Ignite TV - Slow WiFi Speeds

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,245

Re: Ignite TV - Slow WiFi Speeds

Yeah definitely sounds like its a BAD setup was done, as it shouldnt be acting that way.

I have my TV boxes on wifi, as well as usually have 4-5 devices in the same room on the same wifi pod, and all seem to run with no issues, no slowdowns that I can see (can be running the TV, netflix on a computer, playing a game, etc all at the same time).

Tuning the channels.. again something is not right there.  Again if its signal or connectivity or something happening.
My ignite boxes, i find change the channels FASTER than even the newest digital cable boxes were (vs the older ones which took a good 4+ seconds to change channels)



Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,283

Re: Ignite TV - Slow WiFi Speeds


@Gdkitty wrote:

Tuning the channels.. again something is not right there.  Again if its signal or connectivity or something happening.
My ignite boxes, i find change the channels FASTER than even the newest digital cable boxes were (vs the older ones which took a good 4+ seconds to change channels)


Yesterday, my channel changes were taking several seconds.  I'm running in bridge mode with my own router...  I looked at my router's connection log and did not see any active IPv6 connections; they were ALL falling back to IPv4.

 

To fix this, I restarted my router's IPv6 WAN interface.  IPv6 connections started working again and channel changes were now immediate.  I don't know what changes Rogers made in their network but my new public IPv6 address came from a different block of addresses.

 

For anyone running a standard Rogers setup, you can fix slow channel changes by rebooting your XB6 gateway.



Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,283

Re: Ignite TV - Slow WiFi Speeds

FYI, Ars Technica published a great "10 simple rules to improve your Wi-Fi" article over the weekend.  It includes (and elaborates on) tips that I've posted here in the past and points out some of the not-so-obvious things that can dramatically slow down Wi-Fi performance.

 

https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2020/02/the-ars-technica-semi-scientific-guide-to-wi-fi-access-point...



Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 7

Re: Ignite TV - Slow WiFi Speeds

Thanks for all the info... 

I checked the modem and it is a "Technicolor CGM-4140". 

As far as the wired connection, my issue is that none of my laptops have an ethernet port on them. The newer ones don't have them, because everyone connects wirelessly now. The only laptop I have that does have an ethernet port on it, is 8yrs old, and will only connect at the 100meg. That is why one LAN port showed 100/100, I had my old laptop connected to log into the modem. My Lenovo laptop is only 1yr old and connects to wifi on 5ghz only. So it should be getting the top speeds. 

I have had 2 Roger's techs come to my house since it was installed. When they unplug the coax cable from the back of the modem, and connect it directly to their test set they are getting 985meg for a connection. Which is within range for being 1/4 of a km from the CO box. When they connect their laptop to the modem, they get a similar speed off the LAN port. But when connecting to wifi, they get the same speeds. 

One of the tech's told me that the ignite TV service just expanded into our province last year, and they were never really trained on how to troubleshoot the devices. He said that the basic set up is similar to all of the other modems that they are used to setting up, but that these ones are a little more complex because of all that they do and how they work. So after multiple testing, he was stumped. He replaced the modem and then left. It has been escalated to his manager, because apparently there are multiple people in our area having the same issues. 

I have looked into turning off the "IPv6" setting to see if that helps, but it doesn't give me the option to do that. I can see the setting, but it is grayed out, so I can't change anything in that setting. 

 

I tried going to the troubleshooting section on the modem and pulling up the event logs, and it doesn't show anything in there.

 

I noticed that the site cut off the end of my copy/paste the last time. So I have included the current stats from my modem to see if they can help: 

 

Downstream
Channel Bonding Value

 

IndexLock StatusFrequencySNRPower LevelModulation
9
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
33
34
 
 
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
603 MHz
555 MHz
561 MHz
567 MHz
573 MHz
579 MHz
585 MHz
591 MHz
597 MHz
609 MHz
615 MHz
621 MHz
633 MHz
639 MHz
645 MHz
651 MHz
657 MHz
663 MHz
669 MHz
675 MHz
681 MHz
687 MHz
693 MHz
699 MHz
350 MHz
723 MHz
239600000
623600000
35.7 dB
36.8 dB
36.8 dB
36.5 dB
36.5 dB
36.2 dB
36.1 dB
36.1 dB
35.9 dB
36.0 dB
36.1 dB
36.0 dB
35.7 dB
35.7 dB
35.6 dB
35.5 dB
36.1 dB
36.2 dB
36.0 dB
36.2 dB
36.2 dB
36.0 dB
36.3 dB
36.0 dB
36.5 dB
35.4 dB
NA
NA
-4.8 dBmV
-4.4 dBmV
-4.4 dBmV
-4.8 dBmV
-4.7 dBmV
-4.8 dBmV
-4.8 dBmV
-4.9 dBmV
-4.8 dBmV
-4.7 dBmV
-4.6 dBmV
-4.5 dBmV
-4.8 dBmV
-4.9 dBmV
-5.0 dBmV
-5.1 dBmV
-5.0 dBmV
-5.1 dBmV
-5.2 dBmV
-4.4 dBmV
-3.6 dBmV
-3.2 dBmV
-2.8 dBmV
-2.9 dBmV
-6.0 dBmV
-2.7 dBmV
NA
NA
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
OFDM
OFDM
OFDM
OFDM

