was going on. Little did I know the headaches I was going to endure with this internet. Currently on the gigabit 150u plan using their Hitron CODA-4582 modem.

 

It started from the moment the technician left, after he said that my connection "solid". No. Everytime I try to watch a Youtube or Netflix video, the loading on either page would stop and I'd be forced to restart the page. Then other times I'd be Google searching content and the page would stop loading and go to a lost connection screen, again, forcing me to refresh the browser. Both these issues so far are present on Chrome/Firefox/IE.

 

Next up is my smart TV. Nither wifi or a wired connection would allow me to update or stream content. Everytime I'd try to update the TV I'd get a connection drop error. Figuring that something might be wrong with the TV, I hotspotted my mobile data to the TV and to my surprise was able to connect to everything on the TV.

And finally, when I game I am constantly disconnected from the service. I've run multiple traces getting a 100% loss on Roger's end and from the modem.

 

 

*I should prefix that I do not lose connectivity to the modem, more so that the connection is just constantly hiccuping.*

 

 

Long stories short... I'm having trouble with my internet and I'm wondering if people have managed to fix or work around this. If not, then I'm dropping Rogers. 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,066

Re: Intermittent disconnects


@NicolasC wrote:

Constant packet losses and internet hiccups

 

Just wondering if anyone else has managed to solve any of the problems with Rogers internet. I recently moved into a new place and switched over to Rogers when their 150u deal was going on. Little did I know the headaches I was going to endure with this internet. Currently on the gigabit 150u plan using their Hitron CODA-4582 modem.

 

It started from the moment the technician left, after he said that my connection "solid". No. Everytime I try to watch a Youtube or Netflix video, the loading on either page would stop and I'd be forced to restart the page. Then other times I'd be Google searching content and the page would stop loading and go to a lost connection screen, again, forcing me to refresh the browser. Both these issues so far are present on Chrome/Firefox/IE.

 

Next up is my smart TV. Nither wifi or a wired connection would allow me to update or stream content. Everytime I'd try to update the TV I'd get a connection drop error. Figuring that something might be wrong with the TV, I hotspotted my mobile data to the TV and to my surprise was able to connect to everything on the TV.

And finally, when I game I am constantly disconnected from the service. I've run multiple traces getting a 100% loss on Roger's end and from the modem.

 

 

*I should prefix that I do not lose connectivity to the modem, more so that the connection is just constantly hiccuping.*

 

 

Long stories short... I'm having trouble with my internet and I'm wondering if people have managed to fix or work around this. If not, then I'm dropping Rogers. 


Are all these issues happening over WiFi, or also with a hardware ethernet Lan cable? Can you log in to the modem goto DOCSIS WAN page and post the signal levels. The log in for the modem is:

user: cusadmin

password: what you used for your wifi password is the same password to log in to the modem. 

 

 



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Hi sorry for the late response, I was at work during the night. Yes, the problems occur over both an Ethernet and WIFI connection :/

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM4.400737.356
2849000000256QAM3.600237.356
3855000000256QAM3.400337.356
4861000000256QAM2.900437.356
5579000000256QAM4.200537.356
6585000000256QAM3.800637.636
7303000000256QAM3.700136.610
8597000000256QAM4.400837.636
9603000000256QAM4.100937.636
10609000000256QAM4.9001037.356
11615000000256QAM4.4001137.636
12621000000256QAM4.8001237.356
13633000000256QAM4.9001337.356
14639000000256QAM5.2001437.636
15645000000256QAM4.9001537.356
16651000000256QAM5.3001637.636
17657000000256QAM5.0001737.636
18663000000256QAM5.0001837.356
19669000000256QAM4.7001937.356
20675000000256QAM4.8002037.636
21681000000256QAM5.0002137.636
22687000000256QAM4.9002237.636
23693000000256QAM5.0002337.636
24699000000256QAM4.8002437.636
25705000000256QAM4.4002537.636
26711000000256QAM4.4002637.356
27717000000256QAM4.4002737.636
28723000000256QAM4.2002837.636
29825000000256QAM4.5002937.636
30831000000256QAM4.0003037.356
31837000000256QAM4.0003130.366
32843000000256QAM3.8003237.636
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES4.000000
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM31.00026400000
230596000ATDMA - 64QAM32.25036400000
313700000ATDMA - 64QAM29.75016400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,066

