New Rogers Gateway: Hitron CDE-30364

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,213

Re: New Rogers Gateway: Hitron CDE-30364

If you just got the cgn3, give it a few days, as it's likely not on the newest firmware, and takes 3 days for it to be pushed. This has fixed a lot of the issues on the unit. Might help with that as well.

How close are you when testing? The 5 doesn't tend to permiate as far.
Even on a 3rd party Cisco router attached at my place, I get hang ups on my 5g on it when in the bedroom, but am fine when I am close to it.


Highlighted
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: New Rogers Gateway: Hitron CDE-30364

Its absolute garbage. The concept is great but the connection dropped more than it was connected, no exaggeration. This is a known issue with this device.   Not sure why they are selling this product, boh home and over the phone techs report this. I tried two but had to go back to a regular cisco modem.  back to 100% connectivity and no further issues.

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: New Rogers Gateway: Hitron CDE-30364

I use this modem! Hypothetically speaking, if you pay for 50gigs a month at an aceptable download and upload rate that would allow streaming video, why is adobe flash required to view a 2 minute AVI file? The upgrade is also inconvieniently unaccessable from the web site. Does Rogers Cable franchise it's domain name servers? I ask this question because the service appears to be supervised by walrus with Rogers tusks using 8088 technology monitoring time share and managing email. Get f!*^?ng real, the technology is more than 30 years old, the third, and very likely, the fourth generation is learning it! Personally, I'm retired but I have been using the internet almost since it became public, where content started at bytes, then kilobytes, to megabytes, and now gigabytes and we (the lingering retired citizens) are anticipating the terrabyte 2 minute AVI file. It's possible. No-one really wants to climb to the top of Mt. Everest, does one? Regardless, it's that sudden stop from a fall from the top that ends far too soon, when the black barter is recognised and we are not getting what we bargained for. Is Rogers Cable advertising as a socialist access to the internet (THE 50 GIGS), be thankful you get a piece it, because where I live, the DNS functions beyond it's capacity, and is acepting new clients by stealing from Peter to pay Paul. Too many times there is no access or access is terminated during a session. This hurts me, I don't enjoy being hurt, what would you do to stop from being hurt, tech support recites the procedure to reboot the modem, that being done tech support remotely reboots the modem, mechanically good. The service tech checks the signal strength, manually reboots the modem, remotely reboots the modem and checks the signal strength, mechanically good. It doesn't feel like old school, Sir, even my PC's network diagnostics says the DNS is not responding. So, what I am not supposed to know can't hurt me?

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,213

Re: New Rogers Gateway: Hitron CDE-30364

your  post was.. a little confusing... multiple issues all melded into onrunning centences.. would be better to break them up a bit, to make them a little clearer.

DNS:  I will not argue, that the rogers DNS servers do not have the greatest track record.
That being said.. nothing is preventing you from using another DNS server.  I have been using the google DNS for well over a year, and never have a DNS issue.  You can usually set it on the END device 90% of the time.

 

(for the adobe thing.. that really is not a rogers issue.. thats the WEBSITE stating what is needed to play it there)



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 13

Re: New Rogers Gateway: Hitron CDE-30364

Hey guys, wondering if anyone could offer any advice to me.  I've been disconnecting everyday (constantly) for around a month now.  I've had 2 techs come to my home and switch the modem position in my home.  So far it there has been no resolution and I really don't  know what I can do. 

 

Pretty much everytime I call into tech support they are telling me there was an outage and it will be resolved, but i'll disconnect every 5 minutes are so at night time.

 

I'm usually trying to play League of Legends when coming home from work, but just lag out constantly.  Tried to use all the portforwarding options, dmz..

 

Here is some addition info and things I have tried

- Using a new Hitron modem, switched from the other Docsis one a few weeks ago, but encountered the same problem with both.

