Terrible Connection Issues

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
mafiaboy01
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 17

Re: Terrible Connection Issues

Hey guys,

 

I signed up for the 100u package about a month ago and I've been having nothing but issue with the interent.

 

Basically the Modem loses internet at least once a day and needs to be restarted to get internet again. The rogers technician came out and replaced the modem but the problem persists.

 

My setup is the Rogers Modem, connected in bridge mode to my Asus AC66u router that I've had for a few years now. Only the modem needs to be restarted to reconnect, the router operates properly and I maintain local network access.

 

I've set the DHCP query frequency to normal mode as suggested. I've also run the Hitron in router mode and still experienced the same problem.

 

Rogers is sending someone out to check the lines tomorrow but I was wondering if there was anything else I should try to resolve the problem

 

Thanks

Datalink
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 7,335

Re: Terrible Connection Issues

First question, please have a look at the product sticker at the back of the modem and let me know which modem you have, CGN3, CGN3ACR, CGN3ACSMR, CGN2, DPC-3825.

 

2.  If its a CGN3 series modem, please log into the modem and confirm which Software (firmware) version is loaded, as seen on the Status page that comes up when you log in.  If you have the modem in Bridge mode with your router running, use 192.168.100.1 to log into the modem, thru your router.  You don't have to rip apart your network by using that address.  If you are running the modem in Gateway mode, ie as a modem and router, you can use either 192.168.0.1, or 192.168.100.1.   

 

3.  Navigate to the STATUS ...... DOCSIS EVENT page and have a look for one of the following sequences:

a. CMTS-MAC=00:17:10 which indicates that you are connected to a Casa Systems Cable Modem Termination System (CMTS), or;


b. any of the following which indicates that you are connected to a Cisco Systems CMTS.

 

     1. CMTS-MAC=00:05:00
     2. CMTS-MAC=00:12:43
     3. CMTS-MAC=00:14:f1
     4. CMTS-MAC=00:1f:ca
     5. CMTS-MAC=e0:2f:6d Note: there may be other Cicso MAC addresses
                                                             as well which are not on this list yet.


Please let me know if you have the CMTS-MAC=00:17:10 sequence in your DOCSIS EVENTS log.  You may need to request the trial version 4.5.8.21 if you are connected to the Casa Systems CMTS, which that sequence indicates and you have a CGN3ACSMR.  If that is the case, please see the following linked page and follow the @CommunityHelps link to their public page.  On the right hand side is another link to "Send this user a private message"  Fill out the topic line as indicated in this thread and your HFC MAC address from the Status page in the text area along with your update request.  Its already addressed, so when ready, hit SEND.

 

http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/forums/forumtopicpage/board-id/Getting_connected/thread-id/3315...

 

If it is the case that you have a CGN3ACSMR connected to a Casa Systems CMTS, request the updated firmware version and don't swap the modem.  Most likely this combination is what is causing the current problem.  This is a new issue where the Casa CMTS equipment is replacing the current Cisco CMTS equipment in order to run gigabit service.  Some incompatibility has come up, requiring the updated firmware version to resolve the issue. 

 

I run an Asus RT-AC68U, so, I believe that your router should also be able to enable or disable IPV6.  If you have IPV6 enabled and have any issues with address resolution or web pages that won't load, consider disabling IPV6 for a period of time until all of the network IPV6 issues are worked out.  

 

Hope this helps.

 



mafiaboy01
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 17

Re: Terrible Connection Issues

Hi,

 

1. It is a CGN3ACSMR.

 

2.  So this modem has firmware 4.4.8.14, howerver the previous one had 4.5.8.20 both did the same thing.


3.
 I am connecting to MAC=00:17:10, will send a message for the test firmware.

 

4. I do have IPv6 enabled however everything on that end has been operating properly, no issues connecting to webpages.

Datalink
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 7,335

Re: Terrible Connection Issues

Ok, the problem is the combination of the Casa CMTS which supports gigabit service and the CGN3ACSMR.  Firmware version 4.5.8.21 will resolve that.  

 

4.4.8.14 is the original firmware for that modem and its terrible for gaming, VOIP phones, VPNs and any other latency intolerant application or device.  4.5.8.16 resolved those issues.

