Extremely high Ping

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Extremely high Ping

very high ping to my modem (CGN3ROG)

 

Hi, over the past few months, I noticed constant lag and disconnects during online games. 

It seems like I have very high ping to my modem(CGN3ROG). I'm on a wired connection.

I also made sure the modem didn't have any other devices connected to it when I was testing.

 

The things I tried are listed here, but I always got the same result:

  1. factory resetting my modem
  2. switching my Ethernet cable.
  3. plugging my modem to a different power outlet.
  4. testing using another computer.
  5. testing using wireless connection.

Here's some screenshots:

Capture2.PNG

Capture.PNG

 

Also, here's my Down and Up stream signals:

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Signal noise ratio (dB) Channel ID
1 693000000 256QAM 11.000 36.610 23
2 579000000 256QAM 10.100 36.610 5
3 585000000 256QAM 10.400 37.636 6
4 591000000 256QAM 10.300 37.356 7
5 597000000 256QAM 10.800 37.356 8
6 603000000 256QAM 10.800 37.356 9
7 609000000 256QAM 11.000 37.356 10
8 615000000 256QAM 10.900 37.356 11
9 621000000 256QAM 11.300 37.356 12
10 633000000 256QAM 11.600 36.610 13
11 639000000 256QAM 11.700 37.356 14
12 645000000 256QAM 11.700 37.636 15
13 651000000 256QAM 11.800 37.356 16
14 657000000 256QAM 11.300 36.610 17
15 663000000 256QAM 11.700 36.610 18
16 669000000 256QAM 11.100 37.356 19
17 675000000 256QAM 11.400 36.610 20
18 681000000 256QAM 11.200 36.610 21
19 687000000 256QAM 11.600 37.356 22
20 303000000 256QAM 6.800 36.610 1
21 699000000 256QAM 11.500 37.356 24
22 705000000 256QAM 11.300 36.387 25
23 711000000 256QAM 11.900 36.610 26
24 717000000 256QAM 11.200 36.610 27
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) BandWidth Modulation Type Signal Strength (dBmV) Channel ID
1 23700000 6400000 ATDMA 34.250 2
2 38596000 3200000 ATDMA 36.000 3
3 30596000 6400000 ATDMA 34.250 1

 

Any help would be greatly apprecated.

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,147

Re: Extremely high Ping

@edison12, your downstream signal levels are too high.  They should be clustered around 0 dBmv.  When you have time, can you take a quick look where the incoming cable connects to your house cables.  Check for a passive splitter or for a powered amplifier.  If its a powered amplifier, can you have a look at the model number at the front of the splitter and try to determine what port the internet cable is sitting on?  Please let me know what you find.  

 

The issue of high ping times to the modem was resolved a long time ago, so, I'd like to see a plot for the modem itself.  Can you run a test, using 192.168.0.1 as the target and drop the time down to 0.1seconds.  Let that run for 5 min and post the plot please.  

 

The second point of interest is the time to the second hop, 99.228.43.1.  That average time should be down around 12 ms or lower.  31 ms to the Cable Modem Termination System is pretty high.  So, can you do the same for that address.  Run that address as the target, with 0.1 second intervals and let it run for 5 min.  Please post that as well. 

 

The last point to look at is the Rogers to Cogent interface, which sits between hop #5 and #6.  209.148.229.210 is the last Rogers server outbound, 154.54.9.9 is the first Cogent server outbound.  There is a 36.5 ms jump in time from server to server and that time offset carries on to the end target.  Since this is outbound to Pingplotter.com I'm not overly concerned about it, but, if you happen to be gaming or running some application that runs thru those two servers, then that is a problem.  The only way to solve that problem would be for the staff @CommunityHelps to forward an observation/complaint to the Network Operations Center to look at the problem.  My guess would be a capacity problem in the link between the two servers.  Only people who can resolve that are Rogers and Cogent network staff.  Fwiw, Rogers uses Cogent to route traffic, so, there is a high probability that traffic that you're concerned with will route down thru the U.S. before returning to Canada, taking a circuitous route and adding latency to any traffic that runs from an original point in Canada to an end point in Canada. 



