500U Slow Speeds

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 56

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

I am having slow speeds as well while connected via ethernet on the 500U package.    Chatted with tech support on the weekend and they told me to swap modem, so I did and it did nothing.   They escalated to engineering and my ticket was closed a few hours later saying no issues.  Well I can tell you I am having issues still!  

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 249

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

wonder why they didnt send a tech to your house to check there.

i had a simalar problem which only took 18mnths to finally get sort of fixed 🙂 it got to the point where i was averaging at least 7 tech visits per month not to mention all the other depts that they had sent out to figure out the problem which they finally think they got fixed..it was something to do with the tap where my cable connects to that was an issue still is but they advised me that what i am getting now is the best ill get..

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 56

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

Well in the reply to the closed ticket they said we might have to send a tech, not sure why it is not automatic???!  They should actually reach out and ask if I am still having issues instead of putting the responsibility back on me.

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 249

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

i know from past experince that sending the tech out  first was allways for me the norm then if they couldnt find an issue then they would then escalate it to another dept.

 

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

I'm having the exact same problems with my 500u since last week. It's really strange. The Rogers myWifi app is showing that the speed from the internet to my modem is fantastic. I'm getting around 600 to 700 Mbps every test. Higher than my expected rate. Unfortunately, my wired DL speeds tested on 3 different computers are in the range of 25 - 45Mbps. Upload is in the 20Mbps range as expected DL. Over the last days even my wired connection has been cutting out.  As for wireless, I have about 12 devices in the house. About half are running on 5Ghz, including 2 TV, samsung tablets (3) , samsung phone (S8) and a Macbook pro. The remainder are on 2.4Ghz - 2 Google home minis, an HP printer, an iPhone 7s, and two Chromecasts. My wireless speed on 5g, regardless of the device, hits around 20-30 Mbps, standing right in front of the modem. There have been frequent dropouts and tests that show less then 10Mbps. As for 2.4 - don't even ask how bad this is. Tests are ranging from no connection up to 9 Mbps. 

 

A week ago everything was running like a clock.

 

A tech visited Tuesday and checked everything out. Of course, when he logged on with his tablet he got 300Mbps on 5Ghz and 500Mbps+ wired!! and said everything is fine.  As soon as he left I ran more tests and had the same poor results as previously. 

 

I feel like I've tried everything. I've moved the modem to connect it direct to cable where it enters the house. I've run wired tests with wireless disabled at the modem, I've tried brand new new Cat 6 cables.

 

Today I chatted with tech again, as I was working from home and barely able to maintain a decent connection. The tech recommended swapping the modem with a new one, which I just did 20 minutes ago. I'm all set up and guess what. Same  terrible low speeds! FYI it's a Hitron 4582u brand spanking new, not a refurb. 

Hardware Version 2A Software Version 2.0.10.33T3

 

I need some help from the community before I lose my mind.

 

 

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

Here's my Docsis WAN downstream view

 

DOCSIS WAN

This menu displays both upstream and downstream signal parameters

DOCSIS Overview
Network AccessPermitted
IP Address 
Subnet Mask 
Gateway IP Address 
DHCP Lease Time😧 07 H: 00 M: 00 S: 00
Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM-5.500738.983
2855000000256QAM-8.400338.605
3861000000256QAM-8.000438.605
4579000000256QAM-6.000538.605
5585000000256QAM-5.800638.983
6849000000256QAM-8.000238.605
7597000000256QAM-5.400838.983
8603000000256QAM-5.400940.366
9609000000256QAM-5.3001040.366
10615000000256QAM-5.3001140.366
11621000000256QAM-5.4001238.605
12633000000256QAM-5.3001340.366
13639000000256QAM-5.3001438.605
14645000000256QAM-5.7001538.983
15651000000256QAM-5.5001638.983
16657000000256QAM-5.1001740.366
17663000000256QAM-5.0001840.366
18669000000256QAM-4.8001938.983
19675000000256QAM-4.6002038.983
20681000000256QAM-4.9002140.366
21687000000256QAM-4.9002238.983
22693000000256QAM-4.7002340.366
23699000000256QAM-4.2002440.366
24705000000256QAM-4.7002538.983
25711000000256QAM-4.8002640.366
26717000000256QAM-4.7002738.983
27723000000256QAM-5.0002838.983
28825000000256QAM-5.0002938.983
29831000000256QAM-5.8003038.983
30837000000256QAM-7.5003138.605
31843000000256QAM-7.9003238.605
32303000000256QAM-9.200137.356
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,294

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

@Jameskie your new 4582 requires a firmware update to 2.0.10.36T6 and, you have a signal level problem.  

 

Try rebooting or restarting the modem a couple of times to see if it picks up the firmware update.  If it does, when that firmware update is done, reboot / restart the modem again.  There is a reboot already built into the update but I've always found that a reboot / restart at a minimum is required, if not a full factory reset in order for the Hitron modems to operate properly after a firmware update. 

 

Can you post the OFDM Downstream Overview and Upstream Overview sections as well.  That will tell me if the modem is actually using the ODFM DOCSIS 3.1 downstream channel.  It should be, but, with your current firmware and signal levels, I wouldn't guarantee it.  

 

Firmware version 2.0.10.36T6 runs a variable QAM level, which indicates what level the data encoding is running for downstream DOCSIS 3.1 transmit / receive purposes.  It should result in better performance in signal level situations such as yours, but, even with that version loaded, there's no guarantee, and I wouldn't be surprised to see no difference at all. 

 

Normally I'd say, call tech support to run a signal check on the modem, and to specifically check the OFDM parameters to see if their within spec.  However, the one important component here is the QAM level, which runs at a fixed level in previous versions.  With version .36T6, a QAM level lower than 1024, which is the top level, will indicate that the OFDM channel is running at less than optimum performance.  64 QAM is the bottom level.  Below that the modem will bail out of DOCSIS 3.1 operation and use DOCSIS 3.0, which is what your posted signal levels are indicating.  Those aren't great, although yes, they are within spec.  The modem shouldn't have any issues running with those signal levels if it were running with DOCSIS 3.0 only.     I need the OFDM data to determine that.  

 

So, I have no doubt that you have some problem with your external cable and/or connectors, but, the DOCSIS 3.0 levels that you posted are still within spec, even if their lower than they should be.  The modem doesn't show all of the downstream OFDM channel details, which tech support has access to, so, its impossible to know at the moment if the OFDM channel is running correctly, and to know that, we need 36T6 loaded to see the real OFDM QAM level, along with the OFDM signal levels and signal to noise ratios. 

 

Try the modem reboot/restart to see if the firmware update runs, and failing that, see if tech support can push version 2.0.10.36T6 to the modem or put it on the nightly firmware update schedule.  My personal opinion, at the end of the day, is that you need a tech visit to sort out the problems in the lower 500 Mhz range of the frequency spectrum, which is where the DOCSIS 3.1 OFDM channel lives, as well as the DOCSIS 3.0 upstream channels.  



I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

Thanks for your detailed reply. My technical knowledge is a bit limited on the details but I will resume my troubleshooting tonight. I just confirmed I still have the old firmware so my priority it to get Roger's to push that to me. For my info, whT kind of signal levels should I be looking for in general.

I'm going to try connecting the modem directly to the cable where it enters the house to see if that improves things.
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

Update - 

 

I've now confirmed I have firmware 2.0.10.36T6 and have done some more testing. I have moved the modem so now it is directly connected to the cable coming into the house from the street. Speed over a Cat6 5 foot cable into a laptop with a 1GB ethernet capability is testing on Rogers speedtest at 270 to 290Gbps DL, 22 UL. Ping 10, jitter 2.

 

On a 5Ghz connection, tested on the same laptop and on my Samsung S8 using the Rogers MyWifi app, I'm showing internet to modem speed consistent over multiple tests at  appx 760Mbps and varied DL rates from internet to device  between 90 Mbps and 250 Mbps. Signal strength less than 25cm from the modem is showing at -40dBm on channel 161. 

 

On 2.4Ghz, same test as above, I'm showing 600 to 700 Mbps from modem to internet and between 30 and 80 Mbps DL. Signal strength 25cm from modem is -34 dBm.