 

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
33
34
 
 
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
609 MHz
615 MHz
621 MHz
633 MHz
639 MHz
645 MHz
651 MHz
657 MHz
663 MHz
669 MHz
675 MHz
681 MHz
687 MHz
693 MHz
699 MHz
350 MHz
723 MHz
239600000
623600000
36.0 dB
36.1 dB
36.0 dB
35.7 dB
35.7 dB
35.6 dB
35.5 dB
36.1 dB
36.2 dB
36.0 dB
36.2 dB
36.2 dB
36.0 dB
36.3 dB
36.0 dB
36.5 dB
35.4 dB
NA
NA
-4.7 dBmV
-4.6 dBmV
-4.5 dBmV
-4.8 dBmV
-4.9 dBmV
-5.0 dBmV
-5.1 dBmV
-5.0 dBmV
-5.1 dBmV
-5.2 dBmV
-4.4 dBmV
-3.6 dBmV
-3.2 dBmV
-2.8 dBmV
-2.9 dBmV
-6.0 dBmV
-2.7 dBmV
NA
NA
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
256 QAM
OFDM
OFDM
OFDM
OFDM

 

23
24
33
34
 
 
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
693 MHz
699 MHz
350 MHz
723 MHz
239600000
623600000
36.3 dB
36.0 dB
36.5 dB
35.4 dB
NA
NA
-2.8 dBmV
-2.9 dBmV
-6.0 dBmV
-2.7 dBmV
NA
NA
256 QAM
256 QAM
OFDM
OFDM
OFDM
OFDM

 

 

 

Upstream

Channel Bonding Value

 

IndexLock StatusFrequencySymbol RatePower LevelModulationChannel Type
1
2
3
4
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
22 MHz
25 MHz
30 MHz
36 MHz
2560
2560
5120
5120
42.0 dBmV
42.0 dBmV
42.5 dBmV
43.5 dBmV
QAM
QAM
QAM
QAM
TDMA_AND_ATDMA
TDMA_AND_ATDMA
ATDMA
ATDMA

 

 

 CM Error Codewords

 

IndexUnerrored CodewordsCorrectable CodewordsUncorrectable Codewords
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
2814814777
3673780894
3673780706
3673803175
3673810731
3673818699
3673817733
3673820540
3673827945
3673831127
3673881566
3673884299
3673881811
3673900718
3673907046
3673908746
3673907849
3673911530
3673921095
3673926961
3673956240
3673953410
3673929549
3673943476
3024944723
2814814777
844736205
223
210
233
238
244
239
235
274
315
306
384
462
508
652
676
425
435
539
381
483
671
487
500
4233851086
844736205
337431745
1098
1114
1088
1091
1079
1094
1110
1102
1095
1097
1091
1128
1073
1100
1109
1107
1096
1090
1101
1104
1093
1108
1125
1622160444
337431745

 

9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
3673827945
3673831127
3673881566
3673884299
3673881811
3673900718
3673907046
3673908746
3673907849
3673911530
3673921095
3673926961
3673956240
3673953410
3673929549
3673943476
3024944723
2814814777
274
315
306
384
462
508
652
676
425
435
539
381
483
671
487
500
4233851086
844736205
1102
1095
1097
1091
1128
1073
1100
1109
1107
1096
1090
1101
1104
1093
1108
1125
1622160444
337431745

 

17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
3673907849
3673911530
3673921095
3673926961
3673956240
3673953410
3673929549
3673943476
3024944723
2814814777
425
435
539
381
483
671
487
500
4233851086
844736205
1107
1096
1090
1101
1104
1093
1108
1125
1622160444
337431745

 

25
26
3024944723
2814814777
4233851086
844736205
1622160444
337431745

 

 

 

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,944

Re: Ignite TV - Slow WiFi Speeds

@jakika5 where are you located?  I had another look at your signal stats tonight.  Your DOCSIS 3.0 channels (1 to 32) have good signal to noise ratios, the signal levels are below 0 dBmV which is the target level.  Yours average - 4 to -5 dBmV, so, a little low.  

 

That would imply that the DOCSIS 3.1 channels are also slightly low in signal level.  I wouldn't want the signal levels to go any lower from where they currently sit. 

