CGN3 keeps rebooting itself

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 390

Re: CGN3 keeps rebooting itself

Hey @jberria,

 

Here are the steps to find your signal specs:

 

  1. Connect your device to your Wi-Fi modem either with an ethernet cable or over your WiFi network.
  2. Open a web browser and key in 192.168.0.1 in the address bar and press Enter.
  3. Enter the following default settings to access the modem settings and select Login:

    • Username: cusadmin

    • Password: password (or your current Wi-Fi password)

  4. Select Status at the top > DOCSIS WAN

From there you can copy the upstream and downstream tables @RogersMoin is requesting. 

 

@Richardli,

 

Welcome to the Rogers Community Forums!

 

If you can also kindly provide your signal spec as well, so we can take a closer look. Since all issues aren't generally the same problem, we don't want to assume you're being impacted by the same thing. In your particular scenario, sounds more likely to be potentially a noise related issue. Once we can verify your signal is within the correct specs, we can move to the next steps. 

 

Look forward to hearing back from both of you :)!

 

RogersCilio

 

 

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: CGN3 keeps rebooting itself

Here is my upstream and downstream table.  The modem rebooting happens every night. It seems no disconnection during the day time. My house has a renter, and he usually come back at night. Is it possible the rebooting happens when his devices connected to the wifi? But he lives in our house for two years, and the disconnection happened just in recent. 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM-2.400737.356
2855000000256QAM-9.400334.926
3861000000256QAM-10.400434.346
4579000000256QAM-2.300537.636
5585000000256QAM-2.400637.356
6849000000256QAM-9.000235.084
7597000000256QAM-2.500837.636
8603000000256QAM-2.200937.636
9609000000256QAM-2.4001037.636
10615000000256QAM-2.4001137.636
11621000000256QAM-2.9001237.636
12633000000256QAM-2.0001337.636
13639000000256QAM-2.5001437.636
14645000000256QAM-2.5001537.636
15651000000256QAM-2.5001637.636
16657000000256QAM-2.8001737.636
17663000000256QAM-3.2001837.636
18669000000256QAM-4.0001937.636
19675000000256QAM-3.5002037.356
20681000000256QAM-4.0002137.356
21687000000256QAM-4.4002237.356
22693000000256QAM-4.1002337.356
23699000000256QAM-4.3002437.356
24705000000256QAM-4.0002537.636
25711000000256QAM-4.9002637.636
26717000000256QAM-4.8002737.356
27723000000256QAM-5.1002837.356
28825000000256QAM-7.5002935.780
29831000000256QAM-8.2003035.780
30837000000256QAM-7.9003135.780
31843000000256QAM-8.2003235.780
32303000000256QAM-1.900137.356
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
04K275600000YESYESYES-3.099998
1NANANONONO

NA

 

 

 

Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
130596000ATDMA - 64QAM30.25016400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM33.50033200000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM30.25026400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K

 

Can you find the reason?

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,106

Re: CGN3 keeps rebooting itself


@Richardli wrote:

Here is my upstream and downstream table.  The modem rebooting happens every night. It seems no disconnection during the day time. My house has a renter, and he usually come back at night. Is it possible the rebooting happens when his devices connected to the wifi? But he lives in our house for two years, and the disconnection happened just in recent. 

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 591000000 256QAM -2.400 7 37.356
2 855000000 256QAM -9.400 3 34.926
3 861000000 256QAM -10.400 4 34.346
4 579000000 256QAM -2.300 5 37.636
5 585000000 256QAM -2.400 6 37.356
6 849000000 256QAM -9.000 2 35.084
7 597000000 256QAM -2.500 8 37.636
8 603000000 256QAM -2.200 9 37.636
9 609000000 256QAM -2.400 10 37.636
10 615000000 256QAM -2.400 11 37.636
11 621000000 256QAM -2.900 12 37.636
12 633000000 256QAM -2.000 13 37.636
13 639000000 256QAM -2.500 14 37.636
14 645000000 256QAM -2.500 15 37.636
15 651000000 256QAM -2.500 16 37.636
16 657000000 256QAM -2.800 17 37.636
17 663000000 256QAM -3.200 18 37.636
18 669000000 256QAM -4.000 19 37.636
19 675000000 256QAM -3.500 20 37.356
20 681000000 256QAM -4.000 21 37.356
21 687000000 256QAM -4.400 22 37.356
22 693000000 256QAM -4.100 23 37.356
23 699000000 256QAM -4.300 24 37.356
24 705000000 256QAM -4.000 25 37.636
25 711000000 256QAM -4.900 26 37.636
26 717000000 256QAM -4.800 27 37.356
27 723000000 256QAM -5.100 28 37.356
28 825000000 256QAM -7.500 29 35.780
29 831000000 256QAM -8.200 30 35.780
30 837000000 256QAM -7.900 31 35.780
31 843000000 256QAM -8.200 32 35.780
32 303000000 256QAM -1.900 1 37.356
OFDM Downstream Overview
Receiver FFT type Subcarr 0 Frequency(MHz) PLC locked NCP locked MDC1 locked PLC power(dBmv)
0 4K 275600000 YES YES YES -3.099998
1 NA NA NO NO NO

NA

 

 

 

Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Bandwidth
1 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 30.250 1 6400000
2 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 33.500 3 3200000
3 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 30.250 2 6400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel Index State lin Digital Att Digital Att BW (sc's*fft) Report Power Report Power1_6 FFT Size
0 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K
1 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K

 

Can you find the reason?


