why does my internet shows american time and zone

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around

why does my internet shows american time and zone

I'm not an internet expert. My hardware at home is set to canadian time and zone yet applying for job posting using rogers hispeed internet, it seems to show american detroit time zone. Does my internet sevice go through the states and why?

***edited labels***

Solved! Go to Solution.

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert

Re: why does my internet shows american time and zone

Unless you are on someone elses internet.. or someone else set it up for you... you would likely KNOW if you are on on a VPN.. takes some setting up, etc to do.

Like though the others are correct.

Its detecting the geographical location of your IP.. picking up that you are in the the GMT-5 (i think thats the right one for the area).  But is displaying whatever THEIR designation for that timezone.. like the others said.. there are multiple cities which are in that zone.

View solution in original post

All Replies
Highlighted

Hello, @gmcommunity

Thank you for the interesting question. To my understanding, the website which you are browsing will determine your location based on your IP address. However, if you are using a VPN service, your location would be the VPN server's location.

What time zone are you in? Isn't Detroit in Eastern Time Zone?

@Gdkitty@VivienM and @Datalink - may have more insights to add, thank you all.

Regards,

RogersMoin

Highlighted
I'm an Advisor

@gmcommunity wrote: