Continuing performance issues while gaming - Hitron CGN3ACSMR

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Continuing performance issues while gaming - Hitron CGN3ACSMR

Hello,

 

I've had continuining problems since about May of this year.

I switched to the ignite plan around that time, and was given the CGN3 router. I've since then switch the router several times to varying CGN3 routers (and I'm currently on the CGN3ACSMR model).

 

Because I've summerized my problems to rogers customer support on mutliple occassions, I've gotten quite good at narrowing down my concerns, which I'll do so in point form below. I should also point out, I've tried multiple computers, and laptops on this WIRED connection, and similar problems occur on all of them, which has ruled out hardware issues on my end. Here are the issues:

 

- I experience heavy swings in ping while gaming - some days it will be constant, based to this particular NY server, I'll get between 30-40. As of late, I'm fluctating between 40 and 60. Furthermore, I experience "rubberbanding", which is when my position, and that of others in the server, corrects itself as if it had lost, or missed information being sent about our positions.

 

- I experience packet loss - Doing pings to google.ca, I can see a loss at times between 5-10% packet loss. One tech on the phone agreed they were seeing up to 60% packetloss (I don't know how they checked this), but then the techs that show up all say everything is fine with my connection.

 

- I recieve frequent time outs when doing these pings to google.ca. Also the ping times to google vary between 19ms, to 160ms, with an average of 32ms.

 

Example of my pinging google.ca


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Slav>ping google.ca -n 20

Pinging google.ca [173.194.43.127] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=20ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=56
Request timed out.
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=56
Reply from 173.194.43.127: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 173.194.43.127:
    Packets: Sent = 20, Received = 19, Lost = 1 (5% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 15ms, Maximum = 44ms, Average = 22ms

- When I try to connect to a website, it does not immediately respond. Any website. Once it connects, the load times are fast.  The speedtest shows the speed is amazing.

 

- I get tons of errors on my DOCSIS event window tab, that no tech can explain to me. They occur everyday, multiple times a day. Here's the first ten I grabbed just now.

 

1 12/08/15 02:34:20 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=00:fc:8d:b0:a1:90;CMTS-MAC=00:1b:54:cb:5f:76;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2 12/08/15 02:42:36 68010300 error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=00:fc:8d:b0:a1:90;CMTS-MAC=00:1b:54:cb:5f:76;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
3 12/08/15 02:42:36 68010600 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-bac10500010600fc8db0a190 modified;CM-MAC=00:fc:8d:b0:a1:90;CMTS-MAC=00:1b:54:cb:5f:76;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
4 12/08/15 18:12:02 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=00:fc:8d:b0:a1:90;CMTS-MAC=00:1b:54:cb:5f:76;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
5 12/08/15 18:15:01 84000500 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=00:fc:8d:b0:a1:90;CMTS-MAC=00:1b:54:cb:5f:76;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
6 12/08/15 18:15:06 84020200 warning Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=00:fc:8d:b0:a1:90;CMTS-MAC=00:1b:54:cb:5f:76;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
7 12/08/15 18:15:50 82000400 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=00:fc:8d:b0:a1:90;CMTS-MAC=00:1b:54:cb:5f:76;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
8 12/08/15 18:16:55 84000500 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=00:fc:8d:b0:a1:90;CMTS-MAC=00:1b:54:cb:5f:76;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
9 12/08/15 18:16:59 84020200 warning Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=00:fc:8d:b0:a1:90;CMTS-MAC=00:1b:54:cb:5f:76;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10 12/08/15 18:18:09 82000400 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=00:fc:8d:b0:a1:90;CMTS-MAC=00:1b:54:cb:5f:76;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

As of recently, I've contacted tech support several times. The first reset my modem to factory default, which I understand they must do. I knew it wouldn't help, it didn't, and the call got disconnected after they did it. Frustrated, I called back the next day, and that's when the next tech agreed with packet loss. They scheduled an appointment, for the day after. When that tech came, he couldn't find anything wrong. I showed him the logs, he didn't have a response. He put in a filter on my line that did nothing to remedy the problem.

 

Obviously, I'm reading alot of flak on the modem in these forums. I don't know if it's the modem, or it's the internet itself - I just know it's exceedingly frustrating, and I'm on the verge of exploring alternatives other than this service that's limited to what appears to be a faulty series of routers. It's been like this since off and on since May, and the monthly cost for it is too heavy to accept a "everything looks fine on our end" solution to my frustration, when I'm reading what appears to be a widespread issue of this sort for all types of gamers on here.