Re: Intermittent disconnects


@NicolasC wrote:

Hi sorry for the late response, I was at work during the night. Yes, the problems occur over both an Ethernet and WIFI connection :/

 

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 591000000 256QAM 4.400 7 37.356
2 849000000 256QAM 3.600 2 37.356
3 855000000 256QAM 3.400 3 37.356
4 861000000 256QAM 2.900 4 37.356
5 579000000 256QAM 4.200 5 37.356
6 585000000 256QAM 3.800 6 37.636
7 303000000 256QAM 3.700 1 36.610
8 597000000 256QAM 4.400 8 37.636
9 603000000 256QAM 4.100 9 37.636
10 609000000 256QAM 4.900 10 37.356
11 615000000 256QAM 4.400 11 37.636
12 621000000 256QAM 4.800 12 37.356
13 633000000 256QAM 4.900 13 37.356
14 639000000 256QAM 5.200 14 37.636
15 645000000 256QAM 4.900 15 37.356
16 651000000 256QAM 5.300 16 37.636
17 657000000 256QAM 5.000 17 37.636
18 663000000 256QAM 5.000 18 37.356
19 669000000 256QAM 4.700 19 37.356
20 675000000 256QAM 4.800 20 37.636
21 681000000 256QAM 5.000 21 37.636
22 687000000 256QAM 4.900 22 37.636
23 693000000 256QAM 5.000 23 37.636
24 699000000 256QAM 4.800 24 37.636
25 705000000 256QAM 4.400 25 37.636
26 711000000 256QAM 4.400 26 37.356
27 717000000 256QAM 4.400 27 37.636
28 723000000 256QAM 4.200 28 37.636
29 825000000 256QAM 4.500 29 37.636
30 831000000 256QAM 4.000 30 37.356
31 837000000 256QAM 4.000 31 30.366
32 843000000 256QAM 3.800 32 37.636
OFDM Downstream Overview
Receiver FFT type Subcarr 0 Frequency(MHz) PLC locked NCP locked MDC1 locked PLC power(dBmv)
0 NA NA NO NO NO NA
1 4K 275600000 YES YES YES 4.000000
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Bandwidth
1 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 31.000 2 6400000
2 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 32.250 3 6400000
3 13700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 29.750 1 6400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel Index State lin Digital Att Digital Att BW (sc's*fft) Report Power Report Power1_6 FFT Size
0 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K
1 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K

@NicolasC

 

Your upload signal is a little too low, this could be the source of your issues. I would suggest calling Rogers or sending a PM to @CommunityHelps asking them to run a signal check. It should fail the check because the upload signal is too low. They should then send a tech to correct the issue. 



I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Hitron CGN3 not connecting to DS frequency

 

Hey guys,

My issue is pretty much in the title. My internet has cut out multiple times over the past few days and I'm just getting a blinking downstream frequency light. No other lights are on when this happens. Is there anything I can do to attempt to reconnect the modem? I've tried resetting the modem and checked all of the cable to make sure nothing is disconnected by accident. Nothing has worked.

Thanks guys.

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,020

Re: Intermittent disconnects

@k_houghts  you can do one of two things:

 

1.  Call tech support and ask the CSR to run a signal check on the modem.  From what you're saying, that test should fail automatically, followed by a discussion to get a tech out to your home to determine what the problem is. 

 

2.  Log into the modem, navigate to the STATUS .... DOCSIS WAN tab, copy the downstream and upstream tables and paste them into a post.  Those are the cable signal levels and signal to noise ratios.   If they're bad enough, I'll indicate to you to go to step one.  If not, then we follow the bouncing ball, so to speak and see where this leads.



