500U Slow Speeds

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: 500U Slow Speeds - Escalated Ticket

Hi yes i have been testing multiple device wifi and ethernet 

here just a quick snapshot of what i i am getting was told was all my devices didn't do anything to my device but somehow seems a bit better....something was and is not right and it is not at my end

DateDownload Speed     
2018-11-30, 12:11 a.m.642.3006      
2018-11-30, 12:12 a.m.142.4606100U     
2018-11-30, 12:14 a.m.135.4087100u     
2018-11-30, 8:55 a.m.135.3668100u     
2019-03-16, 1:45 a.m.135.1695100uaverage speed for the time I had 100u 
2019-05-28, 8:37 p.m.133.7559100u     
2019-07-14, 9:45 a.m.141.6734100u     
2019-07-14, 1:08 p.m.18.8513100ustart of  having issues  
2019-07-14, 1:10 p.m.20.70854100uall device slow    
2019-07-14, 1:11 p.m.16.29839100uall devices slow same reading all devices 
2019-07-20, 8:24 a.m.3.83576100uanother day slow all devices  
2019-07-20, 8:34 a.m.17.9689100uslow    
2019-07-20, 8:35 a.m.20.19162100uslow    
2019-07-20, 8:35 a.m.18.76422100uslow     
2019-07-20, 8:57 a.m.17.13242100uslow all devices everyday speed test on other devices
   Upgradeed to 500u   
        
        
2019-09-07, 3:14 p.m.29.0957500Udifferent times of day and different server test
2019-09-07, 3:19 p.m.25.36734500uaverage speed since upgrade to 500u  
2019-09-09, 8:01 p.m.70.0903500Uaverage speed since upgrade to 500u  
2019-09-11, 8:36 a.m.42.2178500Uaverage speed since upgrade to 500u  
2019-09-11, 10:00 a.m.68.70753500uaverage speed since upgrade to 500u  
2019-09-11, 10:08 a.m.75.54958500uaverage speed since upgrade to 500u  
2019-09-11, 10:21 a.m.41.83487500uaverage speed since upgrade to 500u  
2019-09-11, 10:27 a.m.58.11642500uaverage speed since upgrade to 500u  
2019-09-11, 6:14 p.m.71.53527500uaverage speed since upgrade to 500u  
2019-09-11, 7:18 p.m.75.22604500uaverage speed since upgrade to 500u  
2019-09-11, 7:36 p.m.160.7085500uok now getting average speed was getting on 100u 
2019-09-11, 7:37 p.m.148.4203500uok now getting average speed was getting on 100u 
2019-09-11, 7:42 p.m.162.571500uok now getting average speed was getting on 100u 
2019-09-12, 7:35 a.m.179.639500uok now getting average speed was getting on 100u 
2019-09-12, 8:27 a.m.245.0363500uwow never seen that speed  tech is on his way 
2019-09-12, 10:39 a.m.117.5678500ushort lived back to 100u speed  
2019-09-12, 11:16 a.m.85.14734500u Back to this speed and worse on all my devices 
2019-09-12, 11:17 a.m.325.9059500uTech leaves all a sudden wow never seen those speeds
2019-09-12, 11:43 a.m.367.2394500udidn’t do anything to my device 
2019-09-12, 11:44 a.m.384.4408500usomehow I finally got good speed on all my devices
2019-09-12, 12:03 p.m.344.2397500u I finally got good speed didn’t do anyhting to my devices
2019-09-12, 12:20 p.m.329.8239500udidn’t do a thing on my end   
2019-09-12, 1:11 p.m.239.4268500ubetter     
2019-09-12, 5:45 p.m.361.7758500ubetter     
2019-09-12, 5:46 p.m.326.0082500uok    
2019-09-12, 5:46 p.m.315.9845500uok    
2019-09-12, 7:28 p.m.26.39374500uwhat ?    
2019-09-12, 7:29 p.m.72.22042500uoh no    
2019-09-12, 7:44 p.m.80.8672500uoh no    
2019-09-12, 8:40 p.m.74.25304500uoh no    
2019-09-12, 9:29 p.m.64.76232500uoh no    
2019-09-12, 9:56 p.m.84.27686500uon no     
2019-09-12, 10:23 p.m.42.28426500uoh no not good   
2019-09-12, 10:24 p.m.30.28042500uouch  something is not right  
2019-09-12, 10:30 p.m.67.04834500uok maybe congestion but not my device issue its upstream
2019-09-12, 10:32 p.m.393.1394500uWOW OK Much better this is what I should be getting
2019-09-12, 10:56 p.m.399.9668500uOK    
2019-09-12, 10:57 p.m.337.9746500uok    
2019-09-12, 11:05 p.m.375.8917500uok     
2019-09-12, 11:14 p.m.417.9302500uwow    
2019-09-12, 11:25 p.m.421.6285500uwow    
2019-09-12, 11:26 p.m.200.6884500uok    
2019-09-12, 11:28 p.m.370.3044500uok    
2019-09-12, 11:33 p.m.149.6189500uok connected to a wifi pod   
2019-09-12, 11:34 p.m.169.3798500uok connected to a wifi pod   
2019-09-12, 11:37 p.m.144.8279500uanother room wifi pod  
2019-09-13, 7:17 a.m.127.656500uwifi pod    
2019-09-13, 7:48 a.m.115.7134500uwifi pod    
2019-09-13, 8:00 a.m.129.9245500uwifi pod    
2019-09-13, 5:33 p.m.387.0927500ugateway ok speed   
2019-09-13, 6:37 p.m.135.2887500uwifi pod    
2019-09-13, 8:04 p.m.344.5835500uwow much better   
2019-09-13, 11:31 p.m.390.6018500uok     
2019-09-14, 12:00 a.m.96.14413500umaybe congestion    
2019-09-14, 12:01 a.m.532.1313500uwhat is that wow awesome give me more 
2019-09-14, 12:05 a.m.587.7996500uagain wow! This is what I should be getting 
2019-09-14, 12:08 a.m.365.276500uok    
2019-09-14, 12:09 a.m.196.6005500uwifi pod    
2019-09-14, 12:11 a.m.186.884500uwifi pod    
2019-09-14, 12:17 a.m.180.3812500uwifi pod    
2019-09-14, 12:18 a.m.328.8284500ugateway ok speed   
2019-09-14, 12:58 a.m.104.7688500upod    
2019-09-14, 12:58 a.m.206.2879500upod    
2019-09-14, 7:20 a.m.405.9789500uwow!  What do I have to do to average this speed 
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

