cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

phone only rings once

mike017
I'm a Regular

Not sure whats wrong (this time)  but when there is a incoming call the phone only rings once then eventually just disconnets. If I answer the call it works fine and outgoing calls work but incomming calls only ring one time and never go to voicemail.

I've reset the modem and tried unpluging phones etc. no luck not sure what else to try, been on hold with rogers for 20 mins already, like always great customer support with their many many problems Smiley Frustrated

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: phone only rings once

Pauly
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
im no expert on this but it sounds like if the phone works and rings proper when connected to the modem and it only ring once when connected to the inside wireing, the problem may very well be an inside wiring has gone bad, rogers can come out and test this yes, but I don't believe they have a responsibility to fix it, you are likely going to be on the hook for it, I also already gonna know ur reaction your gonna be very upset and threaten them to fix it or threaten to cancel and go back to bell, but bell also doesn't fix inside wiring issues either, all phone companies responsibility ends at the point of demarcation which in rogers case is the modem, and for bell its the block near your hydro panel.

View solution in original post

25 REPLIES 25

mike017
I'm a Regular

so apparently if I plug the phone directly into the modem it will work but that's not practical, if I can't use the other jacks in the house I may as well go back to Bell at least with them my phone actually works

It WAS canada day.. they may have been more lightly staffed.

(those people working that day, would have been having to WORK on their holiday)

As for your issue.

It works when right into the modem with a phone..