- Only using ethernet

- Replaced all coax cables
- moved location of the modem to get the best signal
- replacing all ethernet cables
- factory reset of modem
- Enabled myself to DMZ for a night to test
- Turned modem on bridge mode

- Removed all signal boosters from my home

- use google dns

 

Most of my Traceroutes look like this (not sure if it is normal)

Tracing route to rogers.ca [207.245.252.27]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     4 ms     9 ms     9 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [192.168.0.1]
  2     *       18 ms    13 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [7.11.161.197]
  3    48 ms    28 ms    28 ms  van58-6-240-89.dynamic.rogerstelecom.net [209.14
8.240.89]
  4    15 ms    42 ms    37 ms  so-5-0-3.gw02.mtnk.phub.net.cable.rogers.com [66
.185.81.129]
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6    30 ms    28 ms    30 ms  ge10-1.gwy2-tor.bb.allstream.net [216.191.65.129
]
  7    23 ms    29 ms    28 ms  10ge4-11.hcap9-tor.bb.allstream.net [199.212.169
.202]
  8    15 ms     *       32 ms  66-46-129-178.dedicated.allstream.net [66.46.129
.178]
  9     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 10     *       22 ms     *     INTEL_CE_LINUX [207.245.252.27]
 11    71 ms    33 ms    16 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [207.245.252.27]

Trace complete.

 

Tried asking for the Customer Advocacy Team department I was referred to but the phone support said there was no such department. 

 

I would love to switch to another ISP but i'm afraid teksavvy would be using the same lines etc..

 

I've also used a program called PingPlotter for this data, which shows much packet loss at the 5th and 6th node.

Target Name: www.google.com
         IP: 173.194.43.115
  Date/Time: 2014-06-24 10:32:06 PM to 2014-06-24 10:36:51 PM

Hop Sent Err  PL% Min Max Avg  Host Name / [IP]
 1    20   0  0.0   1   8   3  INTEL_CE_LINUX [192.168.0.1]
 2    20   0  0.0  10 144  25  INTEL_CE_LINUX [7.11.161.197]
 3    20   0  0.0  13 104  35  van58-6-240-89.dynamic.rogerstelecom.net [209.148.240.89]
 4    20   0  0.0  13  82  29  so-5-0-3.gw02.mtnk.phub.net.cable.rogers.com [66.185.81.129]
 5    18   8 44.4  28  47  34  INTEL_CE_LINUX [64.71.240.66]
 6    19  10 52.6  27  57  40  INTEL_CE_LINUX [74.125.49.229]
 7    20   0  0.0  27  57  37  INTEL_CE_LINUX [72.14.238.232]
 8    20   1  5.0  26  41  33  INTEL_CE_LINUX [72.14.236.206]
 9    20   1  5.0  28  86  38  INTEL_CE_LINUX [72.14.236.227]
10    20   0  0.0  28  75  37  INTEL_CE_LINUX [72.14.239.73]
11    20   0  0.0  27  65  38  yyz08s10-in-f19.1e100.net [173.194.43.115]

 

Regards,

 

Karman

 

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,833

Re: New Rogers Gateway: Hitron CDE-30364

Hi, can you log into the CGN3, I'm assuming its the CGN3 and confirm the firmware version is currently 4.2.4.3  Also, can you go to the Docsis Wan page and copy the tables containing the Downstream and Upstream overview and paste them here.  Do that for two occasions:  1. when your internet is up and running; and   2.  when you have lost internet service.  I'd like to see them for comparison purposes.  Please paste in all of the Downstream table.  The table will look something like this when its pasted in and rearranged to fit:

 

downstream                    
Port    Frequency     Modulation    Signal strength   Signal noise     Channel ID

ID         (MHz)                                    (dBmV)             ratio (dB)          ID
1       645000000      256QAM               1.5                    37.636            105
2       591000000      256QAM                2.1                   38.605             97
3       597000000      256QAM                2.4                   38.605             98

 

 

upstream                    
                   
Port  Frequency (MHz)    BandWidth    Modulation Type    Signal Strength   Channel ID

ID        (MHz)                                             Type                        (dBmV)
1       23700000                6400000         ATDMA                        37                        7
2       30596000                6400000         ATDMA                        37                        6
3       38596000                3200000         ATDMA                        40                        5

 

Can you confirm if the external cable from the external cable box to your house has been replaced?



