CODA-4582 MoCA 2.0 setup

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,829

Re: CODA-4582 MoCA 2.0 setup

@rmann2020  I had a look at your latest response and then it disappeared.  If you leave the cabling connected to the splitter, and then take out the adapter upstairs, connecting straight thru to the Nextbox, does the Nextbox run as it should and does the Whole Home pvr work?  

 

I'm beginning to suspect a bad splitter at this point.



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 44

Re: CODA-4582 MoCA 2.0 setup

Just saw your response about the potential bad splitter... i'm thinking the same.  Unfortunately, it was bought from Amazon.com as I had someone down South bring it back for me.  Not sure if I can return to Amazon.ca

 

Is there any way to confirm if the splitter is the issue without buying another splitter?

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,829

Re: CODA-4582 MoCA 2.0 setup

Yup, bring both adapters together again.  This time you will need two short cables, so the plan is:

 

adapter cable port -> RG-6 -> splitter -> splitter -> RG-6 -> adapter cable port

    adapter 1                                 output       output                        adapter 2

                                                       port 1        port 2

 

leave the input port and other output ports empty.  The goal here is to check output port to output port to determine if all of the output ports aren't working for MoCA purposes or if there is only one or two output ports that aren't working.  So, what you will have to do is swap ports.  Leave port 1 connected and swap the second adapter from port 2 to 3 to 4.  Swap adapter 1 to port 2, and then check the other adapter on port 3 and 4.  At some  point, you should be able to determine if any of the ports don't work.  

 

When you have the adapters connected check the LEDs for a MOCA connection and for an encrypted MoCA connection when you depress the MPS button.  I'd probably hold off on checking the router to pc throughput until you know what ports on the splitter work or don't work. 

 

This is a bit laborious, but doing it in one location will save running up and down the stairs.

 

I'm also wondering about the LOF and what that might mean for the Nextbox Whole Home PVR.  I'm wondering if there is some idiosyncrasy about the gocoax adapters that you aren't aware of yet that might involve the operation of another MoCA network on the same cable system.  The adapters should be able to live with the other network running, but do they really do that??? Might be email time.



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 44

Re: CODA-4582 MoCA 2.0 setup

Thanks again @Datalink. My legs are too tired from all the running already :). I'll continue testing tomorrow night and report back.
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,829

Re: CODA-4582 MoCA 2.0 setup

When your splitter testing is complete tomorrow, you should have a much better idea of whether or not the splitter is working as it should.  

 

If it is, or if you find two or three ports are serviceable, connect the system but leave the Nextboxes disconnected at all locations.  Fire up the adapters and ethernet network and see if they both work.  If ok so far, yay.  If not, I'm temporarily stumped 😞  Ok, if they work, then connect and power up the Nextboxes to see what happens to the adapter's MoCA network.  

 

One way or the other you should be able to prove that the splitter is serviceable or unserviceable, or if the adapters have some unadvertised idiosyncrasy that you have yet to discover.  You can live with just three MoCa ports working on the splitter.  That would be disappointing but it would or should still work. 

 

Edit:  The next question would be, if you do find a bad splitter port or two, as in they won't support MoCA ops, will they work for the modem or Nextbox?  

 

Are all of three Nextboxes running Whole Home PVR?  If so, you need at least three ports working correctly on the splitter. 



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 44

Re: CODA-4582 MoCA 2.0 setup

@Datalink - it took me an extra day, but I just finished the test and have some good news... i found combinations of ports that work and combos that don't... the strange part I don't get is that all ports work with the right combo.  

 

To summarize, MoCA adapters are working but Whole Home PVR is not.  Full details below.