 

So please, tell me what I can do - or try to help me remedy this without having to leave rogers. It's been my interent provider for years, and I've been patient in hoping the issue would resolve itself, but trust me when I say, I've ruled out everything on my end - from switching entirely different computers, to switching lan drivers - it still happens.

 

What can I do now?

 

Below is my signal data, which I know i'll be asked for.

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 597000000 256QAM 1.300 2 38.983
2 591000000 256QAM 1.000 1 38.605
3 603000000 256QAM 1.200 3 38.983
4 609000000 256QAM 1.300 4 38.983
5 615000000 256QAM 1.000 5 38.605
6 621000000 256QAM 1.100 6 38.983
7 633000000 256QAM 1.100 7 38.605
8 639000000 256QAM 0.700 8 38.605
9 645000000 256QAM 0.900 9 38.983
10 651000000 256QAM 0.500 10 38.983
11 657000000 256QAM 0.900 11 38.605
12 663000000 256QAM 0.400 12 38.605
13 669000000 256QAM 0.700 133 38.605
14 675000000 256QAM 0.100 134 37.636
15 681000000 256QAM 0.500 135 38.605
16 687000000 256QAM 0.300 136 38.605
17 693000000 256QAM 0.300 137 38.605
18 699000000 256QAM -0.200 138 37.636
19 705000000 256QAM 0.100 139 38.605
20 711000000 256QAM 0.100 140 37.636
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID BandWidth
1 38596000 ATDMA - 16QAM 40.250 5 3200000
2 23700000 ATDMA - 16QAM 40.250 7 6400000
3 30596000 ATDMA - 16QAM 40.250 6 6400000

 

 

 

***Edited Labels***

Solved! Go to Solution.
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 13,951

Re: Continuing performance issues while gaming - Hitron CGN3ACSMR

Your signal levels look pretty good.  So i am doubting that it is the issue.

(i am guessing the signal doesnt change much at all? there are no good/bad times.. the issues in game you are having can happen any time, etc?)

 

The one timeout on the ping to google is kind of concerning..

Are you able to do 1-3 traceroutes to the same google IP, as well as to your game server IP specifically.
Just want to see if there is a node issue along the way, or if more local, etc.

(you dont have to post all 3, just i usually do it a few times, just to see if you get a good, good, bad result, etc)



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Continuing performance issues while gaming - Hitron CGN3ACSMR

Hello GdKitty,

Thanks for the prompt response. I will submit traceroutes tonight when I'm home from work.

Appreciated.
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Continuing performance issues while gaming - Hitron CGN3ACSMR

Thanks again,

 

The following are the trace routes as requested. First for google (x3), and then this particular server (x3). I should note, it extends across all games, and from my experience across all timeframes. Thanks for reviewing it.

 

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Slav>tracert google.ca

Tracing route to google.ca [209.148.199.59]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  hitronhub.home [192.168.0.1]
  2    39 ms     9 ms    49 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [7.11.163.1]
  3    31 ms    29 ms    39 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [209.148.245.193]
  4    38 ms    29 ms    19 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [69.63.248.173]
  5    36 ms    19 ms    29 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [69.63.248.181]
  6    23 ms    49 ms    20 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [24.156.157.82]
  7    22 ms    59 ms    59 ms  cal58-5-199-59.dynamic.rogerstelecom.net [209.14
8.199.59]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Slav>tracert google.ca

Tracing route to google.ca [209.148.199.30]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms     1 ms    <1 ms  hitronhub.home [192.168.0.1]
  2    24 ms    39 ms     9 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [7.11.163.1]
  3    19 ms    50 ms    19 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [209.148.245.193]
  4    27 ms    37 ms    39 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [69.63.248.173]
  5    33 ms    39 ms    39 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [69.63.248.181]
  6    55 ms    28 ms    59 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [24.156.157.82]
  7    81 ms    19 ms    19 ms  cal58-5-199-30.dynamic.rogerstelecom.net [209.14
8.199.30]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Slav>tracert google.ca

Tracing route to google.ca [209.148.199.30]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  hitronhub.home [192.168.0.1]
  2    31 ms    19 ms    29 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [7.11.163.1]
  3    41 ms    29 ms    28 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [209.148.245.193]
  4    54 ms    19 ms    49 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [69.63.248.173]
  5    35 ms    19 ms    69 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [69.63.248.181]
  6    40 ms    29 ms    19 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [24.156.157.82]
  7    19 ms    42 ms    29 ms  cal58-5-199-30.dynamic.rogerstelecom.net [209.14
8.199.30]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Slav>

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

(Server)

 