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 13

Re: New Rogers Gateway: Hitron CDE-30364

Hi,  yes i'm currently using that firmware version.

 

I have achieved a 3-5 Signal strength (dBmV) rating before if I move my modem to my basement.  However, that still has not solved the disconnects, timeouts and lag.

 


This menu displays both upstream and downstream signal parameters
DOCSIS Overview
Network Access    Permitted
IP Address    7.18.184.38
Subnet Mask    255.255.252.0
Gateway IP    7.18.184.1
DHCP Lease Time    😧 06 H: 23 M: 59 S: 59
Downstream Overview
Port ID     Frequency (MHz)     Modulation     Signal strength (dBmV)     Signal noise ratio (dB)     Channel ID
1    633000000     256QAM     0.000    38.605    31
2    591000000     256QAM     0.000    38.605    25
3    597000000     256QAM     -0.200    38.605    26
4    603000000     256QAM     -0.500    38.983    27
5    609000000     256QAM     -0.200    38.605    28
6    615000000     256QAM     -0.100    38.983    29
7    621000000     256QAM     -0.100    38.983    30
8    639000000     256QAM     0.100    38.983    32
9    645000000     256QAM     0.400    38.983    33
10    651000000     256QAM     0.500    40.366    34
11    657000000     256QAM     0.700    38.605    35
12    663000000     256QAM     0.900    40.366    36
13    669000000     256QAM     0.900    38.605    37
14    675000000     256QAM     1.200    40.366    38
15    681000000     256QAM     1.200    35.780    39
16    687000000     256QAM     1.200    35.595    40
17    693000000     256QAM     1.000    35.084    41
18    699000000     256QAM     0.600    34.926    42
19    705000000     256QAM     0.900    35.084    43
20    711000000     256QAM     0.500    34.484    44
Upstream Overview
Port ID    Frequency (MHz)    BandWidth    Modulation Type    Signal Strength (dBmV)    Channel ID
1    30596000    6400000    ATDMA    50.250    6
2    23700000    6400000    ATDMA    50.250    7
3    38596000    3200000    ATDMA    50.250    5

 

Regards,

 

Karman

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,833

Re: New Rogers Gateway: Hitron CDE-30364

Your downstream signal strength and signal to noise ratios don't look terribly bad.  The upstream signal strength seems a little high to me, but possibly its within tolerances.  I'm running 37 to 40 dBmV for upstream Signal Strength.  Was the external cable to the house replaced as well?  Its interesting that you indicated by moving the modem downstairs you went up to 3 to 5 dBmV.  3Db of anythng is half power, so that seems like a big gain for about 30 to 50 feet of coax cable.  If you look at the cable end downstairs, which connects to your modem upstairs, does that cable read "RG6" for a cable type, and is the cable that leads from the wall outlet to the modem also RG6.  I'm assuming that would have been caught by the Rogers techs on one of the visits.

 

Also please post in the same tables when your internet service goes down. Understandably that might take a while for that to happen.



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 13

Re: New Rogers Gateway: Hitron CDE-30364

Thanks Datalink,

 

I was disconnected for around 10 minutes between the last post and the signal strength remained the same, and all lights on the modem were online as well.

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,833

Re: New Rogers Gateway: Hitron CDE-30364

Hmmm.  Thats interesting.  The next time that happens can you refresh the page and see if the numbers changes, especially the signal strength.  I'm not sure at this point how dynamic those numbers are.  So possilby refreshing the page will allow you to see if there is a signal power drop.  Are you running wired or wireless?  And. how can you tell the service is out....web pages refuse to load?