 

You have 4 DOCSIS 3.1 downstream OFDM channels running, two active and two inactive.  That's really unusual at this point, which is why I'm wondering where you're located. 



Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 7

Re: Ignite TV - Slow WiFi Speeds

I live in New Brunswick and our service apparently feeds out of the main office in Moncton, NB.
What does this mean?
"the signal levels are below 0 dBmV which is the target level.  Yours average - 4 to -5 dBmV, so, a little low.  

That would imply that the DOCSIS 3.1 channels are also slightly low in signal level.  I wouldn't want the signal levels to go any lower from where they currently sit. "

Is there a way to improve it? This is the 3rd modem I have had installed, and they all show the same. 


When I call in to tech support and ask them about the fact that only 2 OFDM channels are running and they said "yeah, thats noral." but I don't think he even knows what it is. He was a jerk to me and argued that wifi isn't guaranteed. So unless something isn't working, there is nothing he can do for me. They are sending yet another technician. The earliest appointment they can get me is April 11th, because I work M-F so I'm not home to let them in. I told him it was pointless to send another tech, since I have had 3 technicians come out and all 3 replaced my modem with no improvements. All 3 agreed that getting 120-160 on wifi with a 1gig internet connection is not normal, or acceptable. But they don't know how to resolve it.

I'm getting extremely frustrated with these tech support people in Toronto. I'm really hoping to find a magic trick here to fix it. 😞 

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 417

Re: Ignite TV - Slow WiFi Speeds

Hey @jakika5!

 

Thank you for sharing your experience! I'd be happy to assist. Regarding the quote:

"the signal levels are below 0 dBmV which is the target level.  Yours average - 4 to -5 dBmV, so, a little low.  

That would imply that the DOCSIS 3.1 channels are also slightly low in signal level.  I wouldn't want the signal levels to go any lower from where they currently sit."
The downstream signal level range is between -10 and 10. If your within that range on all channels there's no issue.

 

In regards to the OFDM channel activity we'd need to take a closer look to identify what's occurring. It's possible that certain channels are unavailable. 

 

Lastly as for the WiFi concern, the indication that 120-160Mbps over WiFi "isn't good" isn't necessarily on it's own a fair or accurate representation. It's important to note that the speeds you receive over WiFi are very easily impacted by interference, attenuation and device limitations within your home network. It could be possible that there's a device connected on your network limiting the overall throughput. WiFi speeds can only be as fast as it's slowest connected link. 

 

If all of your devices in the home are connected then there wouldn't be any available troubleshooting from Rogers technical support, but that doesn't mean you're out of luck. There are ways to improve the overall connectivity within your home, but to do so we'll need to know more about what you have connected. Devices, router, repeaters/extenders, mesh network etc. Let me know the following and assistance can definitely be provided:

 

  • Is your modem located central in the home to where it's being used most?
  • Are you using your own router?
  • Do you have a repeater/extender in the home?
  • Are you using Rogers Wall-to-Wall WiFi?
  • What is the model name of the modem you're using?
  • Do speeds improve if you're nearby the modem?
  • Do speeds improve if only 1 device is connected?
  • How many devices are connected to your WiFi? (Include all devices, even if not in use)
  • When you run your speed test are you seeing full bars of WiFi connectivity?

From here we can get a gauge of the existing wireless health within the home, and try to identify possibilities for improvement.

 

@RogersAndy

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 7

Re: Ignite TV - Slow WiFi Speeds

I have been through all of this with the tech support people, and the 3 technicians who came to my house and replaced the modem each time. 

I fully understand how the wifi signal can be impacted. I work on a IT support desk at work, so I have looked into everything that could be impacting it with no resolution. Prior to switching to Ignite, I had a 7meg internet connection, and was able to get 6.8meg on my wifi. My laptop is only 8 months old and only connects to 5ghz wifi. 

Each time the tech's replaced the modem, there was only 1 device connected to the wifi, and they were only able to get 140meg. When they disconnected the cable from the back of the modem and plugged their test set into it, they were getting 987meg. I only live 1/4 of a km from the CO box where my service feeds from. The tech also told me that there are only 2 other customers connected to the shelf my service is connected to, as it is a new shelf that was just installed a month ago when the Ignite service expanded in our area. 

 

  • Is your modem located central in the home to where it's being used most? - It is located in my living room. The major of the devices that are used in the home are used in the general area. 
  • Are you using your own router? No
  • Do you have a repeater/extender in the home?  No
  • Are you using Rogers Wall-to-Wall WiFi? A Rogers POD was put in the basement to strengthen the signal for my downstairs TV. But I have issues standing in front of my modem. 
  • What is the model name of the modem you're using? On the bottom it says "CGM4141"
    " but when I look it up on the Rogers website, it says that it is a Arris XB6.
  • Do speeds improve if you're nearby the modem? No... same speeds standing in front of it, as when I'm standing at the other end of my house. 
  • Do speeds improve if only 1 device is connected?  No... same speeds no matter how many devices are connected. When the tech replaced the modem each time, we connected with 1 device and got the same speeds. 
  • How many devices are connected to your WiFi? (Include all devices, even if not in use)  Usually 12-14, but some are lights and printers that are rarely used. 
  • When you run your speed test are you seeing full bars of WiFi connectivity?  Yes... I get full bars on the WIFI no matter where I stand in my house. 