my house has a ignite 500 cable internet connection. since last year this connection has had a weird problem.
it is running docsis 3.1, download speed is like 2.1Mbps while upload speed is at 20+Mbps
rogers tech came once in the last month, said it was related to a cable filter device installled like two years ago to reduce the power of the cable signal strength, the speed became fine/normal after the visit, but after a month or so, the problem reappeared. crawling back like a creepy ghost.

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

this is from my cable model for the docsis view
DOCSIS Overview
Network Access Permitted
IP Address 7.xx *privacy*
Subnet Mask 255.255.240.0
Gateway IP Address 7.xx *privacy*
DHCP Lease Time 😧 06 H: 12 M: 41 S: 13
Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 597000000 256QAM 3.000 8 37.356
2 849000000 256QAM 3.900 2 37.636
3 855000000 256QAM 4.100 3 37.636
4 861000000 256QAM 4.700 4 37.636
5 579000000 256QAM 3.000 5 37.636
6 585000000 256QAM 2.800 6 37.636
7 591000000 256QAM 2.900 7 37.636
8 279000000 256QAM 3.600 1 37.636
9 603000000 256QAM 2.400 9 37.636
10 609000000 256QAM 2.500 10 37.636
11 615000000 256QAM 2.600 11 37.636
12 621000000 256QAM 2.600 12 37.636
13 633000000 256QAM 2.500 13 37.636
14 639000000 256QAM 2.500 14 37.636
15 645000000 256QAM 2.800 15 37.356
16 651000000 256QAM 2.500 16 36.610
17 657000000 256QAM 2.900 17 37.356
18 663000000 256QAM 2.900 18 37.636
19 669000000 256QAM 2.800 19 37.636
20 675000000 256QAM 2.800 20 37.356
21 681000000 256QAM 2.800 21 37.636
22 687000000 256QAM 2.900 22 37.636
23 693000000 256QAM 3.100 23 37.356
24 699000000 256QAM 3.000 24 37.356
25 705000000 256QAM 2.800 25 37.636
26 711000000 256QAM 2.500 26 37.636
27 717000000 256QAM 2.200 27 37.356
28 723000000 256QAM 2.000 28 37.636
29 825000000 256QAM 4.400 29 38.605
30 831000000 256QAM 4.200 30 37.636
31 837000000 256QAM 4.200 31 38.605
32 843000000 256QAM 3.700 32 37.636
OFDM Downstream Overview
Receiver FFT type Subcarr 0 Frequency(MHz) PLC locked NCP locked MDC1 locked PLC power(dBmv)
0 NA NA NO NO NO NA
1 4K 275600000 YES YES YES 5.099998
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Bandwidth
1 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 30.750 2 6400000
2 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 34.750 3 3200000
3 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 30.750 1 6400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel Index State lin Digital Att Digital Att BW (sc's*fft) Report Power Report Power1_6 FFT Size
0 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K
1 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K

@brucepow wrote:

my house has a ignite 500 cable internet connection. since last year this connection has had a weird problem.
it is running docsis 3.1, download speed is like 2.1Mbps while upload speed is at 20+Mbps
rogers tech came once in the last month, said it was related to a cable filter device installled like two years ago to reduce the power of the cable signal strength, the speed became fine/normal after the visit, but after a month or so, the problem reappeared. crawling back like a creepy ghost.


Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,567

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

Hello, @brucepow.

