Rocket & advanced wi-fi Hitrons has PROBLEMS

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 21

Rocket & advanced wi-fi Hitrons has PROBLEMS

I seen a lot of problems with Hitron modems in my experience and in this forum. I really hope someone from Rogers will actually read my story.

 

2 weeks ago, I finally decided to change from the Rogers extreme plus to the 250u ignite package. Trust me that was the worst decision of my life. With the extreme plus, I used to have the Cisco modem which was working perfectly. But my internet speed used to be 60 Mbps, so I was like why not switch to the 250 Mbps for pretty much the same price as my old package. Everything was good until Rogers told me that I have to change my Cisco modem to the Hitron Modem. 

 

I'm sure Rogers already recognized that these Hitron Modems has problems. In the past 2 weeks, I changed my modem 3x from the Rocket Modem to the Advanced Wi-fi modem. Both of them are the same. The speed isn't the problem, but at random times the Internet completely shuts down for couple minutes. I’m running my computer in Bridge mode (modem/router). But that doesn’t make a difference at all. I tried connecting my desktop computer directly to the modem. And my laptop to the router. Both of them gets disconnected at the same time when I was running a ping test. Meaning the modem is the problem not my router. The Pings are really inconsistent. Sometimes it goes from 30 ping to like 500+ ping.

 

Rogers technician came to my house to try to solve this problem. He said that we had a 4% packet loss. So he changed the amplifier that connects to the modem. And he said the problem was solved (packet loss was 0%). Two hours later, the same problem occurred again. I can’t really show the technician when it gets disconnected because it happens at random times. When he was over at my house, the internet was perfect and nothing disconnected.

 

So here I am not sure what to do. Can’t play Xbox for like 5 minutes without getting disconnected. Or watch a movie online without getting disconnected. In the past 2 weeks, I talked to Rogers on the phone about 20 times, 20 times on Chat, and 1 time technician came over. Half the time when I’m talking to the technical support on the phone, they don’t even know what the Cisco modem was. Not sure how they got a job at Rogers.

 

I heard that Rogers is planning to release new Rocket modem on July 10 with a new firmware, but I’m not sure how much that will help. So someone from Rogers, please help me.

 

 

 

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1693000000256QAM-8.8001737.636
2591000000256QAM-6.700140.366
3597000000256QAM-7.400238.605
4603000000256QAM-7.200338.983
5609000000256QAM-7.300438.605
6615000000256QAM-7.700538.983
7621000000256QAM-6.900638.605
8633000000256QAM-7.600738.605
9639000000256QAM-7.000838.605
10645000000256QAM-7.700938.605
11651000000256QAM-7.9001037.636
12657000000256QAM-7.7001138.605
13663000000256QAM-8.4001238.605
14669000000256QAM-8.4001338.605
15675000000256QAM-8.5001437.636
16681000000256QAM-8.2001538.605
17687000000256QAM-8.1001638.605
18699000000256QAM-8.4001837.636
19705000000256QAM-7.9001938.605
20711000000256QAM-9.1002037.636
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal Strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandWidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM50.25026400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM51.00033200000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM50.75016400000
 
Solved! Go to Solution.

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 21

Re: Rocket & advanced wi-fi Hitrons has PROBLEMS

My upload speed was actually fixed after tech rebooted my modem. 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,189

Re: Rocket & advanced wi-fi Hitrons has PROBLEMS

You are able to get the new firmware for the rocket modem by messaging @CommunityHelps with your account and modem MAC address.

If you have the rocket modem right now, i would recomend getting that PERIOD right now... seems to solve many peoples issues.

 

There are a number of users here who have the regular CGN3 and the newer rocket modem as well.
No one really has DISCONECTS/internet drops.
With the rocket.. drops on games, etc on the advanced WITHOUT the firmware update, but thats been resolved with the firmware update.

 

It worries me that your issue that is droping the internet, is something OUTSIDE of the modem itself.

