Rogers throttling/deprioritizing World of Warcraft

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ressy
I'm a Reliable Contributor

Re: Rogers throttling/deprioritizing World of Warcraft

@randomguy wrote:

Strangely, I've just started having this issue with my internet speed being slowed as well as frequent disconnects within the last couple weeks. I never had any connection issues as serious as this from the end of April (when I started playing WOrld of Warcraft) to the middle of June. Strange, but now that I've tried talking to Rogers tech support a couple times, I've been unable to get them to admit that online games could be causeing my connection problems. They instead try and make me clear my internet cache (lol) and perform other useless fixes, and when I bring up that the problem seems to be WoW or online gaming related, they just reply something like "online gaming servers are unpredictable and have nothing to do with us", or "online gaming is very bandwidth intensive and your bandwidth must be maxing-out". I am subscribing to Extreme Plus (the fastest available in Waterloo) and so I have a VERY hard time believeing this is the case considering I never have any problems when playing at my parent's house in another area of Ontario.

Rogers, if your unintensionally throttling online games, please at least ADMIT TO IT when I call looking for technical support, instead of wasting your customers' time. Thank you Ressy for bringing this to my attention.

Thats just pathetic.  Wow can run on a 2mpbs connection.  Its not ideal, but its doable.

It just goes to show how out to lunch Rogers employees are when it comes to gaming.  They know jack all about it, and about what they're supposed to help users with.

kerry_girl
I've Been Around