CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 338

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

I am not sure if it is a .33 firmware that is the problem as the Rogers network has been pretty bad lately.  I also had this issue and decided to factory reset the modem and am back to version .28T2.  Even with the stock firmware, I am still getting reboots often and my signal levels have been really poor lately due to an area issue.  Notice I don't have an OFDM signal lock.

  

 
Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM2.200737.636
2849000000256QAM-4.100235.780
3855000000256QAM-4.200335.780
4861000000256QAM-4.100435.780
8597000000256QAM2.100837.356
11615000000256QAM-0.5001136.387
12621000000256QAM-1.1001235.595
13633000000256QAM-1.7001335.595
14639000000256QAM-2.0001435.595
15645000000256QAM-1.5001535.780
16651000000256QAM-0.4001636.610
17657000000256QAM0.2001736.387
18663000000256QAM1.3001837.356
19669000000256QAM1.9001937.636
20675000000256QAM2.5002037.636
21681000000256QAM2.4002137.636
22687000000256QAM1.4002237.356
23693000000256QAM0.2002336.610
24699000000256QAM-1.2002436.387
25705000000256QAM-1.9002536.610
26711000000256QAM-3.3002635.780
27717000000256QAM-3.8002734.926
28723000000256QAM-3.9002835.084
29825000000256QAM-5.2002935.084
30831000000256QAM-4.5003035.595
31837000000256QAM-4.4003135.780
32843000000256QAM-4.4003235.780
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM38.75026400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM42.75033200000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM39.50016400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size

 

 

 

 

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation


@prateeck7 wrote:

@JeffjWhat about 'testmynet' and 'speedof.me'. My brother in law in another neiborhood can get above 300mbps at that site right now. I myself used to get 400mbps before a month with CGN modem consistently.

So you are telling me that 'testmynet' all of sudden decided to limit my download since I got white CODA modem.

 

May be your claim on Microsoft store is right. I am in no way tech savvy when it comes to these things. But, I used to download apps from the microsoft store very fast with CGN modem. May be it was a conincidence that there were no traffic when I downloaded stuffs over intervals of time.

 

Also 'testmynet' and there are many other sites that let you download files without limit. They are legit. Infact, i have always found 'testmynet' real as it always resembles the speed I am getting during the download. Same with speedof.me. I rarely get above 90mbps at speedof.me since this modem. I am mentioning this because I have experienced this. And I am checking the internet speed at testmynet every time I test the internet speed in the hope that I am getting the speed at this site as before.


Yeah don't listen to what they are saying. I switched back to an older modem and my speeds on testmy are consistent.... the COD (WHITE Modem) is trash!!! Rogers just doesn't want to admit it! I had no issues till I went to that modem... I have gone back to the older one... can't stant the packet loss and rogers believes speedtest (flash based trash is true yet when I am connected to my work VPN and I am dropping every 2 - 3 minutes now.. and has nothing to do with my works VPN servers... everything to do with my inconsistent and packet losing internet connection...

I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

I am in public version and it is .32 now. It is very bad, modem will restart itself often, is anyone using .32 have same problem, please fix it .
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

I’m having a hard time joining my friends in certain games. I have my PS4 hardwired to my coda modem. Games include diablo 3 and all of the call of duty franchise. I am by no means a tech expert, so ANY help would be appreciated!

I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 186

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

@RogersDave

 

Same issues as others. CODA 4582, fw .33. Modem keeps rebooting 1-2 times a day since the fw upgrade. Becoming annoying... is this issue gonna be fixed soon (hopefully with next fw update)??

Network Architect
Network Architect
Posts: 611

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation


@pac_west227 wrote:

@RogersDave

 

Same issues as others. CODA 4582, fw .33. Modem keeps rebooting 1-2 times a day since the fw upgrade. Becoming annoying... is this issue gonna be fixed soon (hopefully with next fw update)??


Hi @pac_west227, yes there was a reboot issue with firmware 2.0.10.33. It is presumed to be fixed in firmware 2.0.10.33T3 which should be fully deployed to firmware trial participants by 7AM this morning.

 

--Dave

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 274

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

Seems like the reboot issue is fixed. Almost 2 days here with no reboot. Will continue to monitor
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 28

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

Got fw 33T3 yesterday and got I reboot today. Will continue to monitor.

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

Gigabit Internet - Wifi Speed Issues with CODA-4582

 

I just recently upgraded to the Gigabit internet from 100u with the CGN3 modem and I have been trying to trouble shoot my issues myself all day without any fixes.  

 

At first I was running the modem in bridge mode through my R7000 (upgraded firmware and factory reset), but that seemed to have brought my speeds down so I started running it just through the CODA-4582.  

 

My ethernet connection is solid at 700-950mbps so there are no issues there.  However my wireless speeds on my phone/tablet/laptops have dropped below 100mbps no matter where I am in the house.  Before on my 100u and my r7000 router, my speeds were consistently 140-200mbps on speedtests with 99% consistency.  Now I am pretty much stuck in the 50-70mbps, I would inconsistenly sometimes get a 100-120mbps test on my laptop here and there.

 

I've tried to optimize my wifi channels and to no avail, currently running on 2.0.10.28T2.  Pretty sad that my Wifi performance has actually gotten worse for some reason....

 

Would signing up for the Beta firmware increase Wifi performance on the 4582?

Any help anyone could provide would be much appreciated.

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,274

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

@mcgrady01, when you had the modem in Bridge mode with the R7000 connected, what were you seeing for ethernet data rates thru the R7000.  There have been a couple of other complaints within the last week which are similar in nature, with the same type of configuration, modem in Bridge mode with a follow on router.  One other router was an Asus RT-AC68U, I'll have to look up the other modem.  But, in any case I believe that they're all Broadcom based routers.  Unfortunately I don't have any explanation that I can offer at this point in time.  All I can do is bring this to the attention of @RogersDave to have a look at.  I don't know if this is a modem issue or possibly a Cable Modem Termination System (CMTS) issue.  The modem connects to the CMTS, which then issues the modem, or router with its IP address.  

 

Did you consider turning off the wifi on the modem and running the router in Access Point mode for the time being.  That would let you use the wifi on the router for better wifi performance.  I don't believe that loading the trial firmware would give you better wifi performance from the modem.  Fwiw, Beamforming is not enabled on the modem. 

 

Are you running stock firmware on the router, or something else?