While the technician was out.. i wonnder if its something FURTHER away..
That your previous modem was not effected.. as its only an 8 channel modem.. and that the issues is from somewhere in the higher channels which the new ones can now see.
Are you able to log into the modem and post the DOCSIS WAN signals for us?
(though hopefully the technican looked at this.)



Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,749

Re: Rocket & advanced wi-fi Hitrons has PROBLEMS

For more info on the update that Gdkitty is indicating, please read the first post in this thread:

 http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/forums/forumtopicpage/board-id/Getting_connected/message-id/253...

Then, to request the firmware update, follow this link @CommunityHelps to get to the CommunityHelps page when you are signed into the forum.  On the right hand side of the page is a link titled "Send this user a private message".  Use that link to get to the next message composition page, fill in the title, your modem MAC address and Cable Account Reference Number in the text area and hit send.  If the staff are not too busy, you might see the firmware pushed out either late this evening or overnight during the scheduled maintenance periods.  If not, it should be pushed out no later than tomorrow night.

If you don't have that modem, you have for example the CGN3 or CGN3ACR, I would swap those modems for the CGN3ACSMR and then immediately request the update when you have the CGN3ACSMR at home and have it hooked up and running.

 

As Gdkitty indicated, please post your downstream and upstream DOCSIS WAN tables that are found in STATUS....DOSCIS WAN.



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 21

Re: Rocket & advanced wi-fi Hitrons has PROBLEMS

Ill try the new firmware.

 

But this is my DOCSIS WAN

 


      
      
      
      
Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 21

Re: Rocket & advanced wi-fi Hitrons has PROBLEMS

So right now i have the advanced wi-fi modem. Should I go switch to the Rocket right now, then apply the update? 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,749

Re: Rocket & advanced wi-fi Hitrons has PROBLEMS

Can you edit your post just above and delete everything above the downstream table.

 

Call Tech Support and have them run a signal check on your modem.  Your downtream levels are well down from where they should be which is 0 dBmV and the upstream is at the maximum of 51 dBmV where they should be down in the 36 to 40 dBmV range.  You have an external cable and / or connector failure on the go.  Time for a tech visit.  The outcome of the discussion should be a tech visit very soon.

 

Yep, go ahead and swap the modem for the CGN3ACSMR and immediately request the update.  It will take a combination of the two, proper cable signal levels and the updated modem to resolve issues with gaming and latency intolerant applications.



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 21

Re: Rocket & advanced wi-fi Hitrons has PROBLEMS

well Tech Support just said another thing. he said downstream should be between -10 & +10. and upstream should be between 34 and 52.

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,749

Re: Rocket & advanced wi-fi Hitrons has PROBLEMS

grr.  The important question, is a tech coming to inspect and replace the cable if necessary?  My guess is that its necessary.  Your modem output, heading back to the node is at the maximum output permitted for three channel operation.  You will see poor performance at that point.  If the cable losses get any worse, the modem drops one channel, as it can only put out so much power in any configuration.  First it drops to dual channel operation and then single channel operation, and in each case the data rates will get worse.



Highlighted
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 700

Re: Rocket & advanced wi-fi Hitrons has PROBLEMS

Hi @shahin912

 

Sorry to hear about the troublesSmiley Sad Has the tech visit been booked?

 

If not i can have someone from our @CommunityHelps team reach out to you via Private Message so we can look into this issue for you.

 

RogersAsif

 

 

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,189

Re: Rocket & advanced wi-fi Hitrons has PROBLEMS

While i understand the 'allowed' quality ranges are within a certain spec..

I HATE it when support, techs, etc.. say 'oh its fine' since its within that allowed range.

While it still may work.. it still may cause problems... what if thats the GOOD range.. and there are times where it drops LOWER.. and then its out of range.
It can still cause problems..

 

It really should be tweeked.. to get it closer to the right ranges.