 

Edit II: unfortunately, my setup is not stable and I'm losing connection.  I have no idea why that is happening 😞 .  I posted on the SNBforums in hopes someone there can help as well.

https://www.snbforums.com/threads/gocoax-moca-2-5-adapter.59499/page-3#post-561712 

 

My splitter design and the names I gave the ports::

         port 1      port 2

port 3     IN Port     Port 4

 

Port combos tested with MoCA adapters:

- Port 1 + 2 always work together and are the ones I ended up using

- Port 1 + 3 doesn't work

- Port 1 + 4 works (but a little finicky with and connectors had to be just right)

- Port 2 + 3 works (but a little finicky with and connectors had to be just right)

- Port 2 + 4 doesn't work

- Port 3 + 4 works (but a little finicky with and connectors had to be just right)

 

So my current config:

coax in -> MoCA filter -> 3db attenuator -> Splitter -> Port 1 -> basement MoCA adapter moca port

                                                                                             -> Port 2 -> 2nd floor coax run -> 2nd floor MoCA adapter moca port

                                                                                             -> Port 3 -> Main floor Nextbox (primary nextbox)

                                                                                             -> Port 4 -> Modem

 

basement MoCA adapter tv port - > basement Nextbox

2nd floor MoCA adapter TV port -> 2nd floor Nextbox

 

The bad news, whole home PVR is not currently working.  I'm going to power cycle the Nextboxes after the family goes to bed to see if that solves the problem.  Whole Home PVR is secondary to me so not a huge loss if I don't manage to make it work.

 

MoCA adapter settings have stayed the same since my last post.  Here they are again:

Beacon Channel:1150
Primary Channel:1175
Secondary Channel:1300

 

D-High Band is checked (D-Low and D-ext are unchecked)

Network Search Enabled:checked
LOF:1275
Tx Power:10
Beacon Power Level:10
Preferred NC:checked

 

Security settings:

D-ext checked (D-Low and D-High unchecked)

 

 

Edit I: Adding modem DOCSIS WAN signal parameters:

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1639000000256QAM4.4001438.605
2849000000256QAM6.700238.605
3855000000256QAM6.600338.983
4861000000256QAM6.400438.605
5579000000256QAM3.100538.983
6585000000256QAM3.200638.605
7591000000256QAM3.100738.605
8597000000256QAM3.300838.605
9603000000256QAM3.400938.605
10609000000256QAM3.8001038.605
11615000000256QAM4.1001138.983
12621000000256QAM4.1001238.983
13633000000256QAM4.3001338.605
14279000000256QAM-1.300137.356
15645000000256QAM4.7001538.605
16651000000256QAM4.8001640.366
17657000000256QAM4.9001738.605
18663000000256QAM4.7001838.605
19669000000256QAM4.6001938.983
20675000000256QAM4.7002038.983
21681000000256QAM4.5002138.605
22687000000256QAM4.5002238.983
23693000000256QAM4.8002338.983
24699000000256QAM4.6002438.605
25705000000256QAM4.7002538.983
26711000000256QAM4.3002638.983
27717000000256QAM4.4002738.983
28723000000256QAM4.0002838.983
29825000000256QAM7.3002938.605
30831000000256QAM7.1003038.605
31837000000256QAM7.2003138.983
32843000000256QAM7.0003238.983
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES-0.400002
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
138596000ATDMA - 64QAM41.50033200000
230596000ATDMA - 64QAM38.00016400000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM37.50026400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,829

Re: CODA-4582 MoCA 2.0 setup

Ok, so, I've doing some reading on this and I suspect that the default values used in the adapter are for situations when there is a singular MoCA network (gocoax network) running on the cable network.  In your case you already have a Nextbox MoCA 1.0/1.1 network running in D-Low.  So, the gocoax adapters need to run in D-High only.  

 

To do that, from what I can determine, you will need to change the settings as follows:

 

MoCA adapter settings:

Beacon Channel: 1250
Primary Channel: 1300
Secondary Channel: 1425

 

D-High Band is checked (D-Low and D-ext are unchecked)

Network Search Enabled: checked
LOF: 1250
Tx Power: 10
Beacon Power Level: 10
Preferred NC: checked

 

 

I would check the Preferred NC (Network Controller?) on one single adapter and leave it unchecked on the other adapter to see how they behave.  

 

As you may have seen in the SNBForum thread, I've posed a few questions for gocoax to answer.  I'm not looking for user answers unless they can point me to a document to back up the answers.  I'd like to see the answers directly from gocoax so that you end up with a network that runs properly in D-High.  

 

The adapters contain a MaxLinear MxL3710 System on Chip that is actually the heart of the system.  Unfortunately there doesn't appear to be any documentation available to the user community.  Gocoax should have copies of all of the engineering documentation.  Gocoax should have developed the user documentation based on the original engineering documents to ensure that the user docs were technically factual and correct. 