I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Hi,

 

I've been have these intermittent problems over the last couple of months.  I've called Rogers at least 10 times.  They always tell me signal strength is good.  I've changed the modem twice, the latest to the newer white CODA one.  I've had three techs over to my house 1) just changed the connectors on the cable for internet. 2) said there was signal noise and the underground cable should be replaced -- which I later found out that they weren't going to do 3) called in the "A-team" of techs -- he fixed some outside connections, fixed inside connectors, replaced the phone modem as well and said the signal noise was improved.

 

However, the problem keeps happening.  I'm posting the DOCSIS WAN, like others have, in case someone sees something that the dozen or so others haven't or has some suggestions.

 

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 693000000 256QAM 3.300 23 40.366
2 849000000 256QAM 0.700 2 38.605
3 855000000 256QAM 1.300 3 38.983
4 861000000 256QAM 1.200 4 38.983
5 579000000 256QAM 1.300 5 40.366
6 585000000 256QAM 1.100 6 38.983
7 591000000 256QAM 0.700 7 38.983
8 597000000 256QAM 0.300 8 40.366
9 603000000 256QAM 0.500 9 38.983
10 609000000 256QAM 0.900 10 38.983
11 615000000 256QAM 1.300 11 38.983
12 621000000 256QAM 1.600 12 40.366
13 633000000 256QAM 2.100 13 40.366
14 639000000 256QAM 2.300 14 40.946
15 645000000 256QAM 2.400 15 40.366
16 651000000 256QAM 2.600 16 40.946
17 657000000 256QAM 2.800 17 40.366
18 663000000 256QAM 2.800 18 40.366
19 669000000 256QAM 3.100 19 40.366
20 675000000 256QAM 3.100 20 40.366
21 681000000 256QAM 3.500 21 40.946
22 687000000 256QAM 3.400 22 40.946
23 303000000 256QAM 0.200 1 37.636
24 699000000 256QAM 3.100 24 40.366
25 705000000 256QAM 3.200 25 40.946
26 711000000 256QAM 3.300 26 40.946
27 717000000 256QAM 2.900 27 40.366
28 723000000 256QAM 3.200 28 40.366
29 825000000 256QAM 2.200 29 40.946
30 831000000 256QAM 1.300 30 38.983
31 837000000 256QAM 0.800 31 38.983
32 843000000 256QAM 1.000 32 38.983
OFDM Downstream Overview
Receiver FFT type Subcarr 0 Frequency(MHz) PLC locked NCP locked MDC1 locked PLC power(dBmv)
0 NA NA NO NO NO NA
1 4K 275600000 YES YES YES 0.000000
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Bandwidth
1 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 35.750 2 6400000
2 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 38.000 3 3200000
3 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 36.250 1 6400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel Index State lin Digital Att Digital Att BW (sc's*fft) Report Power Report Power1_6 FFT Size
0 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K
1 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K

 

I also see the following errors many times in the DOCSIS Event page:

1911/07/2017 01:28:5868010300errorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
2011/07/2017 02:52:3482000200criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

 

A bunch of tickets have been opened and I'll get a 'problem has been fixed' message, but obviously not.

 

 

Thanks in advance for any help.

 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,066

Re: Intermittent disconnects

The signal levels and signal to noise ratio all look good. When you have your disconnects, is it wireless devices or wired devices, or both?

 

What does the modem do when these problems happen, do the lights on the front go out and the modem reboots?

 



I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Intermittent disconnects


@gp-se wrote:

The signal levels and signal to noise ratio all look good. When you have your disconnects, is it wireless devices or wired devices, or both?

 

 


Both


 

What does the modem do when these problems happen, do the lights on the front go out and the modem reboots?

 


At the beginning, the arrows wouldn't be lit, but the others were.  I'd reboot then all is ok.  Other times, I wait a bit before checking and then when I do, all the lights are ok, and then the internet works ok again.

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Intermittent disconnects

Disconnected Every 10 minutes since last night

 

Was up late at night playing video games when it started assumed it was rogers end again, woke up still doing it so i just unpluged everything and took a nap and its still doing it when i woke up.

 

Connecting to the Router or the Rogers provided modem doesn't make any difference rebooting it doesnt make any difference and its every computer on my network but all the lights still indicate a connection.