CGN3ACSMR Lan port

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 46

Re: CGN3ACSMR Lan port

Hi @sm30, I haven't been keeping any logs because I haven't been around the house much. My wife and son just know to cycle the power when the connection is lost. Glad to hear that they have admitted that it's a problem on their end. I should be home most of the weekend so I will try to log any connection losses and share it here.
Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 7

Re: CGN3ACSMR Lan port

Well today I had to reset modem twice once in the morning and once in late afternoon.  This is so strange I don't understand why the LAN ports are tied to the external connection signal.   I'm getting ready to just dump the lan ports and put my own router to handle all the network but my concern for this would be the same issue can occur as I would want the LAN port to the new router.   I have a feeling my neighbours have same issue but they don't use it as much and are mostly wireless which works fine.

 

Wonder if there is a way to trigger a modem reboot via URL.  I can setup a system to monitor the lan and if drop is detected it can send a reboot request to the modem.

Highlighted
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: CGN3ACSMR Lan port

Just a fyi... may not apply... so take it for what is worth...

 

On my setup I have a home theater PC hardwired and set to static IP adress.... this setup had no issues with ANY other routers previously.... untill we conneted it to the CGN3ACMR... and it would randomnly lose connection (I would completely disappear)...

 

.... I ended up resetting it's networking to DHCP and than using the reservation option on the CGN3ACMR to lock-in that ip address.

 

Still don't know why a static adreess would be problematic .... but ... it is what it is.... so.... it would be worth re setting the networking stack on that device? (device manager.... remove and  re-scan for new hardware)...

 

My 2cents (now actually worth 0 -)

Highlighted
Rogers Employee
Rogers Employee
Posts: 40

Re: CGN3ACSMR Lan port

To chime in on this thread, I have been having identical issues with the modem in bridged modem since the service was installed in Feb 2016. The last update I received was it is being investigated to identify the cause. Something may have changed in early March because my shutdown has reduced from weekly to every few weeks. I am still awaiting update on the final solution.

 

I have also made a request to Hitron via tech support to add a schedule reboot option to the modem. I do NOT know if the request has or will be accepted by Hitron, but it would be a nice feature to have.

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: CGN3ACSMR Lan port

@huh666, @Fr0stByte72 are you guys still having connection issues? It's been a couple of days and my modem has not lost internet connection. Fingers crossed that the issue is resolved or at least being worked on finally.

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 7

Re: CGN3ACSMR Lan port

Haven't had the issue all week it seems but I decided to switch my modem into bridge mode (did this last thursday) and use my own router to handle the network traffic and DHCP services and whatnot.  Of course if the issue occurs again I will lose everything as now its relying on the lan port to the router.  But atleast with this setup if for some reason my rogers modem goes down I will still have my internal network running.

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 46

Re: CGN3ACSMR Lan port

@Fr0stByte72 @sm30 The last time I lost connection causing me to reboot my modem was at 3:54 AM on March 274.  I hope that they have fixed this problem!

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 46

Re: CGN3ACSMR Lan port

Lost my connection sometime overnight and Lan porst still disabled once sync is regained.  Here is a copy of the log file.  First time this has happened in over a week.

04/09/16 04:23:4685010300warningInitializing Channel Timeout Expires - Time the CM can perform initial ranging on all upstream channels in the TCS has expired;CM-MAC=xxxxxxx-MAC=xxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
204/09/16 04:23:4685010200warningTCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=xxxx:;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
304/09/16 04:47:0782000400criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=xxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
404/09/16 04:48:2582000200criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxx:;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
504/09/16 04:48:2982000900warningB-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=xxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
604/09/16 04:49:3882000200criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
704/09/16 04:49:4082000900warningB-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
804/09/16 04:51:0182000200criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
904/09/16 04:51:0282000900warningB-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=xxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1004/09/16 04:52:0382000200criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1104/09/16 04:52:0982000900warningB-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=xxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1204/09/16 04:53:2082000200criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1304/09/16 04:53:2682000900warningB-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=xxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1404/09/16 04:53:3382000200criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1504/09/16 04:54:0190000000warningMIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=xxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1604/09/16 04:54:0373040100noticeTLV-11 - unrecognized OID;CM-MAC=xxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1704/09/16 09:30:5482000200criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1804/09/16 09:57:1990000000warningMIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=xxxxxCMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1904/09/16 09:57:2173040100noticeTLV-11 - unrecognized OID;CM-MAC=xxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2004/09/16 09:57:2482000200criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Clear

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: CGN3ACSMR Lan port

I also lost internet connection sometime late Friday night to early Saturday morning. My connection was also problem free for the past week. I have reported this to my senior tech.

I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 7

Re: CGN3ACSMR Lan port

Since my change from using the CGN3 as a router to my own I haven't had an issue (touch wood) so far.  I suspected I still would as the the bridge uses 1 lan port for the connection.  But so far my network has been working.