I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Extremely high Ping

Ping skyscrapers

 

Hi fellows,

 

I recently moved to a new unit in a condominium in Toronto at 10 York St (brand new condo). Rogers has a partnership apparently with the condo. As we have a 6 months free plan but if it's so slow like that I'll have to choose another ISP.... The technician from Rogers has recently installed internet in my unit but it doesn't work properly: it's very slow... When I test my connection on Speedtest everything seems perfect but in reality the connection is very slow. It's like I loose the internet signal for 5 seconds every 10-15 seconds and then the internet is back and again I loose the signal 5 seconds and so on. I noticed my ping is not good and presents some pics sometimes: some pics at 800 ms...

Please find below the results from Ping Plotter, windows console and other services:

 pingplotter.png

 

Ping Test.PNG

 

Tracing.PNG

 

Ping test 2.PNG

 

 

Regarding my settings:
- Provider: Rogers
- Plan: Ignite 60u (60 Mega download and 10 Mega upload)
- Modem: Hitron
- Network: fiber

 

I spoke with my neighbours on the same floor in the condo and they experience the same issue. In their case, the technician from Rogers came three times, changed the hardware and everything but the issue is still here. Which is odd is that we have a public wifi in the amenities and it works perfectly without slowness. I read some posts on this forum about ping issues with Rogers, apparently it's quite common...

 

My questions are:
- What do you recommend me to do to diagnose my internet connection: what tests do you recommend do with which websites/softwares? If a technician comes I want to be aware of the issue and support him if possible.

-  Apparently the root cause of this high ping is not between my computer and router/modem. What could be the causes for some pics of high ping? Are you aware of this technical issue in that condo? What does Rogers propose to fix that?

 

Thanks in advance fro your response and your help!

 

Cheers !

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,541

Re: Extremely high Ping

Hello, @lexignot.

 

Welcome to the Rogers Community Forums! 🙂

 

Thank you for posting your concern with all the details and images. Such a high latency could happen for many reasons, and it's certainly not a pleasant occurrence. 

 

Since the high ping is not internal in your network, we can run further run diagnostics to confine the issue. Please send us a private message at @CommunityHelps. You can find details about our private messaging in this blog.

 

Cheers,

RogersMoin

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,147

Re: Extremely high Ping

@lexignot, just to add some data for @RogersMoin, you can do the following:

 

  1. Run a ping test to the modem using an Ethernet connected device. From your posted image, you have high ping times to the modem. You should be seeing an average of 1 ms or less on the Pingplotter data.  Do this for both IPV4 – 192.168.0.1, and the Hop #1 IPV6 address that shows on the Pingplotter display.  When you run this test, use those addresses as the target IP address and drop the ping interval down to 0.5 ms.  You can run lower intervals by manually entering the interval, ie:  0.1, 0.01 seconds, etc.  In this test case we’re looking for latency and any packet loss.
  2. Run a ping test to the second IP address in the Pingplotter trace list. That IP address is either the MDU, or CMTS that the modem is connected to.  The MDU is a Multiple Dwelling Unit used in large apartment buildings.  The CMTS is the Cable modem Termination System which is typically used in residential neighborhoods.  You could be connected to either one, depending on the size of your apartment building.  If your modem connects to an MDU, then there could be an issue with the MDU that requires repair or replacement. Depending on which model of Hitron modem you have, you could see packet loss from the modem when you run this test.  That’s a false packet loss indication generated by timing issues in the modem.  Assuming that you have run a test to the modem as indicated above, with no packet loss, that proves that the modem itself or path to the modem doesn’t have a packet loss issue.  Ignore any packet loss indications from the modem on this test if you happen to see any.  The larger question here is what do you see for latency and packet loss.  Again, depending on the modem, you could see regular latency spikes from the modem.  If so, that’s the modem timing issue at work.  Ignore those latency spikes.  The packet loss indications should be accurate.  That will be interesting to see if in fact there is a packet loss problem to the MDU or CMTS.  Run that test at 0.5 second intervals for now. 
  3. Lastly, if there is an issue with latency to the MDU or CMTS with the modem that you have, the next step is to run a ping test to the DNS. This will basically show whether or not there is a latency issue when the data transits thru the building MDU or the CMTS.  Use the Rogers DNS for this as it keeps the ping transit to a minimum and keeps the test within the Rogers network for now, instead of crossing any ISP borders.  The DNS addresses are as follows:

 

64.71.255.204                                               

64.71.255.198
2607:f798:18:10:0:640:7125:5204
2607:f798:18:10:0:640:7125:5198

 

Some General notes:

 

When you post a ping plotter image, using an IPV4 image isn’t a problem.  IPV6 is a problem as it includes the modems exact IPV6 address, unless you’ve deleted the IP address from Hop #1 on the image.  If you want to post an IPV6 plot please ensure that you’ve manually deleted/erased the Hop #1 IP address from the plot.  I’ll ask the moderators to delete the first image from your post as I’d prefer that MAC addresses and IPV6 addresses are not left out in the open.  This is for your own online security.

 

Pingplotter and Hitron modems can result in confusing results, which is why I indicated a stepped test approach detailed above, proving that the path to the modem is running correctly, then testing the path to the MDU or CMTS, then going beyond to the DNS.  Only when that is done should anyone consider testing beyond the Rogers border.  That applies to any ISP, not just Rogers.  The assumption is that all is well within the ISP, but, that might not be the case, and the only way to know that is to step thru a test, starting with the modem itself and working outwards.  You really need to know up front that the combination of Pingplotter and Hitron modems can result in confusing or quirky results and be able to determine what's a correct result, and what isn't. 

 

Pingplotter averages the displayed data, but, doesn’t advertise that fact.  It comes down to displaying a given number of horizontal data points in the selected display timeframe, ie:  60 seconds, 5 min, 10 min, etc.  Every time you increase the timeframe to be displayed, Pingplotter crams more data points into the display.  Instead of preserving the high and low points, it averages the data points.  So, even if you had high ping times in the data, as seen in the MAX time data in the upper text data, the plot can actually look ok.  As you increase the timeframe, up into the 24, 48 hour times or longer, the plot will flatten out and look fine.  That’s due to Pingplotter’s choice to average the display instead of preserving the high and low points on the plot itself.  The newest version of Pingplotter will display the number of data points and the high and low in a data pop up when you park the curser in the lower plot area of the display.  As you scroll left or right, it will show the applicable data for the vertical data point that the curser is located on.   

 

To get around the averaging problem, if you run the default 2.5 second interval, you should be able to display 24 hours of data without any averaging.  You can let the tets run for a longer period of time using whatever interval you want, but, if you want to see the results without any averaging, select 2.5 second intervals and a time display of 24 hours or less.  Running a test for 24 hours to the DNS will show if you have a persistent latency issue throughout the day.  While the latency will increase during the evening when everyone is home, gaming, streaming video, etc, during the very early morning hours from midnight to about 6 am, that plot should flatten out with very few latency spikes if any.  Continued latency spikes would confirm that there is some issue afoot.  Using the DNS as a target for later testing will also allow you to keep any eye on whether or not any progress is being made over the next few days, weeks, months.

 

Hope this helps.  Please let me know if you have any questions on the issue.  @RogersMoin should be able to get the ball rolling for a field tech.  The question is where does the problem lie?  That will determine what level of tech is required, a contractor tech or Rogers tech who is qualified to repair or replace the MDU.

 

Edit:  Can you expand the MAX, MIN, AVG, etc columns slight so that you can see the whole number.  You can slide the column borders around to do that.



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 14

Re: Extremely high Ping

Oh thank god, Datalink is here Smiley Very Happy

 

I've been getting high-ish ping numbers for the last week or so where previously, I would always get 9-11ms times. No matter when I perform a test now, the lowest I can achieve is 30ms. Strange.

 

 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,147

Re: Extremely high Ping

@Dascombe can you repost the image.  Looks like @RogersCilio deleted it, most likely due to a MAC address or IPV6 (?) WAN IP address on the image.  Can you remove the data in question and repost the image? If you have a read thru my instructions above can you consider running the same stepped approach to test to the modem, CMTS/MDU and then the DNS?  Hopefully that would shed some light on the situation. 

 

Edit:  Are you running the ping test via ethernet or wifi?



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 14

Re: Extremely high Ping

Thanks Datalink, I don't know why my image was deleted, it was a simple Tracert command from Windows command prompt to: www.google.com. My IP Address isn't shown and neither is my MAC address and I'm not using iPV6. Anyway, here it is again:

 

tracert.jpg

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,147

Re: Extremely high Ping

@Dascombe, to post a tracert or any other info from the command box, right click on the top title bar of the command box.  Select Edit .... Select All.  Right click on the title bar again and select Edit .... Copy.  You can then paste that into a post, or paste it into something like notepad first if you want to clean up the data, then copy and paste from notepad.  Here's a trace to google.com.  In this case I have the modem running in Gateway mode for test purposes with my router behind it.  Kinda goofy as it causes a double NAT situation behind the router, but, I can connect directly to the modem for testing at the same time. 

 

By pasting the text data, the mods don't have to approve any images, so this is much faster. 

 

>tracert www.google.com

 

Tracing route to www.google.com [172.217.0.228]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

 

1     <1 ms  <1 ms     <1 ms     router.asus.com 
2       1 ms   <1 ms       1 ms     92.168.0.1
3    13 ms    12 ms       9 ms     99.239.32.1
4    10 ms    11 ms    11 ms      67.231.221.73
5    16 ms    23 ms    15 ms      209.148.231.73
6    17 ms    15 ms    15 ms      9300-cgw01.bloor.rmgt.net.rogers.com [209.148.229.225]
7    15 ms    17 ms    15 ms      209.148.235.137
8    17 ms    15 ms    15 ms      72.14.209.126
9    * * * Request timed out.
10    17 ms    17 ms    17 ms    108.170.226.208
11    17 ms    17 ms    16 ms    108.170.226.217
12    16 ms    16 ms    15 ms     yyz10s03-in-f4.1e100.net [172.217.0.228]

 

 



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 14

Re: Extremely high Ping

Ah, didn't realize that images were mod approved but I guess that's prudent. Anyway, here's the text of another Tracert:

 

Tracing route to www.google.com [172.217.1.36]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  router.asus.com [192.168.1.1]
  2    11 ms    13 ms     8 ms  99.251.240.1
  3    59 ms    11 ms    10 ms  66.185.91.85
  4    19 ms    15 ms    17 ms  209.148.229.149
  5    53 ms    40 ms    34 ms  209.148.229.245
  6   106 ms    39 ms    41 ms  9301-cgw01.ym.rmgt.net.rogers.com [209.148.229.229]
  7    33 ms    47 ms    43 ms  209.148.235.133
  8    33 ms    33 ms    33 ms  72.14.209.126
  9     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 10    34 ms    34 ms    32 ms  108.170.226.220
 11    34 ms    37 ms    33 ms  108.170.250.242
 12    44 ms    45 ms    47 ms  74.125.252.186
 13    45 ms    44 ms    43 ms  216.239.57.76
 14    43 ms    44 ms    43 ms  108.170.244.1
 15    44 ms    42 ms    53 ms  216.239.41.163
 16    43 ms    42 ms    42 ms  ord37s07-in-f4.1e100.net [172.217.1.36]

Trace complete.

 

Seems to be the latency spikes between hops 4 & 5.