 

Welcome to Rogers Community Forums! 🙂

 

Thank you for posting slow speed concern in the Community. I appreciate listing the signal strength table; the levels seem to be within specs. However, we would like to analyze the OFDM Downstream channel to isolate the issue.

 

Please send us a private message at @CommunityHelps. You can find details about our private messaging in this blog.

 

Cheers,

RogersMoin

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

I just recently upgraded to Rogers Ignite 500 from 100 and I too have found that speeds have been spotty. The family room computer, which is on the main floor of our typical late 1980s house, is plugged into the modem via Ethernet and seems to be testing consistently over 500 -- so that part is good.  BUT, my home office is on the second floor, and work from my laptop there so laptop was connecting via WiFi -- I have a Pod in the room with me, and my room is almost directly above the modem on the main floor. Despite having the Pod in the room with me, the signal strength oscillates between full bars and one lower than full. I was getting speeds from 20 to 40 Mbps. I then ran an Ethernet cable from the Pod to my computer and was getting around 40 Mbps.  I was on the phone with a tech yesterday, and he had me reboot my work computer and I suddenly got well over 100 Mbps.  But later that day and today, it's back to 20-40 range. I just reconnected my D-Link Powerline unit (Ethernet from modem to base unit on main floor, then the receiving unit plugged in to outlet in my office and then Ethernet from there to laptop) and now getting about 190 Mbps - quite good, but still only about 40% of what I theoretically should get.  I had hoped with the Pods that I would be able to REDUCE the amount of hardware plugged in all over the place, but doesn't look that way. So I am wondering why the WiFi is so slow with those "mesh" pods -- they are worse than the 100u setup I had before!  As it stands now, it looks like I need to get rid of the Pods and buy more Powerline units -- connecting my PS4 which is in the basement is next on my to do list, as I don't trust the speed it's getting.  Based on my observations so far, the PS4 is getting worse speeds, even being plugged into a Pod via Ethernet.  Bottom line, if you can confirm that the Pods are the weak link, then I can move forward with a solution. Thanks!

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,567

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

Hello, @stever1.


Thank you for posting your query in the Community. As you observed, it's good to know that your modem is delivering the package speed on your wired computer. 


Our Community can surely assist in figuring out the best possible options to get good speeds for other devices. 


Since you have mentioned mesh and pods, can you clarify if you have Ignite TV service or regular cable service? Is the mesh network self-installed?


Please also provide the modem and mesh networks' make and model. 

 

We look forward to hearing from you. 

 

Cheers,
RogersMoin

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

Hi, I also have ignite 500u and have the similar slow speeds issue with ethernet and wifi connections. A tech support did come over and said everything is working and my devices are the problem. I do not understand how I had the cable internet with 500u connection using the white rectangular modem (hitron?) in the past and my devices did not experience the same slow speeds as now changing over to ignite 500u. I am not using a router, and the modem is placed in the same location as the previous cable internet modem. I am not sure what to do and if support can help. Below is the table for the downstream and upstream. Also, is there a way to change the DNS entries on the mode itself, I believe I was able to do the same with the previous cable modem (white rectangular shape) and curious if that can help my speeds a little. The tech support person who came over did say the modem is fine, and no issues. For some reason, I am getting invalid HTML error when pasting in the the downstream results...

 

Upstream            Channel Bonding Value                               

Index     1             2             3             4

Lock Status         Locked  Locked  Locked  Locked

Frequency           22 MHz 25 MHz 30 MHz 36 MHz

Symbol Rate       2560      2560      5120      5120

Power Level        44.5 dBmV          44.5 dBmV          43.5 dBmV          40.3 dBmV

Modulation         QAM      QAM      QAM      QAM

Channel Type     TDMA_AND_ATDMA       TDMA_AND_ATDMA       ATDMA ATDMA

 

 

 

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,133

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

Hello and welcome to our Community Forums @Joel1990!

 

We'd love to help you out but we'll need a little more information. If you scroll up, you should see the format in which others have posted their signal levels from their gateway.

 

If you would also be so kind as to do a speed test and post the results here, that would allow us to better understand the scope of your degraded speeds. In addition, if you could perform a tracert and post the results here, that may help us to identify the potential source of the issue.

 

For the sake of your privacy, please be sure you redact any personally identifying information such as your MAC address or IP address.

 

Regards,

RogersCorey

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

Hi Corey, 

I did look at the previous posts for the structure of the results, but every time I try to use the tables, I get an HTML error like my last message mentioned. So I am not sure how to post the results...

speed tests using speedtests.net and fast.com yield results averaging just over 200mbps, and I am currently on a 500u plan. 

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,133

Re: 500U Slow Speeds

Hey @Joel1990!

 

It's possible there's an issue with your browser that's causing the HTML error but it's nothing we can't workaround.

 

You could screenshot the results and post them as a picture or link us to a simple text file with the results.

 

In any case, I think it would be best if I ran some tests from here for you. Please PM us @CommunityHelps when you can so I can take a look at your modem and area directly.

 

If you're not familiar with our PMing process, you can find instructions here.

 

Regards,

RogersCorey