Some channels (channel 3) are out of spec, I would call Rogers and have them run a signal check. They will need to send a tech out to see what is going on, because the signal levels are all over the place. It could be a neighbourhood issue, or something just effecting your line.

 



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: CGN3 keeps rebooting itself

I'm sorry so I am to hang out by my laptop between 8 and 9:30 pm when the rebooting starts hoping that you will see a signal issue. How am I to get the right information while the modem is rebooting?

Doesn't the time that people have mentioned being within the same range tell you that could be the variable that should be looked at. What are your servers doing at that time? What has changed? So far the solutions provided in this forum seems to be a band aid and not a solution.
What is the technology team doing to resolve this? Has this been escalated to executives? Instead taking our modems to the store to replace maybe we should bring it to the main office.

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 878

Re: CGN3 keeps rebooting itself

Hello @jberria,

 

We'll be happy to look into this for you and run some signal tests on our end to see if we can detect any signal issues on your line or in the area. We will need to gain access to your account to do this, please send us a Private Message to @CommunityHelps so we can get started on this.

 

For more information on our Private Messaging system please Click Here.

 

RogersTony

 

Highlighted
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: CGN3 keeps rebooting itself

I know this has been discussed at length before, but I have the same issue. My modem reboots at least once a day. (I've only been with Rogers for a few days) One thing that is"interesting" is that when I was with Bell, I had the same problem with their modem, a completely different model (just not as often). I'm wondering if maybe the problem isn't with the power. I've changed the power bar, added a surge protector and still have the problem

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2,201

Re: CGN3 keeps rebooting itself

Good day @rguimont,

 

Welcome to the Rogers Community! We're happy to count you as one of our new Internet customers.

 

Noticing that your modem reboots unexpectedly can be the source of some inconveniences.

 

If you could provide us with your signal spec, it would allow us to take a closer look at this and ideally identify the issue you're experiencing.

 

Here are the steps to follow:

 

  1. Connect your device to your Wi-Fi modem either with an ethernet cable or over your WiFi network.
  2. Open a web browser and key in 192.168.0.1 in the address bar and press Enter.
  3. Enter the following default settings to access the modem settings and select Login:

    • Username: cusadmin

    • Password: password (or your current Wi-Fi password)

  4. Select Status at the top > DOCSIS WAN

From there you can copy and paste the upstream and downstream tables in a reply to this thread.

 

Once we can verify your signal is within the correct specs, we can move to the following troubleshooting steps. 

 

RogersMaude

 

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 31

Re: CGN3 keeps rebooting itself

Are phone and internet lines connected?

 

Over the last few days my internet router has been rebooting and when it does our phone line disconnects. Can anyone explain this?

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,751

Re: CGN3 keeps rebooting itself

When you refer to your "internet router", are you speaking about the Rogers modem or a follow on router?  

 

If its the modem, and your phone is going off-line, that is probably a good indication of an external cable failure.  You can call tech support and advise the CSR of the issues and ask him, or her to run a signal check on your internet modem, which is probably a black, vertical Hitron modem (Hitron CGN3xxxx model), or a white vertical Hitron modem (Hitron CODA-4582).  When you have an external cable that has degraded to the failure point, the modem will sometimes reboot in order to reestablish communications with the Cable Modem Termination System (CMTS) which provides control and data services of all of its connected modems.  That is a normal action for the modem.  The external cables and connectors will last a few years and usually will gradually fail.  That gradual failure, in the latter stages will cause exactly what you are seeing.  It would be much simpler if the cable and/or connector simply failed as that is much easier to diagnose.  When the modem reboots, the signal levels can look normal once again and slowly decrease back to the failure point.  So ,the signal check might result in a normal set of signal levels, or, they could show lower that expected levels.  A quick check will determine what it looks like.  As I indicated, a complete failure is easier to diagnose and much less aggravation as well.  If the signal levels are normal once again, make sure that the CSR understands that you're losing both the internet and Home Phone modems at the same time.  If you also have cable tv, I would expect you to see pixelation and have audio dropouts as well.

 

You could also log into the modem, navigate to the STATUS .... DOCSIS WAN tab, copy the lower signal level table in its entirety and paste that into a post.  The copy and paste process will paste in the text contents of the table.  Don't copy the upper table, which sits above the "Downstream Overview" as that is specific to the modem and isn't necessary for troubleshooting purposes. 

 

Edit:  Given that you're seeing multiple device failures at the same time, I would expect the CSR to arrange for a tech visit to check the cabling and connectors. 



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 31

Re: CGN3 keeps rebooting itself

Thanks for the reply. here's the chart. Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1657000000256QAM-2.0001738.983
2579000000256QAM-2.600540.366
3585000000256QAM-2.500638.983
4591000000256QAM-2.500740.946
5597000000256QAM-2.300838.983
6603000000256QAM-1.900940.366
7609000000256QAM-1.9001038.983
8615000000256QAM-2.5001138.983
9621000000256QAM-3.0001238.605
10633000000256QAM-2.2001338.605
11639000000256QAM-2.5001438.983
12645000000256QAM-2.4001538.983
13651000000256QAM-2.1001638.605
14303000000256QAM-3.000138.605
15663000000256QAM-1.7001838.605
16669000000256QAM-1.4001940.366
17675000000256QAM-1.3002040.366
18681000000256QAM-1.1002138.983
19687000000256QAM-1.1002238.983
20693000000256QAM-0.6002340.366
21699000000256QAM-0.8002440.366
22705000000256QAM-0.9002538.983
23711000000256QAM-0.4002638.983
24717000000256QAM-0.5002740.366
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM40.75026400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM42.75033200000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM42.00016400000