cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

laptop wifi connects to 5G but not 2.4

raiderfan_NFL
I Plan to Stick Around

First of all just want to say I'm no router expert or anything, so bear with me here... lol.....

So I have the CGN3 modem, and when I first hooked it up I used the flash drive that came with it etc, and got it working very easily. Our 2 cell phones both connect to the 2.4ghz Wi-fi no problem, our LED TV connects to the 2.4ghz, and the wife's iPad also connects to the 2.4ghz. They all work fine.

The problem we have is the laptop won't work on the 2.4ghz, only the 5ghz. It will say Connected (on the 2.4ghz) but when opening the browser it won't surf the internet anywhere... just hangs and says waiting for google etc etc..... and sometimes it even drops the connection. I switch and connect to the 5ghz and boom, works fine. Now this is ok for most the time, but when I take the laptop to the basement I find the range sucks on this modem and there's little or no connection (status changes to FAIR). And not sure if was on here but I read the 2.4ghz has a wider range, is that true? If so I would like to connect to the 2.4ghz so I can stream to my tv in basement but it won't let me on 5ghz as connection sucks.

***edited labels***

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: laptop wifi connects to 5G but not 2.4

I dont think i saw it mentioned up above.. 

A thought.

What are the SSID names of the 2.4 and 5?
Are they set the same?

If they are set to the same name, the card may be favoring the 5 over the 2.4.

(one reason why i always name mine separately)

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15

Datalink
Resident Expert
Resident Expert