cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hitron CGN3ACSMR software v. 4.5.8.45 - internet connection fails when in bridge mode

User021
I plan to stick around

I have been using bridge mode for many years.

Starting a couple of months ago, my internet connection would fail periodically. Rebooting the rogers modem and my router (Asus RT-AC87U), the internet would recover.

Starting a week ago, the internet would fail multiple times per day. After contacting Rogers tech support, they said that the modem / signal levels were fine. I went ahead and purchased a new Asus AX-11000, but the problem persisted. The router was reporting errors: "DHCP does not function correctly"

I phoned Rogers tech support again, and this time the technician said that he was seeing an issue with the 'node' on my street.

He opened a ticket and said that I would be contacted.

Three days went by, and I called back, and was told by a third tech support rep, that they would dispatch a technician to the house.

During the visit, he said that the node was definitely having issues, and he say that there were eight modems that were all failing at the same time. He also said that Rogers does not support bridge mode.

He suggested hooking up a computer directly to the modem (still in bridge mode), and when I used a Mac Book air, the Mac was able to obtain an IP address, and the internet appeared to work.

So, the tech basically said at that point that the Asus routers were not compatible with bridge mode. But,  I had been using the exact same router for years, so any change must have happened at the Rogers end.

There are lots of posts on the web related to dhcp issues with Rogers - some very detailed, discussing that the unicast dhcp server address not being served up correctly.

What I can't reconcile is why the mac's dhcp client implementation seems to work but the Asus (on two different models) did not?