500U Slow Speeds

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 985

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

Hello, @andynaudi

 

Welcome to the Rogers Community Forums!

 

I know how important it is to have fast speeds especially with the current situation around the world and everyone being at home for the foreseeable future. 

 

It's disappointing that you were unable to get adequate support from our Live Chat team. If a technician was recommended at first then you are most likely experiencing issues related to poor RF signals. Please copy and paste your RF signal levels from the modem so the Community can review it.

 

You can do this by logging into the modem, navigate to the Status, then the DOCSIS WAN tab and copy the signal level table.  Start at the front end of the Downstream Overview line and go all the way to the very bottom right-hand corner of the table which is the OFDM/OFDMA section. Ignore the data that resides above the Downstream Overview.

 

We look forward to your response.

 

RogersTony

 

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

 

 
Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1609000000256QAM-3.1001040.946
2849000000256QAM-7.400237.636
3855000000256QAM-9.000337.356
4861000000256QAM-10.200436.610
5579000000256QAM-2.600540.366
6585000000256QAM-1.900640.946
7591000000256QAM-1.500740.366
8597000000256QAM-1.300840.366
9603000000256QAM-1.700940.366
10279000000256QAM-7.000138.983
11615000000256QAM-1.8001140.366
12621000000256QAM-2.1001240.366
13633000000256QAM-3.4001340.366
14639000000256QAM-3.6001440.366
15645000000256QAM-4.2001538.983
16651000000256QAM-4.0001638.983
17657000000256QAM-3.9001738.983
18663000000256QAM-2.1001840.366
19669000000256QAM-2.2001940.366
20675000000256QAM-2.0002040.946
21681000000256QAM-1.7002140.946
22687000000256QAM-0.7002240.946
23693000000256QAM-1.1002340.366
24699000000256QAM-2.4002438.983
25705000000256QAM-3.3002540.366
26711000000256QAM-3.7002638.983
27717000000256QAM-4.8002738.983
28723000000256QAM-4.5002838.605
29825000000256QAM-3.1002940.366
30831000000256QAM-4.0003038.983
31837000000256QAM-4.5003138.605
32843000000256QAM-5.8003238.983
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES-6.299999
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
125300000ATDMA - 64QAM58.25023200000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

Update - I called rogers and they sent a tech out. Turns out that our cable coming into house was chewed up by an animal. He replaced the cable and seems to be good now.

 

Thanks!

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

I installed internet yesterday 500 bps. The install guy left a box on my doorstep. I told install guy that I'm getting under 100mbps.
He left and told me to Google support
Now I'm waiting most of today for a chat. Please help.

Enter a message
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 3,573

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

@RayB50 : Have you read recent posts in this thread?

 

Are you using a wired ethernet connection from a computer?

Have you checked your "Autotuning" settings if using a windows computer?

 

Are you using WiFi - speeds can vary a lot depending on the WiFi connection in your home?  What devices are you using?



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

Hi Re57. I'm using wired Ethernet and have disabled and enabled windows autotune alternatively. Also my MacBook on Ethernet.
I've established an average of 78.9 Mbps with a range of +/- 25.
And yes, I've read some other post and am thinking the best option is to go back to my previous provider or face an extended period of troubleshooting which may or may not solve the issue.
Thanks
Ray
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 3,573

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

If you're getting the same results on different devices, wired, then there's some sort of issue. Have you tried a tablet or phone just as a WiFi check?  It's possible that the modem was not properly provisioned for 500, rather for say 100 or even 75.  I suggest you call Rogers technical support, or perhaps PM the mods here - I have found them to be most helpful:

 

https://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/Rogers-Community-Forums-Blog/Get-to-know-your-Community-How-To...

 

Are you using the Rogers speedtest link?

 

https://www.rogers.com/customer/support/article/internet-speedtest



Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,944

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

@RayB50 in addition to the questions above, here's a few more:

 

1.  What modem was delivered, a white Hitron CODA-4582 where the exact product model is seen on the back of the modem, or the newer grey/black XB6.  The product sticker is found on the bottom of the modem, and it will either be an Arris TG-3482ER, or a Technicolor CGM-4140COM. 

 

2.  Whats your windows test platform, a desktop or laptop?  

 

3.  Have you seen the windows device and Macbook run 500 Mb/s or more anywhere else?  

 

4.  What was the highest data rate that you saw with the windows device and Macbook when you were with your previous provider.