High Pings and Ping Jitter with CGN3 and CGN3AC Modem

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: High Pings and Ping Jitter with CGN3 and CGN3AC Modem

Using LAN ethernet connection not wifi 

 

Target Name: www.google.com
IP: 209.148.199.54
Date/Time: 3/25/2016 8:10:40 PM to 3/25/2016 8:11:28 PM

Hop Sent Err PL% Min Max Avg Host Name / [IP]
1 20 0 0.0 0 0 0 [192.168.1.1]
2 20 0 0.0 0 1 0 hitronhub.home [192.168.0.1]
3 20 0 0.0 8 27 17 [7.11.163.85]
4 20 0 0.0 13 35 18 gw01.baol.phub.net.cable.rogers.com [66.185.91.41]
5 20 0 0.0 15 45 24 so-4-1-0.gw02.wlfdle.phub.net.cable.rogers.com [66.185.81.230]
6 20 0 0.0 17 45 26 [24.156.157.82]
7 20 0 0.0 15 38 22 cal58-5-199-54.dynamic.rogerstelecom.net [209.148.199.54]

 

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1651000000256QAM-11.6001035.780
2591000000256QAM-11.200136.387
3597000000256QAM-11.200236.610
4603000000256QAM-11.700336.387
5609000000256QAM-11.700435.595
6615000000256QAM-11.200535.780
7621000000256QAM-11.200635.595
8633000000256QAM-11.300735.780
9639000000256QAM-11.500835.780
10645000000256QAM-11.500935.780
11657000000256QAM-11.8001135.595
12663000000256QAM-11.8001235.084
13669000000256QAM-11.60013335.595
14675000000256QAM-12.00013435.084
15681000000256QAM-11.80013535.595
16687000000256QAM-11.90013635.595
17693000000256QAM-12.40013735.084
18699000000256QAM-12.70013835.084
19705000000256QAM-12.00013935.780
20711000000256QAM-12.00014035.780
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandWidth
130596000ATDMA - 64QAM49.25026400000
223700000ATDMA - 64QAM49.25036400000
338596000ATDMA - 64QAM49.25013200000

 

 

 

 

 

 

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: High Pings and Ping Jitter with CGN3 and CGN3AC Modem

After not being with Rogers for 3 years, re-joined thanks to the 100u/10d promotion in Toronto (as far as I know). I remember when we had rogers, gaming on the network was usually filled with lag and connection issues thanks to throttling and the GCN2 modem's port forwarding and UPNP issues. 

 

I'm sad to see that the GCN3ACSMR still has a very restrictive UI and bad firmware. Port forwarding my Xbox One opened my NAT (even though UPNP is on for the modem), however playing The Division, I'm getting lag spikes that freeze me for up to 2 seconds coming up every 10 seconds. Battlefield 4 on my PC has the same issues. I really don't understand how Rogers still hasn't fixed these issues, as some google searches shows people even from 3-4 years ago complaining about the same issues. I was with Teksavvy and Bell before, each of their modems had fantastic UI and settings that Rogers should copy. 

 

I've tried everything to fix this lag issue; at least, everything the very restrictive modem settings allow me to. Does running the modem in bridge mode with a router fix this for anyone? 

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: High Pings and Ping Jitter with CGN3 and CGN3AC Modem

My thread got moved here, and what a surprise this is still an issue with Rogers. Tech ditched me on rogers chat and on their twitter page, and now reading this thread it looks like they dismiss it as "no issue found". 4 days back with Rogers I'm already regretting this. 

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: High Pings and Ping Jitter with CGN3 and CGN3AC Modem

Rogers cable internet in general is bad for gaming. I now have a bell dsl connection which I use strictly for online gaming and it's flawless. My ping to servers are 10ms less and zero jitter. The bandwidth sucks so I'm forced to have both bell and Rogers. Once I get bell fibe i will be able to can me my Rogers. I look forward to that day
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,107

Re: High Pings and Ping Jitter with CGN3 and CGN3AC Modem

@Marando looks like you have an external cable and/or connector problem on the go.  Your downstream signal levels are far below what they should be and the signal to noise ratios are at the bottom of the normal range.  The modem upstream signal levels are elevated, nearing the modem's power output cutoff point for three upstream channels. 

 

Typically the the downstream levels are at or near 0 dBmV with a signal to noise ratio of 36 to 40 dB.  The upstream levels are normally between 36 to 40 dBmV.

