What type is Rogers Hitron CGN3 FIRMWARE

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
glykos
I'm Here A Lot

What type is Rogers Hitron CGN3 FIRMWARE

Hi,

Could someone please help me identify the firmware for the Hiltron CGN3 modem?  Is it:

DD_WRT, Tomato or PFSENCE....I'm trying to configure a VPN service and it doesn't identify the Hiltron brand as a supported router.  I'm new to setting up a personal VPN service so my apologies in advance if I've misfrased my question.

G

***edited labels***

Solved! Go to Solution.

Accepted Solutions
Gdkitty
Resident Expert
Resident Expert

Re: What type is Rogers Hitron CGN3 FIRMWARE

DD-WRT, tomato and PFSENCE, are CUSTOM firmwares/software for routers.. that you put on another brand router.

The hitron is running firmware it creates.. like cisco makes their own for their routers, SMC for theirs, etc.

Those custom firmwares is what would be be put OVERTOP/INPLACE of the existing manufacturers one.

View solution in original post

All Replies
Gdkitty
Resident Expert
Resident Expert

DD-WRT, tomato and PFSENCE, are CUSTOM firmwares/software for routers.. that you put on another brand router.

The hitron is running firmware it creates.. like cisco makes their own for their routers, SMC for theirs, etc.

Those custom firmwares is what would be be put OVERTOP/INPLACE of the existing manufacturers one.

View solution in original post

glykos
I'm Here A Lot

Thank you Gdkitty for your quick response!!! Sooo, in your opinion, (and once again...sorry if I'm not phrasing the question right), would I be able to set up the VPN service using anyone of those firmwares?
Gdkitty
Resident Expert
Resident Expert

Donno.. that will all depend on your VPN service, etc.

IF its stuck to HAVING to use say one of those... you CANT install those on the hitron.