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Slav>tracert 74.91.123.152

Tracing route to v-74-91-123-152.unman-vds.internap-nyc.nfoservers.com [74.91.12
3.152]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  hitronhub.home [192.168.0.1]
  2    19 ms    29 ms    19 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [7.11.163.1]
  3    42 ms    19 ms    19 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [209.148.245.189]
  4    34 ms    21 ms    37 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [69.63.248.181]
  5    40 ms    29 ms    79 ms  van58-9-230-26.dynamic.rogerstelecom.net [209.14
8.230.26]
  6    38 ms    59 ms    39 ms  be812.ccr41.iad02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.11.
217]
  7    35 ms    39 ms    69 ms  be2657.ccr42.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.31
.109]
  8    56 ms    39 ms    49 ms  be2149.ccr42.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.31
.126]
  9    56 ms    59 ms    49 ms  be2325.ccr21.jfk04.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.47
.30]
 10    45 ms    40 ms    52 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [38.88.194.86]
 11   112 ms    60 ms    48 ms  border1.pc2-bbnet2.ext1.nym.pnap.net [216.52.95.
78]
 12    54 ms    49 ms    49 ms  inap-b1.e2.router.nyc.nfoservers.com [63.251.20.
254]
 13    61 ms    59 ms    59 ms  v-74-91-123-152.unman-vds.internap-nyc.nfoserver
s.com [74.91.123.152]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Slav>tracert 74.91.123.152

Tracing route to v-74-91-123-152.unman-vds.internap-nyc.nfoservers.com [74.91.12
3.152]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  hitronhub.home [192.168.0.1]
  2    25 ms    58 ms    20 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [7.11.163.1]
  3    46 ms    29 ms    40 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [209.148.245.189]
  4    38 ms    49 ms    19 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [69.63.248.181]
  5    34 ms    29 ms    49 ms  van58-9-230-26.dynamic.rogerstelecom.net [209.14
8.230.26]
  6    50 ms    29 ms    39 ms  be812.ccr41.iad02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.11.
217]
  7    41 ms    39 ms    39 ms  be2657.ccr42.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.31
.109]
  8    41 ms    59 ms    59 ms  be2149.ccr42.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.31
.126]
  9    43 ms   127 ms    39 ms  be2325.ccr21.jfk04.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.47
.30]
 10    39 ms    79 ms    79 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [38.88.194.86]
 11    65 ms    39 ms    49 ms  border1.pc2-bbnet2.ext1.nym.pnap.net [216.52.95.
78]
 12    56 ms    49 ms    39 ms  inap-b1.e2.router.nyc.nfoservers.com [63.251.20.
254]
 13    66 ms    49 ms    99 ms  v-74-91-123-152.unman-vds.internap-nyc.nfoserver
s.com [74.91.123.152]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Slav>tracert 74.91.123.152

Tracing route to v-74-91-123-152.unman-vds.internap-nyc.nfoservers.com [74.91.12
3.152]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  hitronhub.home [192.168.0.1]
  2    47 ms    19 ms    31 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [7.11.163.1]
  3     *       84 ms    32 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [209.148.245.189]
  4    46 ms    39 ms    19 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [69.63.248.181]
  5    32 ms    39 ms    69 ms  van58-9-230-26.dynamic.rogerstelecom.net [209.14
8.230.26]
  6    35 ms    42 ms    86 ms  be812.ccr41.iad02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.11.
217]
  7    47 ms    39 ms    49 ms  be2657.ccr42.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.31
.109]
  8    38 ms    69 ms    59 ms  be2149.ccr42.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.31
.126]
  9    39 ms    59 ms    49 ms  be2325.ccr21.jfk04.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.47
.30]
 10    70 ms    49 ms    39 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [38.88.194.86]
 11    54 ms    39 ms    69 ms  border1.pc2-bbnet2.ext1.nym.pnap.net [216.52.95.
78]
 12    50 ms    40 ms    43 ms  inap-b1.e2.router.nyc.nfoservers.com [63.251.20.
254]
 13    96 ms    50 ms    38 ms  v-74-91-123-152.unman-vds.internap-nyc.nfoserver
s.com [74.91.123.152]

Trace complete.

 

 

--- Lastly, I did another ping test against google.ca immediately after:



C:\Users\Slav>ping google.ca -n 20

Pinging google.ca [209.148.199.20] with 32 bytes of data&colon;
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=59
Request timed out.
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=58ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=59
Reply from 209.148.199.20: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=59

Ping statistics for 209.148.199.20:
    Packets: Sent = 20, Received = 19, Lost = 1 (5% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 16ms, Maximum = 58ms, Average = 30ms

 

 

Thanks again for looking it over. Any help is appreciated!

