cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rogers 8300 HD PVR Buy back option?

shervie
I've Been Here Awhile

Hi,

I have been renting a rogers 8300HD pvr for about 4-5 years now. I was wondering if Rogers had an option to just pay the difference and just buy the pvr box from them ( as apposed to renting) ? or something along those lines.

I'm pretty sure I have paid more than it's worth, and it's my fault for bad planning. But I would still be happy if i could just purchase it from them now. It beats continually paying the rent for something I know I will keep for a long time. 

Also if anyone could clarify how this new "rent to own" option works that whould be great. Does it mean I have to sign a contract for 36 months?

I really would appreciate any help.

Thanks!

***Edited labels***

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Rogers 8300 HD PVR Buy back option?

Ok, took a look at the rogers hardware section, and there is a rent to own link there.. and it takes it here.

http://www.orderrogers.ca/s/1164/r/order/box

Thats it not part directly of the rogers site.. im guessing its a 3rd party company, that they use for the 'rent to own' handling of it, etc.  Could be wrong on this, but why else wouldnt it be on their regular site 😛  Anyways.

So, it looks like there is a rent to own option.

Pricing is about 1/2 - 3/5 of the regular rental price.

You pay this for 36 months.  By the end of the 36 months, you pay $1 to buy out.

Now, this looks like its only for the SD box, and the two newer cisco HD boxes (hd and HD pvr), not the 8300.
And it appears it a start from today.  So you would have to get the new PVR box, and then pay it for 3 years, before owning.

Hope this helps.

View solution in original post

21 REPLIES 21

Gdkitty
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
I did not know they now had a rent to own, but I would bet that it's only on a new box, from this point out. 😞