 

I'm still not running anywhere near where I should be and tests have varied widely over the last hour.

 

Here's my current Docsis WAN values

D
DOCSIS WAN

This menu displays both upstream and downstream signal parameters

DOCSIS Overview Network Access Permitted IP Address   Subnet Mask   Gateway IP Address   DHCP Lease Time 😧 06 H: 09 M: 35 S: 00
Downstream Overview Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB) 1 591000000 256QAM -2.400 7 40.366 2 855000000 256QAM -4.300 3 38.983 3 861000000 256QAM -3.800 4 38.983 4 579000000 256QAM -3.200 5 38.605 5 585000000 256QAM -2.500 6 40.366 6 849000000 256QAM -4.100 2 38.605 7 597000000 256QAM -2.300 8 40.366 8 603000000 256QAM -2.600 9 40.366 9 609000000 256QAM -2.500 10 40.366 10 615000000 256QAM -2.300 11 40.366 11 621000000 256QAM -2.200 12 40.366 12 633000000 256QAM -2.300 13 40.946 13 639000000 256QAM -2.300 14 40.366 14 645000000 256QAM -2.500 15 40.946 15 651000000 256QAM -2.200 16 40.366 16 657000000 256QAM -1.700 17 40.366 17 663000000 256QAM -1.700 18 40.366 18 669000000 256QAM -1.400 19 40.366 19 675000000 256QAM -1.200 20 40.366 20 681000000 256QAM -1.500 21 40.366 21 687000000 256QAM -1.300 22 40.366 22 693000000 256QAM -1.200 23 40.366 23 699000000 256QAM -0.600 24 40.366 24 705000000 256QAM -1.200 25 40.366 25 711000000 256QAM -1.400 26 40.366 26 717000000 256QAM -1.200 27 40.366 27 723000000 256QAM -1.300 28 40.366 28 825000000 256QAM -0.800 29 40.946 29 831000000 256QAM -1.700 30 38.983 30 837000000 256QAM -3.500 31 38.983 31 843000000 256QAM -4.000 32 38.983 32 303000000 256QAM -7.000 1 38.605
OFDM Downstream Overview Receiver FFT type Subcarr 0 Frequency(MHz) PLC locked NCP locked MDC1 locked PLC power(dBmv) 0 NA NA NO NO NO NA 1 NA NA NO NO NO NA
Upstream Overview Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Bandwidth 1 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 36.000 3 3200000 2 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 32.750 1 6400000 3 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 32.750 2 6400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview Channel Index State lin Digital Att Digital Att BW (sc's*fft) Report Power Report Power1_6 FFT Size
 
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,294

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

@Jameskie do you still have the modem connected to the incoming cable by chance.  If so, can you try reposting the signal table, from the Downstream Overview line all the way to the bottom right hand corner of the OFDM/OFDMA section.  Hopefully it will paste in correctly and be easier to read.  

 

To copy the table, select, or highlight the entire table, right click ..... copy.  Then start a new post, right click ..... Paste.  The table should like like a table when it pastes into the post.  

 

Looking through the data, your modem isn't running the Downstream OFDM channel, so, there's an issue with the lower 500 Mhz band in the cable system somewhere.  

 

I can reconstruct the table, so, if you're already moved the modem back its normal location, just let me know.  Don't bother moving the modem back again. 

 

Edit:  @Jameskie are you on a fibre to the home (FTTH) connection?  Looking at the signal data, the signal to noise ratios lead me to think that's a possibility.

 

@Jameskie here's the signal levels, as they're currently sitting:

 

Sig level chart.png

 

 

That should be a straight line at 0 dBmV, so, you have a problem in the cable system below 600 Mhz.  That slope, from 300 Mhz up to 600 Mhz might be why the downstream OFDM channel isn't running.  However, the modem is able to use the DOCSIS 3.0 channels at 600 Mhz at above, even with the dramatic drop-off above 800 Mhz.  That drop off shouldn't exist.  Be that as it may, it doesn't explain the slow performance that you're seeing, so this is still a head scratcher.....