 

https://www.maxlinear.com/product/connected-home/in-home-connectivity/moca/mxl3710

 



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 44

Re: CODA-4582 MoCA 2.0 setup

I'll try to update to the settings you provided but I'm not sure how to?  I don't see anywhere to modify the Beacon, Primary, or Secondary channels.  The only options available for me to change are shown in the screenshots below.

 

Edit I: Just noticed these instruction on the right of the MOCA SETUP page.  I assume it explains how to modify but I don't quite understand. 

 

"The scan offset is the offset in 25MHz steps starting from 0 MHz for the scan mask. The scan mask defines the channels to be scanned. The channel represents the center frequency of the beacon. Tx Power can be used to adjust the TX power for RF interface,and the Preferred NC is related with MoCA spec."

 

Screen Shot 2020-03-19 at 11.39.47 PM.pngScreen Shot 2020-03-19 at 11.40.07 PM.png

Screen Shot 2020-03-19 at 11.44.12 PM.png

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,829

Re: CODA-4582 MoCA 2.0 setup

Ok, the images are available.  When you have the time, can you look at the following:

 

1.  On the MoCA settings tab, have a look at the active band, D-ext, D-Low, D-High.

 

2.  Knowing what is set, D-ext, D-Low, D-High, have a look at the Device Status tab and look specifically at the:

      Beacon Channel

      Primary Channel

      Secondary Channel

 

They should not be set to any frequency in the 1125 to 1225 Mhz range as that is where D-Low is running.  

 

If you go back to the MoCA settings tab, and change the MoCA band from D-High to D-Low for example, does the Beacon Channel, Primary Channel and Secondary channel change frequency?  You might have to do this with the Network Controller setting enabled just to check this out.  And .... you might have to reboot/restart the adapter to see the changes.  

 

There should be a change in frequencies as you change the operating MoCA band.  If the channel frequencies don't change on the Device Status tab, that would imply either a problem with the channel frequency display, or that the Band selection function in the MoCA settings tab doesn't work as we expect it to work.  Either way, its a firmware issue.  The wrong display you can live with, not being able to change the selected band off of D-Low would kill the Nextbox MoCA network for the Whole Home PVR function.  

 

Edit:  I would expect the Device Status tab to show frequencies above 1225 Mhz with D-High is selected in the MoCA Settings tab.  And when D-Low is selected, then ok, the frequencies should change to a lower set of frequencies more appropriate for D-Low operation such as 1150 Mhz for the Beacon and 1175 for the Primary channel center frequency.  I suspect that D-ext frequencies would be the same as D-Low.  The primary concern here is that selecting D-High in the MoCA Settings should result in a set of frequencies above 1225 Mhz in the Device Status.  Its just a question of how high to they really go.

 

Hopefully this makes sense....

 



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 44

Re: CODA-4582 MoCA 2.0 setup

It does make sense, but nothing I do seems to have an effect on the values for Beacon, Primary, Secondary and the Device Status page.  As you said, perhaps it's a display issue.  At this point, I'm starting to have buyers remorse and wishing I had spent the extra bucks and went with the Actiontech's.  At this point though, I'm invested to see this through.  Looks like we need to wait for gocoax to respond and provide more clear instructions?

 

As I mentioned in an earlier post, Whole Home PVR is less of a priority for me.  If I can get the adapters to work for data at the cost of PVR, I'd take it (for now).

 

Edit I: just had a power surge in the house... and the adapters all of a sudden started working momentarily thereafter (but are now down again).  Beacon and Primary Channel also changed and match the LOF setting of 1275.  Preferred NC is currently unchecked.  I will check now and see if that makes any difference.

 

Beacon Channel:1275
Primary Channel:1275
Secondary Channel:0

 

Edit II: Adapters are very temperamental, coming up and down, When they are up, I do notice the Beacon/Primary channels changing to higher values.  Currently down, LOF set to 1250 and Beacon/Primary match.  Secondary value is 0.  I have D-High enabled in MoCA settings and all 3 bands enabled in Security settings.