 

The external cables don't last forever, and every few years require replacement due to signal losses caused by weathering.  That is a routine event.

 

Call tech support, have the CSR run a signal check on the modem.  The low downstream levels and high upstream levels should be easily detected.  That plus the ongoing conversation should lead to a tech visiting your home in the near future. 

 

When all is said and done, can you post the same downstream and upstream tables, just to see how they turned out. 



Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,107

Re: High Pings and Ping Jitter with CGN3 and CGN3AC Modem

@Shankovich can you log into the modem, navigate to the STATUS..... DOCSIS WAN page, copy the downstream and upstream tables and paste them into this thread.  You can copy and paste the text contents of the tables, so you don't have to  copy and post an image.

 The next  item to check is whether or not you are seeing any issues with the next node beyond the modem, either in terms of high ping times or packet losses.  If you load the pingplotter from www.pingplotter.com, you can use that to determine if there are any issues between your pc and the end server you are connecting to.  When you have the program loaded run a test to something like www.google.ca  On the pingplotter display, right click to bring up the menu items.  Select "Customize View" and select all of the items for display.  

Looking at that display will tell you if you have any issues with the nodes that are in use between your pc, up to and including the end server.  What you shouldn't see are any excessive ping times or packet losses, especially at the first node beyond the router.   You can extract the data from pingplotter by using the Edit .... Copy as Image or Copy as Text option.  If you capture the image, you can paste that into something like MS Paint and then insert that saved image into a post, or paste the text into a posting so that we can have a look at it.  The mods will have to approve the image for public display before it will be visible to everyone.  

 

Between the signal levels and pingplot, we'll have a much better idea of what the problem might be.



I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: High Pings and Ping Jitter with CGN3 and CGN3AC Modem

@DatalinkThanks for your reply: Would you have answers to a few of my questions below? 

 

How much roughly would it cost for them to come out and fix,

 

Would they need access to inside my house becasue Im not sure if anyone can be home during the day or is theis a problem they can fix from outside?

 

Also, again I only notice this issue with gaming, my speed tests and all other internet uses seem fine so how can the low signal affect my internet: http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5204082686

 

Thanks

 

 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,107

Re: High Pings and Ping Jitter with CGN3 and CGN3AC Modem

@Marando there wouldn't be any cost to you.  Replacing cables and connectors due to aging is an continuous task throughout the network.  The tech would need access to your home to ensure that the splitter configuration that may be in place at the present time still meets your needs, and he or she would need to check the final signal levels at the modem(s) to ensure that they are adequate.  The problem itself is most likely with the external cable that leads to your home, but, after replacing that cable and its connectors, the tech would still need access to your modem to ensure that the end to end signal levels are in spec.  Tech support can probably arrange for a tech visit during the evening or weekends.

 

The signal levels would probably cause the Cable Modem Termination System and the modem to transmit the same data packets more than once due to the signal losses.  When you are using the internet for anything but gaming the time taken to transmit the same packet more than once, if necessary would not be noticeable.  But, in gaming, that time for retransmission can lead to increased latency.  That's where you would notice it. 

 

There is also the possibility that you have a congestion issue at the first node just beyond the modem.  If the node was overloaded or had a technical fault, that could cause the same latency issue.  If you follow the instructions in the post above to load pingplotter, posting an image from pingplotter when you see the latency issue arise would confirm whether or not there was an issue at the node.  But, the first step is to resolve the signal level issue, then tackle any other latency that can be seen with pingplotter.

 

Edit:  Maybe I should clarify my first statement.  If the cabling and equipment was in its original configuration, as installed by a technician some time ago, there would be no charge.  If you had added your own signal amplifier, splitters, etc and the tech determined that the problem was with customer installed equipment, then you would be responsible for the cost of the tech visit.



Highlighted
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: High Pings and Ping Jitter with CGN3 and CGN3AC Modem

Dear s1lva166,

 

Your problem is likely due to bad modem chip design from Intel. Your modem has a Intel Puma 6 chipset (http://www.hitron-americas.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/CGN3-datasheet2.pdf) and people in http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r31079834-ALL-SB6190-is-a-terrible-modem-Intel-Puma-6-MaxLinear-mist... have reported terrible ping jitter with modems that have the Pumda 6 chipset. One can only hope Rogers will be able to push Hitron/Intel to release a firmware upgrade to fix this problem.