 

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Continuing performance issues while gaming - Hitron CGN3ACSMR

I've been having the exact same issue and tried working with rogers to find a solution. For the past 4 months they weren't able to "identify any issues" which leads me to believe that they have no intentions to fix it as of this moment. If you do manage to find the solution please update this thread but I highly doubt you'll get anywhere with them right now =/

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 13,951

Re: Continuing performance issues while gaming - Hitron CGN3ACSMR

Another question while im at it.. you have the ACSMR.. which firmware is it showing??


The trace routes look pretty clean overall.. some tiny jumps at a few of the further out nodes, but nothing that should be insanely detrimental.

Only thing would be that one missed reply on the 3rd traceroute to the game server.
Thats a rogers node.. so may be something on one of the local rogers nodes.. 😞



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Continuing performance issues while gaming - Hitron CGN3ACSMR

Hi GdKitty,

 

The router's software version is 4.5.8.16 -

As to the local roger's node, is there anyway to request a switch to another node? I'm not sure how the node selection works, but what can I do towards this?

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Continuing performance issues while gaming - Hitron CGN3ACSMR

Alternatively, if there's nothing I can do to remedy it, should I submit a halt to my internet service until I further understand why there is an ongoing degradation of my connection, or the issue is ultimately addressed?
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,152

Re: Continuing performance issues while gaming - Hitron CGN3ACSMR

There is probably a remedy to the situation, but, that could take weeks.  If the problem is between the tap, which sits close to your home, and the neighborhood node, where all of the neighborhood Rogers Cables connect to, it could take some effort to determine where that problem might exist.  The Tap is usually a plastic green waist high box that services 4 to 6 (?) homes.  From there, a copper cable runs off to the neighborhood node.  That box is probably about three feet by three feet by about three feet high.  You've probably seen both around your neighborhood, assuming that you have underground cabling.  Overhead via utility pole, you might have see the neighborhood node parked close to a utility pole.  

 

Beyond that node is a fibre connection to the Cable Modem Termination System.  As with the copper system, there are no doubt physical maintenance issues to deal with as well as network issues, yet another part of the puzzle.

 

There are forum members who have run up against problems that are or have taken a very long time to resolve.  The first step is to escalate the problems you are seeing to senior techs and possible maintenance staff.  If you've only had a single tech visit so far, the next step would be to have a discussion with tech support with the aim of getting a senior tech out to your home.  If that has already happened, its time to call on the services of @CommunityHelps to escalate the issue.  

 

Fwiw, your signal levels are very good and your final ping times to google aren't terrible.  There are a two or three high times in the last ping report lines to google but they are far from the worst that we've seen.  The ping times to the next target have some high times right at the first server, which is a Rogers server.  The question is, why are they so high?  The best time to call tech support is when you are noticing packet loss and high ping times.  When you do that ask the CSR to check other modems connected to the neighborhood node to check their packet losses as well.  The aim here is to determine if the node is possibly overloaded, which I think would be the root cause of the issue.  But, that requires checking on first.  Can you switch nodes.  No.  Its part of the physical structure of the communications network of the neighborhood.  There is only a single node, with modems connected to it via fixed in place copper cabling, either inground or overhead.  If there are problems, copper cabling can be replaced, from the tap to the home is easy, from the node to the tap is a lot of work.  It could mean ripping up streets and lawns from end point to end point.  So, before anything is done, there might have to be a fair amount of investigations done to track down the root cause of the issues.



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Continuing performance issues while gaming - Hitron CGN3ACSMR

Hi Datalink,

 

Thank you for the articulated response. My issue is, having to call CSR again, and outline the problem - which I've done on several occassions. Many of those times, they do not detect the problems I am experiencing and it is increasingly frustrating to go through the same steps and discussions each time.

 

Assuming there is a that  problem with the node, and I call the CSR when I'm exerpiencing the issue (which is anytime I use the internet), and ask them to check the other modems in the node to see if they're experiencing packet loss -do I request a senior tech despite weather they do, or do not see these issues in other modems to the node? If so, could I not bypass the steps of having to call CSR again, and just request a senoir or supervisory tech to investigate the issue right off the bat? It seems redundant to call everytime I'm having the issue, elsewise I'd be calling nightly - and every previous call to CSR I have made *has* been during these issues.

 

Is there anyways to escalate this without having to jump through the initial stages of filing reports of bad internet connectivity on a day to day basis?