 

As a quick check, you could navigate to the STATUS ..... DOCSIS WAN page, copy the downstream and upstream tables and paste them into a post so that I can have a quick look at them.  The copy and paste process will paste in the text contents of the tables.  Those are the cable signal levels.  If they are ok, then you shouldn't need a tech.  



mafiaboy01
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 17

Re: Terrible Connection Issues

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 693000000 256QAM -3.900 23 37.636
2 561000000 256QAM -3.700 2 37.356
3 567000000 256QAM -3.500 3 37.636
4 573000000 256QAM -3.400 4 38.605
5 579000000 256QAM -3.000 5 37.636
6 585000000 256QAM -3.100 6 37.636
7 591000000 256QAM -3.100 7 37.356
8 597000000 256QAM -3.100 8 38.605
9 603000000 256QAM -3.300 9 37.636
10 609000000 256QAM -3.400 10 37.356
11 615000000 256QAM -3.600 11 37.636
12 621000000 256QAM -3.800 12 37.636
13 633000000 256QAM -3.900 13 37.636
14 639000000 256QAM -3.900 14 37.356
15 645000000 256QAM -4.400 15 37.356
16 651000000 256QAM -4.700 16 36.387
17 657000000 256QAM -4.300 17 36.387
18 663000000 256QAM -4.500 18 36.387
19 669000000 256QAM -4.500 19 36.387
20 675000000 256QAM -4.000 20 36.387
21 681000000 256QAM -3.800 21 37.356
22 687000000 256QAM -3.800 22 37.636
23 555000000 256QAM -3.700 1 37.636
24 699000000 256QAM -4.000 24 37.356
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal Strength (dBmV) Channel ID BandWidth
1 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 39.750 2 6400000
2 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 41.250 3 3200000
3 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 39.500 1 6400000

 

They are a little lower than what I get at my other location but still isn't terrible.

Datalink
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 7,335

Re: Terrible Connection Issues

I would say you're good.  The downstream are a little low, but tightly grouped, Signal to Noise is good as are the upstream levels.  The downstream ideal level is 0 dBmV, so at -3/-4, you're good.  

 

The only thing that could happen is that there is a very fast transient on the cable, which drops the levels and then comes back up immediately.  That could be water ingress into an underground cable, or maybe the wind blowing around a cracked cable running overhead to a utility pole.  If that was the case, especially with an overhead cable, the tech should be able to recognize the overall condition of the cable and decide if it needs replacing or not.  My bet is the Casa CMTS and CGN3ACSMR at this time.



mafiaboy01
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 17

Re: Terrible Connection Issues

I'll let the tech take a look at it. I think all cable in my area are underground. I had cable internet previously with distributel and didn't have any major issues like this.

 

Thanks for your help

lethalsniper
I'm an Enthusiast
Posts: 1,011

Re: Terrible Connection Issues

Once again having issues, does anyone notice any issues ?


Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Signal noise
ratio (dB) Channel ID

1 693000000 256QAM 2.700 40.366 23

2 561000000 256QAM 3.300 40.366 2

3 567000000 256QAM 3.500 40.366 3

4 573000000 256QAM 3.100 40.366 4

5 579000000 256QAM 3.200 40.366 5

6 585000000 256QAM 3.100 40.366 6

7 591000000 256QAM 3.200 40.366 7

8 597000000 256QAM 3.300 40.366 8

9 603000000 256QAM 3.300 40.946 9

10 609000000 256QAM 3.200 40.366 10

11 615000000 256QAM 3.300 40.946 11

12 621000000 256QAM 3.200 40.946 12

13 633000000 256QAM 3.200 38.983 13

14 639000000 256QAM 3.400 40.366 14

15 645000000 256QAM 3.600 40.946 15

16 651000000 256QAM 3.400 40.366 16

17 657000000 256QAM 3.600 40.366 17

18 663000000 256QAM 3.400 40.366 18

19 669000000 256QAM 3.300 38.605 19

20 675000000 256QAM 3.200 38.605 20

21 681000000 256QAM 3.200 38.983 21

22 687000000 256QAM 3.000 40.366 22

23 555000000 256QAM 3.400 40.366 1

24 699000000 256QAM 2.200 40.366 24
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) BandWidth Modulation Type Signal Strength
(dBmV) Channel ID

1 23699843 6400000 ATDMA 50.250 2

2 30596000 6400000 ATDMA 51.500 1
Datalink
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 7,335

Re: Terrible Connection Issues

The downstream signal levels and signal to noise ratios are good.  The upstream is a disaster.  You only have two channels instead of three, so you must be seeing slower than usual data rates, and the remaining two channels are very near the failure points.  Did the third channel data not paste into the post?  

 

Call tech support and have the CSR run a signal check.  With only two channels running, the check should return an automatic failure and you should see a tech out to your home tomorrow, or as you arrange that with the CSR.



lethalsniper
I'm an Enthusiast
Posts: 1,011

Re: Terrible Connection Issues

Thanks will call them tomorrow morning.