How to disable SIP/ALG on Hitron CGN3

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
something1965
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 33

Re: How to disable SIP/ALG on Hitron CGN3

SIP Registration issues on multiple accounts

 

Ever since Rogers changed me from CGN2 to CGN3 modem I cannot seem to get all 4 SIP accounts registered to their servers.

I had this issue with my one and only Broadsoft account about 2 years ago when they gave me a Cisco modem where I could not get that account to work no matter what settings were change so I had to get the CGN2 back.

Bridged Mode - disabled Residential Getaway 

Tried SIP/ALG disabled or enabled....works for some not the others.

 

I currently have:

CGN3 modem in bridged mode

DIR-878 Dlink Router

 

I have these 4 SIP accounts with:

Broadsoft

CallCentric

Sipgate

Voip.MS

 

I had these when it worked fine:

CGN2 modem in bridged mode

DIR-655 Dlink Modem

 

You can see that with the CGN3 not working I went and bought a new modem needlessly.

 

What is it with the CGN3 and Cisco modems that differs from the CGN2?

Seems to me even thought they are in Bridged mode something is blocking.

 

Thanks

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

______________________________________
Current Mobile: Samsung S8
Current Cable Modem: Hitron CGN3 Rocket
Current Home Phone Modem: Cisco DPC2203C
Nortel Norstar & BCM Specialist
Dedication level: Same cell number since1988 (Cantel)
Datalink
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 7,187

Re: How to disable SIP/ALG on Hitron CGN3

@something1965, have a look at the English user manual for your router, which can be downloaded here:

http://support.dlink.ca/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DIR-878

 

Look at the SIP note contained on page 67, within the Firewall settings.  You will have to ensure that the SIP is disabled in the router.  If your modem is in Bridge mode, it will not interfere with the SIP/ALG function of devices connected thru a follow-on router. 

 

With the CGN3, if you run the modem in Gateway mode, you will have to call tech support to disable the SIP/ALG.  The later CGN3xxxx modems running later version firmware should have a SIP/ALG enable/disable function within the BASIC .... GATEWAY FUNCTION tab.  That tab can only be accessed when the modem is running in Gateway mode.  In Bridge mode the modem should act as a transparent bridge and once again you would have to disable the SIP/ALG in the connected router. 

 

 



something1965
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 33

Re: How to disable SIP/ALG on Hitron CGN3

Thanks for the reply

My email replies was turned off sorry for long delay.

 

Per above I had disabled SIP/ALG but in the end I resolved it by having to change a setting on the router to compensate the modem change, been too long so I forget which setting.....maybe UPnP but that and ALL firewall advanced settings are now turned Off.

 

Cheers

 

______________________________________
Current Mobile: Samsung S8
Current Cable Modem: Hitron CGN3 Rocket
Current Home Phone Modem: Cisco DPC2203C
Nortel Norstar & BCM Specialist
Dedication level: Same cell number since1988 (Cantel)
hannajTO
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: How to disable SIP/ALG on Hitron CGN3

I see the note below in various replies about this topic, but nowhere do I see what steps @CommunityHelps recommends to resolve this issue. How do I disable SIP/ALG? Thank you

 

**Edit** As of August 1st 2016 please contact @CommunityHelps for assistance with disabling SIP/ALG on your Rogers modem.

Datalink
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 7,187

Re: How to disable SIP/ALG on Hitron CGN3

@hannajTO log into the modem and navigate to BASIC .... GATEWAY FUNCTION.  If the firmware has been updated to include it, you should see a SIP ALG enable/disable function at the bottom of the list.  While you're there, I'd also disable UPNP as well, unless you know that you want it for gaming purposes.

 

If the SIP/ALG is not on that page, then it will be time to contact tech support to disable it. 



Pratikkumar
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: How to disable SIP/ALG on Hitron CGN3

What about the new ignite modem (black colour)
something1965
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 33

Re: How to disable SIP/ALG on Hitron CGN3

Try Advanced/Options

______________________________________
Current Mobile: Samsung S8
Current Cable Modem: Hitron CGN3 Rocket
Current Home Phone Modem: Cisco DPC2203C
Nortel Norstar & BCM Specialist
Dedication level: Same cell number since1988 (Cantel)
Tomaso
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: How to disable SIP/ALG on Hitron CGN3

Has anyone been able to install a working SIP phone using the Hitron CGN3 router without using it in Bridge mode?

 

tfc

something1965
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 33

Re: How to disable SIP/ALG on Hitron CGN3

Your question has nothing to do with this topic.

"How to disable SIP/ALG on Hitron CGN3"

 

If possible, please start a new thread, thanks.

 

 

 

 

 

 

______________________________________
Current Mobile: Samsung S8
Current Cable Modem: Hitron CGN3 Rocket
Current Home Phone Modem: Cisco DPC2203C
Nortel Norstar & BCM Specialist
Dedication level: Same cell number since1988 (Cantel)
Tomaso
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: How to disable SIP/ALG on Hitron CGN3

Actually, I thought this was the right thread to post my question. The very first post, and most of the others, relate to methods of disabling the SIP/ALG in order to use their SIP devices. I see lots of suggestions to disable the function, I'm just curious to know if anyone actually accomplished what they were trying to do by disabling.

 

If this is still viewed as not the appropriate thread, then I will post new one.

 

tnx ... tfc