Strange...Remote does not work when room lights are off

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile

Re: Strange...Remote does not work when room lights are off

i can't say for certain, (i'm not an electrician), but there may be a short or something in the wiring for your lights. it seems like when you turn off the lights, a massive amount of interference blocks the signal from the remote. have you tried any other remotes when the lights are off. if they work, then its not that. also, sometimes lighting switches can also switch off or on power recepticles, so it could be that when you turn off the lights, you also turn off something that for some reason is boosting the ir reception. like i said, i'm not an electrician, so this is just a guess

I'm a Reliable Contributor

Not likely that there is a short in the wiring.  If there was, you would either be blowing the circuit breaker or the lights would not work at all.

Resident Expert
Resident Expert

Agreed.

One thing that someone has found, while 100% confrimed, etc... is that some of the newer TVs have some IR setting "green" settings or power booster settings.
It seems like these, when the TV is off.. seem to OVERPOWER the IR for the rogers box.

For people with this issue, would be worth looking at the TV setting and see if there is any settings to turn off for the remote in that fassion, and turn it off, and give it a test.

I've Been Around

we have the same problem with the remotes not working at night time we had the old box switched for a new with with a new remote and still the same problem. question why do the roll out crap products that don't work? i am about ready to toss the crap out the window
Resident Expert
Resident Expert