Slow Internet

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 10

Re: Slow Internet

I am having a problem with a slow connection and it just happened this morning at 8am to 6pm and even my phone data is being a bit slow i'm using telus.. but soon as I do a live chat they always do the basic trouble shootings steps that almost never solve anything.  Maybe you guys should actually hire people who actually talk like normal human beings and not give robotic answers.  

I wanna know if I am getting ddosed 
I wanna know my neighbors internet is not having trouble
I wanna know if the nodes are having problems
I wanna know if they're any updates trying to get pushed thru. 
I wanna know if rogers is working something around the area to fix a problem. 
I would be nice to actually hire techs to do daily maintenance to keep the internet well and running its 2017 we depend on the internet now.  

it's getting silly now as most agents just say to restart your modem and maybe it will work! or do a power cycle ! lol it's a joke. 

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,117

Re: Slow Internet

@brad102 I know the steps like power cycle the modem, etc. sound trivial, but it's all apart of the trouble shooting steps that SHOULD be done first. 

 

The fact that your Rogers internet connection and your Telus connection are slow leads me to believe it may be a device/user issue. Are all your devices slow? are you running the modem as a gateway or in bridge mode behind a mother router?

What are you using the measure speeds?

 



Highlighted
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Slow Internet

So i have rogers "highspeed" internet while I'm normally getting 25mbps download speed, which is quiet good I'm also getting 1mbps upload speed, with this I cannot factime, stream or talk to people without my connection being complete garage and them not being able to hear me.

Is there anything I can do to fix this?

There is only one other person in the house and they rarely use the internet.

As well as everytime a computer is turned on on this network the whole internet cuts off for about 30 secs, ive tried using rogers live chat but it just gives me a blank page when I ask the question. 

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Slow Internet

SUPPOSED UPGRADED TO 150MB BUT GETTING NO MORE THAN 130MB

 

tIRED OF PAYING A LOT GETTING A LITTLE

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,117

Re: Slow Internet


@kbhn wrote:

SUPPOSED UPGRADED TO 150MB BUT GETTING NO MORE THAN 130MB

 

tIRED OF PAYING A LOT GETTING A LITTLE


@kbhn

Are you doing the test hardwired using an ethernet cable, or WiFi?

WiFi is very unstable, so speeds can be all over the place depending on interference. If you are using an ethernet cable and only getting 130mb/s on 150u then you should send a PM to @CommunityHelps asking if you are on 150u or 100u. 100u gets around 130mb/s with speedboost.

 



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 19

Re: Slow Internet

I'm on a Ignite 500u and  I'm only getting a max of 200-300 Mbp/s instead of having 400-600Mbp/s which is weird and my download speed on games like a max of 60Mbp/s == 6MB/s

 

 

Does this mean I need to like replace my modem or something? I've already had a Rogers Tech came in like a week ago aswell... (yes it's on wired connection and I've checked with servers that I'm downloading from are located in Toronto)

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,986

Re: Slow Internet

@Naeng, are you using a desktop or laptop.  And, if its a laptop, are you connecting via ethernet, USB 2 or 3  or USB Type C to gigabit adapter? 

 

Are you using a router, or using the modem only, without a router?

 

What modem do you currently have, a black CGN3xxx modem, or the white CODA-4582.  If its a black CGN3 variety, can you have a look at the back of the modem for the product sticker?  It will indicate CGN3xxxx.   Can you post that model info as well please. 

 

If you run a speedtest using the www.speedtest.net Toronto Rogers or Montreal Rogers server, whichever is closer, what do you get for results?  

 

Can you log into the modem, navigate to the STATUS .... DOCSIS EVENTS tab and look for the following 

sequences:

a. CMTS-MAC=00:17:10 which indicates that you are connected to a Casa Systems Cable Modem Termination System (CMTS), or;


b. any of the following which indicates that you are connected to a Cisco Systems CMTS.

1. CMTS-MAC=00:05:00
2. CMTS-MAC=00:12:43
3. CMTS-MAC=00:14:f1
4. CMTS-MAC=00:1e:be
5. CMTS-MAC=00:1f:ca
6. CMTS-MAC=e0:2f:6d           Note: there may be other Cicso MAC addresses

                                                                    as well which are not on this list yet.

 

By now I would suspect that all of the Cisco CMTS equipment has been replace by Casa Systems equipment, but, its worth looking at this. 

 

If you're on a 500u plan, is that one of the temporary plans that was put in place last year as some of the CMTS equipment had not been replaced at that time.  I thought that when that replacement was complete that all of the customers who had been assigned to that plan would have been upgraded to the gigabit plan?  Are you in that group? 



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 19

Re: Slow Internet

@Datalink

 

I'm currently on my desktop with a gigabit link. My internet setup is the white CODA-4582 that is currently bridged with my TPLink Archer C7. (Even though with or without the router I get the same speed wired with a CAT6e cable).

 

During the speedtest.net, I'm usually pointed towards the servers that are Rogers (in Toronto), Beanfield Metroconnect, or Keewaytinook Okimakanak.

Current results for those 3 speedtest servers, (Avg. 4 ping, 290 mbp/s download, 20 mbp/s upload)

 

For the "group" part, I'm not sure..? I've had this plan since July 15th, 2017.

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,986

Re: Slow Internet

@Naeng, ok, you're on a Casa Systems CMTS, which was probably installed late last year or early this year.  Can you delete the image as it contains your modem's mac address. 

 

There are some customers who are experiencing slow data rates with the CODA-4582.  You appear to be among that group.  I suspect that the modem is running DOCSIS 3.1 on the downstream side, but I'd need to confirm that.  Can you log into the modem again, navigate to the DOCSIS WAN tab, copy the Downstream and Upstream table and paste those into a post.   The copy and paste process will paste in the text contents of the tables into the post.  

 

Edit:  are you in a house or apartment/condo/highrise complex of some type?

 

When you copy the downstream and upstream tables, don't copy the data that resides above the downstream table as that refers specifically to your modem.  



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 19

Re: Slow Internet

Image removed @Datalink

I somewhat live in a building that's on top of a store on the main streets of Bloor, so I'm guessing apartment in a way.

 

Downstream Overview

Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM6.000738.983
2855000000256QAM7.300336.610
3861000000256QAM7.300437.356
4579000000256QAM5.300538.983
5585000000256QAM5.400638.983
6849000000256QAM7.600237.356
7597000000256QAM6.100838.983
8603000000256QAM6.200938.983
9609000000256QAM6.3001038.983
10615000000256QAM6.2001138.605
11621000000256QAM6.3001238.983
12633000000256QAM7.1001338.605
13639000000256QAM7.1001438.983
14645000000256QAM7.0001538.605
15651000000256QAM7.2001638.605
16657000000256QAM7.3001738.983
17663000000256QAM7.5001838.983
18669000000256QAM7.6001938.983
19675000000256QAM7.9002038.983
20681000000256QAM8.0002138.605
21687000000256QAM8.2002237.636
22693000000256QAM8.7002337.636
23699000000256QAM9.0002438.605
24705000000256QAM9.2002538.983
25711000000256QAM9.1002638.983
26717000000256QAM9.1002738.983
27723000000256QAM9.0002838.983
28825000000256QAM7.9002937.636
29831000000256QAM7.8003037.356
30837000000256QAM7.4003136.610
31843000000256QAM7.7003236.610
32303000000256QAM5.800137.636

 

OFDM Downstream Overview

ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
04K275600000YESYESYES7.699997
1NANANONONONA

 

Upstream Overview

Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM40.75026400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM44.75033200000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM44.00016400000