Ignite TV - How to change DNS on XB6 (CGM4140COM) modem?

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Ignite TV - How to change DNS on XB6 (CGM4140COM) modem?

how did you disable the ipv6??

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 15

Re: Ignite TV - How to change DNS on XB6 (CGM4140COM) modem?

I have my Rogers box in bridge mode and on my own router (ASUS RT-AC86U) I went into the ipv6 tab and disabled it.
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,087

Re: Ignite TV - How to change DNS on XB6 (CGM4140COM) modem?

Hey guys, I just got this new modem with my Ignite service. Are we able to set custom DNS servers, and does it offer any type of IDS (Intrusion Detection Service)? Is there any tweaks/settings that ya'll recommend for optimal performance?

I love the Broadcom chipset in this thing, my ping and latency seems much better than the unpredictable Hitron it replaced.

 

 



Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,079

Re: Ignite TV - How to change DNS on XB6 (CGM4140COM) modem?

That I am aware, you are not able to assign a different DNS with the modem/gateway itself.

Likely would have to go in bridged with your own router. (but that recalls another whole setup then for the TV units.)



Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 394

Re: Ignite TV - How to change DNS on XB6 (CGM4140COM) modem?


@Gdkitty wrote:

That I am aware, you are not able to assign a different DNS with the modem/gateway itself.

Likely would have to go in bridged with your own router. (but that recalls another whole setup then for the TV units.)


I'm also not aware of any way to change the DNS settings on the XB6 itself.  However, I can confirm that if you put the XB6 into bridge mode and use your own router, you can configure 3rd-party IPv4 and IPv6 DNS servers and Ignite TV and Netflix still work fine.



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 16

Re: Ignite TV - How to change DNS on XB6 (CGM4140COM) modem?

Always one step forward two steps back with this company.

I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 7

Re: Ignite TV - How to change DNS on XB6 (CGM4140COM) modem?

Good evening,

 

Can anyone with Rogers that reads the forums please submit a feature request to allow DNS setting changes on Ignite modems? I use an in-house DNS server (pihole) for ad blocking and privacy, which can't be activated for the entire home network without the ability to change DNS settings. Other Rogers modems allow for these changes,  so why not the XB6? It's frustrating to 'upgrade' to Ignite only to have limited settings.

 

Thanks!

I'm a Trusted Contributor
Posts: 290

Re: Ignite TV - How to change DNS on XB6 (CGM4140COM) modem?

Bridge the VB6 and use your own router. Solved.

 

Good Luck

Bill

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 394

Re: Ignite TV - How to change DNS on XB6 (CGM4140COM) modem?

@mednorth  This question was recently asked at the Ignite TV "Ask an Expert" event: https://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/Ignite-TV/Ask-an-Expert-Ignite-TV-Pt-II/m-p/450947/highlight/t...

 

@RogersJose wrote:
@gp-se wrote:

I was hoping you guys would allow us to use custom DNS servers on the XB6 like on the previous Hitron Gateway. Is this something that is going to be made available with a future firmware update?

At this time, custom DNS servers aren’t compatible with the Protected Browsing and Parental Control features in Ignite Wi-Fi Hub.

I also don't know how the Xi6 set-top boxes pick up their DNS settings, whether it's through DHCP or if they are provisioned centrally.  You'll have to ensure that whatever solution you come up with doesn't break Ignite TV.



Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,362

Re: Ignite TV - How to change DNS on XB6 (CGM4140COM) modem?

So, for anyone who uses the XB6 without a router behind it, what do you see for the DNS addresses if you run an ipconfig/all command using a Windows Command Prompt?  Does it point to the modem, or do the actual DNS IP addresses show up?  If they do, what are they?  The Rogers DNS addresses??

 

Primary IPV4 DNS:         64.71.255.204

Secondary IPV 4 DNS:  64.71.255.198

 

Primary IPV6 DNS:         2607:f798:18:10:0:640:7125:5204

 

Secondary IPV6 DNS:   2607:f798:18:10:0:640:7125:5198

 

Or, does some other DNS address show up?  

 

What do the parental controls do, simply control the access times for a given device, or is there an additional capability to filter web content?  If the controls are only for access time control, I fail to see how that involves the DNS addresses?  Router manufacturers seem to be able to control access times with the users choice of DNS addresses, what the problem with the XB6 modems?  Is this a Comcast decision or a Rogers decision?  If this is all on Comcast, then the probability of changing this situation is most likely slim to none.  Of course that just gives Rogers an easy out, "Its all up to Comcast".