What is a good DNS to use in the Hitron?

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
I'm a Reliable Contributor

What is a good DNS to use in the Hitron?

Tried google and it sucked. Any others that you have had success with?

***edited labels***

Steve
I Plan to Stick Around

Re: What is a good DNS to use in the Hitron?

What were your issues with Google's DNS servers? I have been using them for several years with no issues. Always quick to resolve and accurate. I would be interested to hear what problem you were having.

Are you sure your client was using Google's dns servers? On Windows open an command prompt and type "nslookup" then enter. You should see what DNS server you are using. You may see your local router IP which in that case you are using a DNS proxy. The rogers routers dont always let you override the DNS servers properly.

In the past few weeks internet has been a joke here. Constant drops. So I setup 8.8.8.8 etc to try to speed up the system. Still drops. So...I have had techs here in the summer and re wired everything and things were great. Now the drops. Only thing I thought I could do was change the dns in the router which I tried. 

Steve
Resident Expert
Resident Expert

Yeah, well thats not a DNS issue.  wont change the dropouts.

A DNS server, is really... think of it, like a Telepone book.

You have a persons NAME, but not which phone number to call them with.. hard to call them if you dont have that, right?

When you type in a web address (www.yahoo.com), it goes to your DNS server, which then like an phonebook, compares the address, to the number it has stored.
It then reports back saying "it should be at this number".  Then your computer actually then makes the route between YOU and the destination.  You never actually go THOUGH the DNS.