According to the technician, the modems are configured in Ontario and shipped to the warehouse in New Brunswick.

I was doing some research online, and found out that the DNS servers in my modem are the DNS servers for Ontario. 

The current DNS servers in the modem are: 

Primary DNS Server (IPv4):64.71.255.204

Secondary DNS Server (IPv4):64.71.255.198

Primary DNS Server (IPv6):2607:f798:18:10:0:640:7125:5204

Secondary DNS Server (IPv6):2607:f798:18:10:0:640:7125:5198

 

I live in New Brunswick. Does Rogers not have different DNS servers depending on the province you live in? 

 

I had someone tell me I should call into tech support and have the OFDM channel parameters are within spec.  They would include the signal level, Signal to Noise ratio, and potentially the Bit Error Rate.  But I don't know if there is something that can be done to adjust these levels. 

 

My neighbor who lives next door has had the 1gig internet package for over a year ( I don't know if they have Ignite TV or not, but I know they have the 1gig package, because my son talks about how great their wifi is) and they can get 700meg on their wifi, even while someone is doing gaming online. The technician that was here last week suggested maybe they have a different modem, as he said they seem to be having issues with these CGM4141 modems, as I'm not the first person to complain of wifi issues. He said he was at the neighbors 6 houses up the last week as well, and their wifi is randomly dropping multiple times a day. He said there are not issues when testing the line, and no issues when he tested the inside wiring. It is only the wifi that is affected. 

A senior tech was supposed to come to my house 4 weeks ago to investigate, and his manager called me to say the tech wasn't coming. The senior tech said he had 12 reports of issues in the past month.

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,283

Re: Ignite TV - Slow WiFi Speeds


@jakika5 wrote:

My neighbor who lives next door has had the 1gig internet package for over a year ( I don't know if they have Ignite TV or not, but I know they have the 1gig package, because my son talks about how great their wifi is) and they can get 700meg on their wifi, even while someone is doing gaming online. The technician that was here last week suggested maybe they have a different modem, as he said they seem to be having issues with these CGM4141 modems, as I'm not the first person to complain of wifi issues. He said he was at the neighbors 6 houses up the last week as well, and their wifi is randomly dropping multiple times a day. He said there are not issues when testing the line, and no issues when he tested the inside wiring. It is only the wifi that is affected. 

A senior tech was supposed to come to my house 4 weeks ago to investigate, and his manager called me to say the tech wasn't coming. The senior tech said he had 12 reports of issues in the past month.


Are you friendly-enough with your neighbour that they will let you perform a speed test with your laptop on their Wi-Fi?  Some laptops max out at 350 Mb/s even under the best of circumstances.  If you can get 700 Mb/s over Wi-Fi, consider yourself very fortunate.

 

As for the speed tests that your tech performed with his test meter, that's fine, but I'll only trust a speed test performed with an actual computer over a wired connection, and will also validate that by performing actual bulk data transfers.

 

There are many things that can make Wi-Fi slow and unstable.  You not only have to consider factors within your own home but also your neighbours' Wi-Fi and the channel/frequency utilization of any Wi-Fi and non-Wi-Fi devices in your area that transmit at or above a certain power level relative to the noise floor.  Only one device can transmit on any frequency at given a time.  If other devices are transmitting on the same frequencies that you are using, even if they are not connected to your Wi-Fi network, a device (Wi-Fi client or Access Point) MUST wait for the airspace to become clear before it can transmit.  If you have a device in the far corner or your house, with a poor Wi-Fi connection, transmitting constantly, it will kill the Wi-Fi speed of the device that's only 3m away from your router.

 

You may also want to read the following article for a bit of added perspective: https://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2017/03/802-eleventy-what-a-deep-dive-into-why-wi-fi-...

 

If you are able to get the advertised speed of your Internet connection over a wired connection, that's all that you can ask of Rogers.  With Wi-Fi, let's say that you are able to get stellar Wi-Fi one day.  The next day, one of your neighbours might do something stupid in futile attempt to "boost the power" of their Wi-Fi, and that could suddenly destroy the performance of your Wi-Fi network in an instant.



Highlighted
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Ignite TV - Slow WiFi Speeds

My ignite wifi is giving me trouble. Coverage je very weak causing numerous disruption of my work connexion. I need urgent help please.